Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beauty lovers
What I really like about it is that you can pick it up, flick through and start anywhere - it's easy to dip into, yet just as good to read from the start.

There's no beating around the bush - author Star Khechara gets straight to the point with everything she has to say and writes clearly and simply. After a couple of quick, easy-to-read chapters on the...
Published on 13 Dec 2008 by Lisa Batty

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still unsure, but a good starting point.
Wouldn't really recommend this one. The ingredients are not the easiest to source and were quite expensive. Some of the recipes I tried, I wouldn't try again and I think the quantities quoted were often wrong. After doing an internet search I have actually found simpler and cheaper recipes.
Published on 21 April 2009 by Mrs. E. H. Valentine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend as a birthday present, and apparently she loves it. She has already made a lot of the lotions and potions, and has become addicted!! She made me a little pot of lip balm, and I have to say it's very good. So, for a start in making your own creams and potions, I would say this is a book to buy. In fact, I may just get it myself and have a go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, excellent recipes!, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
Star is truly a Star, what a fabulous book with fabulous recipes! I had previously bought many DIY skincare books and almost always been disappointed. Either they contained ingredients that were only available to buy from the author, such as those written by Aromantic (which really infuriated me) or they contained recipes that don't work (emulsifying with beeswax?! doesn't work!).

The Holistic Beauty Book contains recipes that are fun, easy to follow and most importantly - they WORK. Once I found this book, I actually embarked on a career in natural skincare and haven't looked back. Star's knowledge and experience shine through the recipes in this book and it shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone that she also runs a successful online natural skincare school at Formula Botanica.

If you're going to buy one book to learn DIY skincare recipes, then buy this one. You won't be disappointed. The two reviewers who gave this book 1 star obviously didn't open the book in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 23 Jun 2013
By 
C. A. Robinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
Fab book already started making my own natural cosmetics, at least I know what I am putting into everything that I put on my hair or body!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
This is one of those books that start you off in a different direction and will I am sure become invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simpe and Great!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
Bought this book some months ago. Got a bit confused at first, because front page was different from Amazon page. Have tried Sunshine Cleanser with great result. Simple and easy recipes. Perfect for beginners. Will try some more. Please give more recipes for Continental readers without bath tub!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely clear well thought out book, 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
This book is so easy to read and is very well thought out. For anyone wanting natural pure holistic recipies this is the book to purchase - the recipies are easy to follow. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good vs bad, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
I'm all for homemade recipes and using things out of your cupboards, making lovely things like scrubs, face masks and the like, but there is a fair bit of 'ingredient bashing' and a lack of knowledge in some things.
Preservatives aren't evil. They are there to keep you safe. A product made with water is not safe to use after a week or so. It'll have nasty bacteria growing in it. Water isn't self-preserving. What happens if you leave a jug of water out? Part of it evaporates, and bacteria will start to grow in it, mould and other nasties. The water in your product won't stay fresh, and the same thing will happen, PLUS you'll be sticking your fingers in it, introducing more nasties. Would you want to put those nasties on your skin? No, of course not. There is a lot of scaremongering going on with regards to preservatives. You'll find that some are similar to food preservatives, which a lot of us consume daily without even thinking about it.
As for chemicals like SLS and the like, OH NO, those chemicals are in harsh cleaning products! Yes, they are, but at much higher concentrations, and that's why you're told to wear gloves when using them. EVERYTHING has the potential to harm or heal, depending on how it is used. Think for yourself and don't let people tell you that everything is evil. Sure, make yourself a lovely cream, with lovely natural shea butter and essential oils, but use a preservative. Grapefruit Seed Extract, Rosemary Extract and Vitamin E are NOT preservatives. They are ANTIOXIDANTS, they help to stop the oils/butters in your product going rancid. Proper preservatives will stop your product going mouldy, and stop them being potentially harmful to your skin. Common sense people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holistic Beauty Book, 11 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
Very in depth book but useful for starting out in making your own recipes with clear instructions. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class book, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
I have had this book for some time and work in the skincare profession myself. I find this particular book a huge boon to anyone wanting to embrace natural skincare in their own home. The recipes are easy to understand and follow. The ingredients are easy to source and utilise. Star leaves nothing out. I particularly value the expert advice on the importance of nutrition in good skincare and Star Khechara emphasises this well.
I strongly advise anyone seeking a natural and holistic approach to their lifestyle to have this book on their bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Lovely Natural Beauty Book, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin (Paperback)
This book is a good reference for some really lovely recipes, and useful for using ingredients found in the supermarket. Also, a good source for what is useful to pursue if you have an ethical intention, and what is not considered as ethical. This was very useful for me. I really love the delicious recipes. I must admit, there aren't quite as many recipes as in A Green Guide to Natural Beauty by Karen Gilbert, but I love having both of these books to refer to, and both are really good. The suppliers list from different countries is really useful, as well as the further reading. Really useful for planning my craft classes! chrissywebster.blogspot.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf816f60)

This product

The Holistic Beauty Book: With Over 100 Natural Recipes for Beautiful Skin
£10.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews