Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sobering truths?
Vernon Coleman has long been a waspish, eccentric but incisive commentator on British (and, in this book, global) political, social and economic events. In "Gordon is a Moron", he effectively demolished the aura of success (if it still exists) which once surrounded Gordon Brown's record as Chancellor of the Exchequer. Here, he looks at broader trends, both nationally and...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Friendlycard

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a rant
There were some decent and interesting nuggets but this was a rant in places, often repetitive and probably a regurgitation of much of what the author has published previously. OK to pick up and put down but not suitable for an evening "curled up with a book"
Published on 27 July 2009 by Mr. A. R. Monbiot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sobering truths?, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Friendlycard (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
Vernon Coleman has long been a waspish, eccentric but incisive commentator on British (and, in this book, global) political, social and economic events. In "Gordon is a Moron", he effectively demolished the aura of success (if it still exists) which once surrounded Gordon Brown's record as Chancellor of the Exchequer. Here, he looks at broader trends, both nationally and globally. If he's right, what happens next will be very nasty indeed.

His thesis begins with the observation that a combination of inept government and greedy bankers is driving the UK into bankruptcy and obscurity. It would be hard to argue against this, with Britain teetering on the brink of a debt implosion.

His strictures on America are visceral, but contain elements of solid analysis larded with a fair degree of simple dislike for the US as a country embodying, in the author's opinion, corruption, arrogance, greed and aggression. This is, to put it mildly, rather a sweeping generalisation, but it's a well (if rather hysterically) argued point of view. He thinks that Mr Obama is another Tony Blair - great image, no substance - and one can see where Coleman is coming from here without necessarily agreeing with him.

And so on. Bankers get a bashing; the UK is heading for hyper-inflation (well, we are running the printing presses), and is heading also for an energy crisis (Mr Coleman is a strong believer in Peak Oil). Law and order will disintegrate as an arrogant, increasingly out-of-touch police force imposes draconian laws enacted by Labour (I certainly agree with his assessment of the rate at which individual liberties are being eroded; and the police seem to have evolved from "the long arm of the law" to "the mailed fist of the [Labour] state").

This has been a summary of his thesis, spiced with some personal comments. Where I really take issue with the author is in his demonisation of the EU - he waxes lyrical about the damage that the EU has supposedly inflicted on the UK, but at no point does he mention the very material damage that Britain has caused the UK. He displays no grasp of decentralisation or subsidiarity, and thinks that a closer EU would be a carbon-copy of Britain's severe over-centralisation. But I'm in danger of ranting too.........

Unlike "Gordon is a Moron" - a book with which I whole-heartedly concurred - I think that "What Happens Next?" has taken on an over-large canvas, and is less focussed (and less convincing) as a result. At times I find myself crying out for footnotes and sources.

Written in a more academic, reasoned and backed-up way, this could have been a very powerful book. I still think that it's an important and thought-provoking one, containing many valid and important arguments. But the book would have been far more persuasive if it had it been more calmly argued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody should read this book., 27 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
Vernon Coleman's book is a true life horror story of what an incompetent Government have done to our once great country, and how we will be suffering the consequences for countless years to come. We are facing a financial apocalypse, the like of which has never been known, and it's going to get worse. If you are a UK citizen and you are squeamish about your future prospects, it may be an idea not to read this book, but ignoring the facts has never been the best thing to do. You MUST read this book to prepare yourself for what's in store for us. If you can read it an ever vote Labour again there must be something seriously wrong with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake Up England, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
Vernon Coleman's brutally frank opinions of what has happened to Britain during the last twelve years cannot be ignored. If you value your quality of life and everything your country stood for wake up from your apathy and start making your views heard. Another absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the button!, 1 Aug 2009
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
Everyone who loves our country should read this book and think deeply about the future of the UK and our children's future too........and take an interest in it!! Its too important to leave it to a bunch of selfish and incompetent politicians and big business fat cats!!

As the ordinary people of this country we should make our voices heard and stop it being taken away from us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the wasteland, 30 April 2009
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
In his latest book Vernon Coleman continues his remorsless demolition of the "facts" of modern life in his usual iconoclastic style. Essential reading for all those who think the mass media is designed to inform. If the truth depresses then get used to depression, would seem the best advice: it will soon become the common lot, even if only half the information in this book proves true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Happens Next, 18 July 2010
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
AS usual V.C. 'talks for Britain' but the message is required reading if you want, or need, to really know the dreadful things that have been going on for years.

What is especially disturbing is that it is almost certain to get worse!

Forewarned is forearmed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a rant, 27 July 2009
By 
Mr. A. R. Monbiot (Bahrain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
There were some decent and interesting nuggets but this was a rant in places, often repetitive and probably a regurgitation of much of what the author has published previously. OK to pick up and put down but not suitable for an evening "curled up with a book"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No references to support claims make for a dubious, if interesting, book, 14 Nov 2009
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
I want to start this review by quoting part of the introduction of "What Happens Next?" - "There are no references in this book. There is a good reason for this. A list of the books, articles, reports, videos, tapes and documents I've used would be ten times as long as the book itself and prohibitively expensive to print and post".

That raises one simple question - why not put the references on Vernon Coleman's web-site? Without those references, it is difficult to know whether what Vernon Coleman writes is accurately reported from peer-reviewed, researched articles, whether it is re-telling stories from tabloid newspapers that were written for a particular audience to increase sales figures, or whether there is nothing more behind some of the material than a general feeling that it must be true.

Certainly, there is a lot of material in this book that I find myself agreeing with. There are also a large number of occasions where I recall the news stories and/or announcements that this material relates to. Unfortunately, there are also parts of this book where (ignoring typographical errors that clearly were not picked up in proof-reading, but which at least once changed the entire meaning of a sentence to the opposite of what was intended) the language used is imprecise (e.g. talking about "All" when what follows does not apply to 100% of the group) and so it is difficult to know quite what the author is intending to say. There is also a degree of hypocrisy and some inaccuracy. This is particularly apparent when talking about emigration and immigration, where the author presents a case for limiting immigration (including EU citizens such as Polish citizens) into the UK, but does not balance that with how UK citizens would feel if other EU countries prevented free movement of UK citizens into those countries. He says that almost 14 million British passport holders live overseas, but does not seem to see that as an issue for the countries they move to, whilst he does seem to see it as an issue that other people, including the Poles, move to the UK. That's just one example where the writing is superficial, rather than looking at the deeper questions in a more balanced way.

So, a lot of material that I agree with, a few bits that I disagree with, sometimes strongly. Disagreeing is fine, that's what free-speech is all about, and it doesn't affect my star rating for this book. However, the material, whether I believe it or not, or whether I agree with the implications or not, is seriously undermined by the lack of references. As I mentioned above, they could be on the web-site rather than in the book, but they need to be somewhere. If Vernon Coleman provided complete references to back up what he says, together with a glossary to provide his definition of key words such as multiculturalism, then I would recommend people to read this book even though I disagree with some of his opinions, but without the references it has the feel of what another reviewer has described as a rant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's all True but worse., 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
Things are rocky in Good Old England. ( INDEED THE WORLD) But i shudder to think at whats to come! It all boils down to mans inherant greed factor . Mr Coleman does not no the answer nor do i or any one else, if it comes to it.
You /I can't get prepaired cos there is no answer.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting.,, 28 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Happens Next? (Paperback)
This book is an eye opener to everyone who reads it, it makes you wonder what will happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Happens Next?
What Happens Next? by Vernon Coleman (Paperback - 31 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews