Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This book is as good as I hoped it would be. Tony Southgate's career covered what was, in retrospect, the most innovative and interesting period in motor racing history. He wasn't just a state of the art race car designer, he was one of those special engineers, like Ettore Bugatti or Gordon Murray, who managed to make all his cars not only go fast but look brilliant as...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by John G. Millar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but expecting more
I was keen to read about Southgate's time at BRM, Shadow and Arrows and especially his thoughts on key characters he worked with ie Chapman, Nichols, Oliver etc Unfortunately this was a bit lacking, other than a short line piece about his unhappy sacking from Arrows by Oliver.

It's very detailed about his design ideas, but for more character stuff look for his...
Published 12 months ago by Dangermouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Aug 2010
By 
John G. Millar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
This book is as good as I hoped it would be. Tony Southgate's career covered what was, in retrospect, the most innovative and interesting period in motor racing history. He wasn't just a state of the art race car designer, he was one of those special engineers, like Ettore Bugatti or Gordon Murray, who managed to make all his cars not only go fast but look brilliant as well. I don't think many people would want to hang one of Ron Taurenac's cars on the wall as an objet d'art but I wouldn't mind having one of Tony Southgate's BRM P180s over the fireplace. I love all the little now-it-can-be-told anecdotes. A great read for anybody interested in 60s, 70s and 80s motor racing.

The book is an auto-biography and not just a tech-fest for nerds. As such is quite accessible for the more general motor racing enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 28 July 2010
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
I was just 9 when Tony Southgate moved into the house across the road from me in Silverstone and obviously I immediately became the number one fan of the Shadow F1 team, Peter Revson and Tom Pryce. Unbelievably Tony some how managed to find time during Grand Prix weekends to collect F1 autographs and stickers for me ! Thanks Tony, I doubt this could happen today.

This is a fabulous insight during the great days of motorsport when the chief designer and often just one other designer had a completely free hand to design fast and beautiful race cars. I was surprised by the amount of wind tunnel work carried out so long ago and the shear quantity and diversity of race cars Tony designed is astonishing. The chapters are split into yearly segments which makes it a very easy book to pick up and put down. The photos and original drawings are great, it is entertaining with just the right amount of technical detail and there are some great family anecdotes.

Anyone involved with motorsport and fans of drivers during these times also had to deal with very sad times too and this is not glossed over. However, what comes across most is the shear enjoyment and satisfaction Tony derived from being a race car designer.

I feel like buying another copy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony Southgate, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
A truly down to earth account of the motor racin scene throughout the decades and the various classes. Very informative and relaxed way of getting to know the pitfalls as well as the highs of this great sport. Having met the author a true reflection of the person and his experience.
A must buy for people of my age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining read, 7 July 2010
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
Full of entertaining and amusing stories and with a wealth of technical background to appeal to the serious racing enthusiast. Lots and lots of photographs and sketches, many of which are seen for the first time to show how a racing car design evolves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling Stuff, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
I missed out on Tony's earlier cars, but my Dad was a big fan and had several models of his cars, so this book filled in a lot of gaps in my knowledge of the teams, times, races and cars.

I was enthralled and didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 14 Mar 2011
By 
G. Minett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
This was purchased as a present for my car-nut of a husband who devours all technical knowledge. He has thoroughly enjoyed pouring over this book and recommends it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 26 July 2010
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
Utterly brilliant book. Plenty of humour and stories mixed with the real mitty gritty of motor racing. Enough detail for the real petrol heads and enough story for the "fan".
A fascinating resume of a life in motor sports, especially since Tony Southgate worked in so mant different areas and formulas with so many different people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but expecting more, 10 April 2013
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
I was keen to read about Southgate's time at BRM, Shadow and Arrows and especially his thoughts on key characters he worked with ie Chapman, Nichols, Oliver etc Unfortunately this was a bit lacking, other than a short line piece about his unhappy sacking from Arrows by Oliver.

It's very detailed about his design ideas, but for more character stuff look for his recent "Lunch with..." article in Motor Sport Magazine with Simon Taylor, which is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tony southgate : a genius, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
This is for the "insider".
F1is my passion, already 45 years! I collect everything I can find , especially this excellent book. It gives you a perfect impression of racing; especially F1.
Henri L.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic career, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag (Hardcover)
This book is both a personal story of a successful designer and of motorsport in the 60s to 2000 and the fist of the all conquering Audis. It contains a nice mix of technical and personal recolections. He starts with his time, racing a 750f car in the 750 Motor Club and completes the circle with a return to the 750 club on his retirement and racing his Phoenix kit car. It really is a good read - even my wife is reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag
From Drawing Board to Chequered Flag by Tony Southgate (Hardcover - 31 May 2010)
45.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews