Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful intro for beginners
This is an excellent book for beginners, or for those who are wary of witchcraft and associate it with all the bad press that goes around. It really is just a book of spells, but they are very well created, with imaginative photography. Although it doesn't cover spirituality much, this can be perceived as a good thing, as it doesn't catergorise any one path and leaves...
Published on 29 Jan 2001

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Furry or Fluffy?
Hocus Pocus is another one of Titania's pretty coloured velvet books, which although has elements of Pagan witchcraft, is especially non-tradition specific - which, like her other books, is it's strength and it's downfall in that it does mean that it is easy for all to approach it is lacking any basis for why the magic works - i.e. beliefs/theories.
She does include...
Published on 28 July 2003 by Kasha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful intro for beginners, 29 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for beginners, or for those who are wary of witchcraft and associate it with all the bad press that goes around. It really is just a book of spells, but they are very well created, with imaginative photography. Although it doesn't cover spirituality much, this can be perceived as a good thing, as it doesn't catergorise any one path and leaves the reader able to make their own choices. If you already know the basics then this probably isn't for you, but frankly, you could just buy it for the sublime cover and gorgeous photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully set out book that captures the eye!, 11 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Another beautiful book by Titania Hardie.She explains everything wonderfully and you just want to keep reading.The photographs capture the eye which makes you want to peak further ahead in the book.Even my ten year old son was interested in what the book was about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every stylish witches coffee table, 2 Dec 1998
By A Customer
What a fabulous book this is ! Titiania has now written three books (the others being a book of love spells and a fortune-telling device) and they are all a delight to own. Each is covered in gorgeous, soft, jewel-covered velvet, just as you would imagine a "proper" magic book to look like. The full-colour photographs on every other page are works of art in themselves and the spells show a good grasp of what may be required of a modern witch - there are spells to get THAT person to call you, spells to heal rifts between family members, lottery winning spells and other wonders. ... And before you start to worry, the ingredients required wouldn't raise an eyebrown in your local branch of Boots or Culpeppers - not a wing of bat or eye of newt in sight ! All in all a luscious, beautiful book and, just for the aesthetic value alone (let alone the contents) well worth even twice the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Dear Readers,
This is a wonderfull book with georgeous pictures. The spells are really good and have all worked for me. Sometimes the ingredients are a bit hard to find but, it is worth it.
Love Draco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable book, 25 April 2008
By 
A. Titley "Annie" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am new to this type of thing so when I saw the previous review I thought this book was a good start. Some of the spells (about finding the perfect partner) do not apply to me and this takes up the first three chapters. There are two lovely spells one involving sweet peas and the other oak leaves that I just can't wait to try. Also there a some nice protection spells and one to help you diet.
I do not think this can be called a serious book as it does not go into any real detail about wicca etc but is light hearted and fun.
The plush cover is great and the illustrations are wonderful.It is a book you can will want to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Furry or Fluffy?, 28 July 2003
By 
Kasha "BabyB" (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Hocus Pocus is another one of Titania's pretty coloured velvet books, which although has elements of Pagan witchcraft, is especially non-tradition specific - which, like her other books, is it's strength and it's downfall in that it does mean that it is easy for all to approach it is lacking any basis for why the magic works - i.e. beliefs/theories.
She does include some elements that are tradition specific, more precisely Wiccan witchcraft or Earth-based Pagan witchcraft specific. Examples of this are 'Harnessing the elements' where she explains very briefly taking into consideration the moon phase and weather when spell casting, which does tend to be more of a Wiccan or Earth-based Pagan witchcraft idea. There is also 'Tools of the trade' which mentions Wiccan or Earth-based Pagan witchcraft specific tool ideas.
So although this book is not specific to Wiccan or Earth-based Pagan witchcraft there are still elements of those ideas within this book - however she is careful not to include the religious beliefs behind Pagan based witchcraft.
A lot of the spells are based on what I would call 'common sense magic', magic working with superstition and folk lore, working with ideas which are probably implanted in your mind to begin with such as burying items from a past relationship to put said relationship behind you.
The book starts off with a short introduction and an explanation into the 'tools of the trade' - which is ironic because although she points out that you do not need specific tools, many of her spells, although because are non-tradition specific don't need say for example Wiccan witchcraft tools such as a cauldron, do need tools or ingredients which are occasionally hard to get a hold of or expensive for the audience she attracts to buy.
This book seems to concentrate on love spells, and spells for the family, which seems t suggest that this is another book aimed at a certain market, in this case it seems to be aimed at housewife's with an interest in new age or spell work.
This is certainly not a spell book for established witches, religious witches, or anyone really 'into' witchcraft at all, nor is this really a book for teens.
First chapter is on finding love, this includes simple love spells to attract a lover, spells for healing those love wounds, and 'glamour' spells, finishing with some little divination ideas and folklore type min-spells.
The second chapter is all love and passion spells, this includes Aphrodite's oil - Please note, Titania does not include warnings about essential oils, always make sure you know how to use the oils, they can be a danger to your health if used incorrectly.
The third chapter is for healing love lost, to deal with bad relationships with magic instead of dealing with them in other ways. This includes spells to help heal a relationship or to put a relationship behind you.
Chapter four is family matters, diet ideas, spells for babies - for a girl or a boy and pregnancy oldwife tales and protection spells.
Five is for family members, dealing with difficult family members (including binding without need of those pesky ethics) and a pet spell.
Chapter six is more 'glamour' spells, more diet ideas, health spells, and 'glamour' spell with poppet, finishing with witch beauty tips.
Seven consists of success spells, money charms and spells for better success at work.
Chapter eight is good luck, to chase away bad and welcome good.
The book ends with a very small appendix which consists of lists of - Goddess/Gods, tree/moon calendar, lucky symbols, lucky colours, numbers, star signs and a note on anointing candles - but like the rest of the book there is VERY LITTLE INFORMATION on anything mentioned.
In conclusion this book is the same as all the rest, very little information given, no information to back up why spells or magic works, a little bit of superstition and folklore and superficial spells. This book may look pretty but it is a waste of money, without the knowledge of why magic works it simply won't work, this book will maybe be used once before either you get bored of the book, the spell doesn't work so you don't bother with this book anymore or you run out of money after buying the supplies she sometimes asks for - on top of what you spent on the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My baby!!, 2 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
This was my first ever wicca book, I've always ALWAYS felt like a witch but had to access to any knowledge, nor did I think there was any available. This book is my baby because it made me realise I wasn't alone.. The relgion isn't really referred to and its just a few spells, targetted to the non pagan. But the beautiful cover seems magickal by itself, I'd recommend it to any non pagan who wants to dabble in witchcraft to see if its for them. But serious practicers, it won't tell you anything you don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hocus pocus, 17 Mar 2010
this bk has many different aspects to it love the contents full of everyday things to do & use
brilliant spell bk from everyday to extreme protective spells
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read - especially for those starting out, 22 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Gives a very easy to read view of how to do spells, how they work. I have used several of the spells in this book - with results. But I would stress that it is important to add a bit of yourself (not literally, of course) into any spells you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A total must for every beginer, 28 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells (Hardcover)
This book is just beautifull, the way in which it is set out with the pictures; instructions and guidlines what can i say? PERFECT, this was my first book which i bought 2 years ago and will carry on using it untill the pages are unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells
Hocus Pocus: Titania's Book of Spells by Titania Hardie (Hardcover - 18 Sep 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews