Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and well written book!!, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
This is a very informative and sometimes rather amusing book about Alan Mann, a man I personally had the pleasure of knowing. The stories of his early breaks into motor racing are written in a way which makes you conjure up a very vivid picture in your mind, there are also lots of pictures of his cars past and present which give a good insight into just how much of an impact he made into the early days of saloon car racing. Some of the tricks they got away with on the cars constantly make you grin to yourself whilst reading. I would recommend this book to anybody who loves motor racing and Alan's now legendary Red & Gold liveried Escorts & Cortinas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly enlightening., 25 April 2013
By 
Martin Bull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
This is a great motorsport book - essential for any enthusiast. I remember seeing the F3Ls and XOO349F and was always rather mystified by the sudden disappearance of Alan Mann from the racing scene. This is one of those books which constantly has you saying 'Well, I never knew that!'.
The frank discussions about drivers' characters, and big-company politics at Ford, are fascinating and there's an excellent selection of illustrations.
As another distinguished reviewer has said, the reader is left with the feeling that more is left to be revealed about the subject's own character but such insights are perhaps best expected from an outside biographer.
Overall, though - a real 5-star book, of the kind where you're sorry to reach the final page.
(Oh, and don't be put off by the text being close to the gutter - I think what's meant is the 'gutter' in the centre of the binding....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In depth research, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
Alan Mann was local to me so many people and placed were familiar.Its specialist but good that Alan got it dwon before his untimely passing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great man (no pun) great story., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
I,ve followed this team from the age of 14, i,m 62 now so you could say i,m a bit of a fan. Well laid out book, logical chaptors easy to follow. I,ve read a lot of the co authers stuff so i,m used to the style.
It filled in gaps in my knowledge. All in all a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
Very good insights to the Alan Mann story. An easy read against an interesting and important story in the motor racing world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My youth revisited in pictures!, 11 April 2013
By 
B. C. Furzer "Brian Furzer" (Charente Maritime, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
I was in my late teens at the high point of Alan Mann's involvement in motorsport. This has brought back many vivid memories and added articulation to the era for me.
Absolute value for money and a treasured possession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
Very interesting life story of a very interesting man who took his chances when they came. I enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must own book if you loved "60s motor racing", 28 Mar 2013
By 
A. Black (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
a fantastic insight into Alan Mann's racing team, his involvment with Ford ,rallying touring cars & Le Mans endurance racing . Its one of these books that is just so great to own , bringing back great memories when i saw the lovely red & gold touring cars in action. Exceding well written by Mann & Tony Dron with super photographs just such a shame Alan passed away just before this was published.
well recommended by me , and a great Amazon price of £28:00 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Mann - A life of chance, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
Fantastic book, I met Alan Mann several times over the years at the Goodwood festival of speed and the revival before his untimely death, A really nice chap who always had time to chat to the marshals, I cant put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Mann - A Life of Chance (Hardcover)
Good book
Interesting book adding to knowledge of motorsport in the days of more enterprise than that of todays events
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Mann - A Life of Chance
Alan Mann - A Life of Chance by Tony Dron (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2012)
£36.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews