Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will be fantastic
As with the others in the series this will be an excellent book. I have had this book on order for a very long time. It was ordered because of the excellent price that Amazon offered - almost too good to be true. I knew the book was not published when I ordered - DEC 2007 is the latest estimate, its with the printers as I write this (Sep 2007). Amazon have cancelled my...
Published on 22 Sept. 2007 by K. Lyons

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BRMs Purple Patch
Co-authored by Tony Rudd, the designer behind the cars described, this book covers some of the same ground as the section dealing with BRM in Tony Rudd's biography. (It was Fun). The layout is disappointingly orthodox and the prose nothing to write home about, I expected more engineering discussion of the sort Motor Sport used to do based around cutaway drawings. I don't...
Published on 18 Jun. 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will be fantastic, 22 Sept. 2007
By 
K. Lyons "Kev Lyons" (Congleton, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
As with the others in the series this will be an excellent book. I have had this book on order for a very long time. It was ordered because of the excellent price that Amazon offered - almost too good to be true. I knew the book was not published when I ordered - DEC 2007 is the latest estimate, its with the printers as I write this (Sep 2007). Amazon have cancelled my order saying the book is unavailable. They have not responded to my emails so I'm off to Chaters who put customer service first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Finale, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Michael J. Quarterman (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
The final volume. If you have the other two you probably didn't even need a review. This has all the great quality of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRM - The saga of British Racing, 7 Aug. 2011
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
I purchased this on behalf of my sister for her husband's birthday, he was very pleased with it. The price was reasonable. It arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for motor racing enthusiasts., 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
One of the best one make histories. Bought as a gift, but read by me as well. Very good value, and the first two parts are excellent as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could Do Better, 6 Dec. 2008
By 
John G. Millar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
I was surprised at how much of this book was simply given over to Tony Rudd's contemporary race reports. While these are very interesting I couldn't help but think that Doug Nye was having a bit of a free ride. I hope his late co-author's estate has been suitably recompensed. In general I felt that the book was not up to the standard of the first two volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
Really great book looks good with no 1 & 2 books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BRMs Purple Patch, 18 Jun. 2008
This review is from: BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport) (Hardcover)
Co-authored by Tony Rudd, the designer behind the cars described, this book covers some of the same ground as the section dealing with BRM in Tony Rudd's biography. (It was Fun). The layout is disappointingly orthodox and the prose nothing to write home about, I expected more engineering discussion of the sort Motor Sport used to do based around cutaway drawings. I don't think this book adds a huge amount, certainly not for the money; Tony Rudd's own book has a more liberated personal flavour to it and gives great insight into how incompetent poorly focussed management can kaibosh sound engineering, something which Rudd was able to sort out once he was given the reins. The problem I have with series like this is they seem to accredit a marque with some kind of genetic lineage recogniseable in the metal. This is nonsense. The only lineage is in the approach of the people involved, and when they come and go, the product changes. The BRMs before and after Rudd's tenure were one thing, Rudd's cars were something else.

For that reason I shan't be anticipating Vol 4 with anywhere near the same eagerness as I anticipate Tony Southgate's biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BRM - The Saga of British Racing Motors Volume 3: Monocoque Cars 1964-1968 (Motor Sport)
£80.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews