Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for people who suffer from stress and anxiety.
This book shows us how to go back to basics. It talks about the ways in which we can draw on natural, undifficult simplistics to untense our hold on everyday life. Enjoyed this very much - gave me personally back an inner spiritual peace. Gets to the core of self.
Published on 2 July 2001 by hjohnbap@dentonwildesapte.co.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Flawed
This is a deeply flawed book in that it shows you ways to calm down but calming down is dealing only with the symptoms not the causes of stress, anger and jealousy etc. that this book purports to help the reader with. It says for example that anger is wholly negative but it isn't always the case. For example the story of Rosa Parks who was so angry at being asked to move...
Published 18 months ago by Sam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for people who suffer from stress and anxiety., 2 July 2001
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
This book shows us how to go back to basics. It talks about the ways in which we can draw on natural, undifficult simplistics to untense our hold on everyday life. Enjoyed this very much - gave me personally back an inner spiritual peace. Gets to the core of self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 22 Jun 2004
By 
Dawn Taylor "pt1000" (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
I have read many of Mike George's books and attended several of his lectures in London and Oxford.
He is expert at presenting incredibly helpful information in a natural, simple way so that it is easily comprehensible. The truth of it becomes almost self evident. He then provides all the details to implement that knowledge so that it changes from being academically satisfying - to life changing.
No wishy washy stuff, a very helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eastern philosophy for the modern day pressurised person, 24 Nov 2000
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
Excellent spiritual guidelines for the modern stressed out person. Guidance on eastern thoughts and techniques including meditation, to help one remember how to look after your own mental well being. Short precise chapters hit right on the nail. The new bible for busy people of the 21st Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Flawed, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
This is a deeply flawed book in that it shows you ways to calm down but calming down is dealing only with the symptoms not the causes of stress, anger and jealousy etc. that this book purports to help the reader with. It says for example that anger is wholly negative but it isn't always the case. For example the story of Rosa Parks who was so angry at being asked to move seats to allow white people to sit down instead of her in 1955 led to a positive change that affected millions of black Americans. Her anger and defiance began the civil rights changes in America. Had Rosa not been so angry that day how much longer would black people have been treated that way? The techniques in this book are about suppression of symptoms and therefore will increase stress over time, not reduce it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book works, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
Great reading and learning for anyone, especially if you are feeling or thinking that you are stressed out - or on your way there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
This is a great book full of easy tips on promoting relaxation. I originally borrowed a copy from a library collection and soon realised how useful and accessible it is, so I bought my own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Relax (Paperback)
Quick delivery great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn to Relax
Learn to Relax by Mike George (Paperback - 2 Sep 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews