Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with lots of inspiring ideas
Martin Crawford's book "Creating a Forest Garden" arrived in the post this morning and it is a delight!

First of all it is a beautiful book just to browse through as it has lots of excellent pictures and drawings, but reading it more closely then reveals a wealth of useful information and inspiration.

The concept of forest gardening is not new to me...
Published on 23 April 2010 by Sal

versus
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version
Totally inspiring book content, but the 2 stars relates to the rubbish kindle version... Not impressed at all. Lots of gaps where there seems to be missing text? e.g. "Autumn olive jam" then, blank - is there meant to be a recipe here? Then the plant profiles often don't have titles, so unless other cultivars are referred to within the description you have no idea what...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by Studentspender


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with lots of inspiring ideas, 23 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
Martin Crawford's book "Creating a Forest Garden" arrived in the post this morning and it is a delight!

First of all it is a beautiful book just to browse through as it has lots of excellent pictures and drawings, but reading it more closely then reveals a wealth of useful information and inspiration.

The concept of forest gardening is not new to me (and I have a few things happening here along those lines) but this book covers everything and more. There are clear sections covering the ideas behind a working forest garden and also details about numerous plants and how they can be grown in a forest garden setting.

Many of the concepts shown in Martin's DVD are expanded upon in the book. I am now hoping to Cleft Graft some plums onto the blackthorn volunteers I have and this book shows clearly how this should be done to achieve success. (Indeed the timing is just right now - in late April).

Martin has created an easily accessible and inspiring book; well worth it's cover price. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for anyone Atempting to create a forest Garden in the UK, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This Book was published just as we began creating a three acre forest garden. I can attest that the process the book takes one through will be invaluable to any one who is similarly engaged. In contrast to Dave Jacke and Eric Toensmeier's Two volume Edible Forest Gardens: Design and Practice Ecological Vision and Theory for Temperate-climate Permaculture (which in their own way is also an excellent pair of books - which has a US bias), Martins approach boils a potentially complex and overwhelming process down to its essentials without at the same time over simplifying. I'm sure that while we will make many of our own mistakes, this book has saved us a huge amount of trial and error, money, and probably a lot of heart ache and as well. Thanks Martin for your generosity in sharing so much in writing this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forest Gardening, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Maggie (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This is a very comprehensive book if you are starting, or maintaining a forest garden. It really has all you would wish to know about forest gardening starting from the theory, through design to the plants in question. I have used it so far for checking out suitable plants, so it is really useful to have on the shelf. Apart from that it has really inspirational photos and ideas. A lovely book to dip into, check things out, and find wonderful recipes such as Autumn Olive jam - OK I havn't actually tried that yet but one day I will when my little Elaeagnus umbellata are big enough to give fruit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creating A Forest Garden - The Must-Have For Any Serious Gardener, 1 Jun 2010
By 
David Jones "IGYUAHF" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This book is, simply put, incredible. It's a must-have for any gardener who is interested in permaculture, and features a number of incredibly well designed chapters that cover a variety of subjects thoroughly. The accompanying diagrams and photographs help to illustrate the subject matter. Although I have a number of gardening books in my library, this one is my favourite. If you're passionate about gardening or permaculture, buy Creating A Forest Garden - you'll gain a lot out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that builds on the work of Robert Hart, 18 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
Contrary to the comments from another reader, this book is definitely focussed on the UK climate. It builds on the work of Robert Hart, the original Cool Temperate forest gardening pioneer, learning from both his successes and failures, and is informed by some 15 years of direct observation, experience and trials in the field. The information is detailed, clear and concise, and laid out with great attention to aeshetic values. In other words its a book that is not only hugely informative and knowledable, its beautiful too! Well done to Mr Crawford and Green books for such a lovely addition to anybodies permaculture library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Very impressed, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This is by far the most inspiring and well written gardening, or for that matter, permaculture book I have come across. I am absolutely delighted with it. It goes into a good amount of detail and has beautiful pictures.

The only criticism I have is that I would have preferred symbols annotating frost hardiness instead of the american zones which takes a bit of getting used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to forest gardening in the UK and beyond, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Cs Embleton "Craig Embleton" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
This is the ideal book to purchase if you want to create a forest garden in the UK, or indeed any temperate climate. The author has written the book after decades of practical experience. I've looked around his forest garden in Devon in the UK and it is jam packed with species that I'd never even heard of, all producing nutrious food. If you follow the advice and instructions in this book you will have a resilient food producing plot that will give you so much more variety than a conventional vegetable garden, and it will be a wildlife haven too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just gardening in a forest!, 30 Aug 2012
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
Truly inspiring. This ought to be taught in schools. If everyone used the principles in this book it would revolutionize farming/gardening and make the world an even more beautiful and prosperous place. I've already started planning my own forest garden!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forest Gardening, 19 July 2011
By 
R. L. Bunniss "Rob B" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
An excellent and informative text that presents information on a complex subject in a reasoned format.
I find myself referring to it constantly and can see it contributing to my practice alongside several texts on permaculture.
It is a work that can be used as an aide memoire with the Forest Garden planning process and identifies particular species and their compatability to the differing conditions within a forest garden.
Martin Crawford has an obvious skill and knowledge that is well represented in the book and I would heartily recommend this text to any person interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, a must for temperate UK forest gardening, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops (Hardcover)
I can highly recommend this book for those interest in forest gardening, wild food/living, permiculture or even those who like growing something a bit different on the allotment (Like me!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops
Creating a Forest Garden: Working with nature to grow edible crops by Martin Crawford (Hardcover - 16 April 2010)
24.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews