Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practically everything you need to know!
As most previous reviewers have made clear, this is an excellent book. Well written and packed with information and covers practically everything you would want to know.
There are over a hundred methods here, so the chances of you finding the most effective one for each person you hypnotise is very high.
The majority of stage hypnotists use the techniques...
Published on 10 Dec 2004 by Freddie Valentine

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you want to learn the old outdated Hypnotic techniques!
Please look closely at this review because I bought this book when I was naive about Hypnosis..

You may be looking to buy this book out of curiosity or maybe your wondering wether it's worth spending all that money? Well this book is definitely worth spending your money on if your wanting to understand alot about the old authoritarian ways of inducing trance...
Published 21 months ago by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practically everything you need to know!, 10 Dec 2004
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
As most previous reviewers have made clear, this is an excellent book. Well written and packed with information and covers practically everything you would want to know.
There are over a hundred methods here, so the chances of you finding the most effective one for each person you hypnotise is very high.
The majority of stage hypnotists use the techniques listed in this book and it is an invaluable reference to a fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 19 April 2000
By 
hgsparks@aol.com (west yorkshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
i tried getting into hypnotism a few years ago but the book i got was not very helpful. i bought this book recently and it is a book full of everything you need to know. the history through to putting on your own shows. it has plenty of techniques and if you cant hypnotise after this you never will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, complete and thorough., 2 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
A master work in the art of stage hypnosis that takes you from raw novice to accomplished stage performer. There are literally hundreds of induction and trance deepening techniques along with examples of content for shows from a range of master hypnotists.
Especially amazing is the description of what people will do without question under trance. Even if you just plan to see if you can put "the 'fluence" on friends at parties, this book will give you the lot. It looks expensive, but as with all things you pay for what you get. How does 600 pages of information sound?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you want to learn the old outdated Hypnotic techniques!, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
Please look closely at this review because I bought this book when I was naive about Hypnosis..

You may be looking to buy this book out of curiosity or maybe your wondering wether it's worth spending all that money? Well this book is definitely worth spending your money on if your wanting to understand alot about the old authoritarian ways of inducing trance.. and there are some interesting things in here,

Although, you might be like me and looking for books that will be useful today in our fast moving world.. and if so, you can find far more insightful and up to date books here on amazon that will really give you a sense of joy.. Most hypnotists wouldn't suggest that you look for Trance-formations by Richard Bandler and John Grinder.. because they want to keep that book hidden for as long as possible!

I'm not one of those hypnotists :)

I hope you might find this review helpfull! and take care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wealth of Information, 22 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. N. Thain "Nigel Thain" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
Having read all the other reviews I decided to buy this book.
It certainly is an encyclopedia at just over 600 pages.
Its split into 2 sections. The first deals with how to hypnotise, the second all about "stagecraft".
My only comment is that the pictures used all appear to be from the 50's 60's and some of the methods also seem to be from this era, so it may be a little bit dated, but being new to hypnosis/hypnotism I dont know if that makes any difference.
Presumably if a method works then why change it !
Time will tell.... Move over Paul McKenna, i'm on my way :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, 23 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
This work expands even further on McGill's earlier editions. I have studied this subject for many years now and have never found another book which comes near to the quality and content of this one. Mr McGill, Sir, I am indebted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for those who want to learn, 31 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
After reading many disapointing stage hypnosis books this came as a pleasant surprise. This book manages to teach the reader the fundamental principles of stage hypnotism as well as many practical tecniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism, by Ormond McGill, 27 Jan 2007
By 
C. Bigg "hypno-mainia" (Gatwick UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I would like to point out that I have purchased a lot of books and downloaded a lot of tripe recently on Hypnosis and hypntherapy. If you are tired of all the rubbish out there.. The I advise you to ditch what you have and buy this. This is very good indeed.. covers a lot of ground.

This book I must say is good for novice's and people just seeking to understand more about hypnosis and the media.. it is also good for the Professional hypnotist.

I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to train or who is qualified. it has explanations within explanations. Pictures too. Both practical, Scientific and an easy read.

It is a must have for all those buddying hypnotist and hypno wanna-bees
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Master at Work, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
This is a substantive volume covering many of the techniques required by the would-be-hypnotist. This is a quality work written a person who can walk the walk so to speak.
If you are interested in learning/improving your hypnotic techniques, buy this book. You will learn how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hypnosis: relax and read this, 5 Mar 2010
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism (Hardcover)
Always interested with things to do with the mind and this has got so much information in it.

This is the definitive guide to hypnotism. Within minutes of picking this up, I was sticking peoples` hands together. Fun (^.^)v

It took me a long time to pick this book due to its price. After searching through numerous other books I finally decided to take the plunge and purchase this one. It is worth every penny ( but maybe not more ).

I am very happy with this book and love practicing everything I have learnt, which is a lot. It truly is an Encyclopedia and I would not hesitate if I had to make the decision again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4d0fc84)

This product

The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism
The New Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism by Ormond McGill (Hardcover - 25 May 1994)
45.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews