Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with lots of inspiring ideas
Martin Crawford's book "Creating a Forest Garden" arrived in the post this morning and it is a delight!

First of all it is a beautiful book just to browse through as it has lots of excellent pictures and drawings, but reading it more closely then reveals a wealth of useful information and inspiration.

The concept of forest gardening is not new to me...
Published on 23 April 2010 by Sal

versus
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version
Totally inspiring book content, but the 2 stars relates to the rubbish kindle version... Not impressed at all. Lots of gaps where there seems to be missing text? e.g. "Autumn olive jam" then, blank - is there meant to be a recipe here? Then the plant profiles often don't have titles, so unless other cultivars are referred to within the description you have no idea what...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by Studentspender


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, brilliant and practical., 25 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful hard back book, elegant enough to grace any coffee table. It's utterly comprehensive and very easy to use. Thank you Martin Crawford for packing your knowledge and 15 years of hands on expertise in to such a superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introduction to forest gardening, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent introduction to forest gardening. The coverage is just right, giving you everything you need to plan and plant a sustainable, productive forest garden in an accessible way. It is a much easier place to start than the two volume Edible Forest Gardens books - although they are very valuable too. As the other reviewers say the quality of the book is great with wonderful photos. I only wish it had come out before I started planting my small forest garden!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS BOOK, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
Can't recommend this book highly enough, it tells you all you need to know to grow your own food forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book needed..., 25 Jan 2012
By 
G. Cowley (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
If you are planning a forest garden, of any size, this is the only book you will need. Everything - soil, planning, tree types, layout, drainage etc. - is covered in great depth but in a clear and easily understood way. Crawford is the undoubted leader in this field of 'farming' and an expert of note; in this book he conveys his knowledge brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
I just loved this book. It is simple to use on a practical basis and full of useful facts that the author has clearly gained from growing the plant/tree.
It will be my bible as I strive to create a forest garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 2 Nov 2010
By 
H. Ellis (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
Really helpful practical book. But also really readable.
Absolutely love it and will be using it to plan my new forest garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The garden of the future., 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This is a great book. Forest Gardening is planting a garden with things to eat, not necessarily annual vegetables, but fruit, vegetables, nuts, herbs, anything edible.
Surely the garden of the future. In spite of the title, you don't have to own a forest to do it! Even a small garden will do.
This book is very comprehensive in the how, why and when. I only downgraded it to 4 stars because a number of the full colour plates were misprinted in an all over green. Amazon kindly replaced my first copy immediately when I reported it, but the second one was the same; I kept it anyway. These misprints in no way affect the utility of the product. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic Guide, 10 Jun 2010
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
I bought this book to get an all round approach to growing a garden for veg within a woodland environment. The book gives good all round information on what likes what conditions and makes suggestions for veg I had not come across before. very well illustrated and good diagrams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
An astonishing book that surely represents a lifes work!
I can't recommend it highly enough. It is rare that a book has so much information as this one does.
It puts to shame so many other books on the subject.
I will use this book again and again!! Bravo the author for writing all this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and inspiring!, 17 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
There's really not much more to say...other than that it is written in the UK so it might not be as useful to people in other climates...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops
Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops by Martin Crawford (Hardcover - 16 April 2010)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews