Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A country up to its eyeballs in the Brown stuff
Coleman wrote this book in 2007 just as Gordon Brown left HM Treasury to become the unelected Prime Minister of Britain. The 'credit crunch' hadn't happened at the time of writing yet Coleman was already providing copious amounts of evidence that Gordon Brown was destroying the British economy and was accusing him of being the man who "has ruined our nation"...
Published on 25 Jun. 2010 by Lance Grundy

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not that simple
This is an all-out rant, drawing upon the almost inexhaustible catalogue of stupidity which comprises Gordon Brown's record in office. There is enough here to keep the average saloon bar bore busy for as long as it takes to clear up the mess created by an outstandingly silly man - which could be quite some time.

The author's tale (penned in 2007) has to a...
Published on 20 July 2009 by M. Woodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A country up to its eyeballs in the Brown stuff, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
Lance Grundy (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
Coleman wrote this book in 2007 just as Gordon Brown left HM Treasury to become the unelected Prime Minister of Britain. The 'credit crunch' hadn't happened at the time of writing yet Coleman was already providing copious amounts of evidence that Gordon Brown was destroying the British economy and was accusing him of being the man who "has ruined our nation".

This book is a fairly short, but thoroughly comprehensive, compendium of Gordon Brown's ruinous economic and social policies and he scores twenty-two direct hits on Brown in twenty-two, fact-packed, riveting chapters. Coleman's criticisms of Brown's crude attempts at Stalinist social engineering, Viv Nicholson style economics and left-wing fascism give the reader a glimpse of how future history books are likely to record the era of Gordon Brown.

Plenty of simple, thought provoking arguments are laid out here for anyone - no matter what your political persuasion - and it's an easy read laid out across just 150-odd pages. Learn how Brown fiddled the inflation figures so he could falsely claim Britain had low inflation - a claim which allowed him to stoke up the biggest debt-fuelled bubble in British history. How Brown's box-ticking target culture has destroyed the public services. His deliberate expansion of state dependency as a means to an end. The precipitous decline of manufacturing under his stewardship and how New Labour's indulgent, kid glove treatment of globalised big business and big money was in sharp contrast to their treatment of Britain's small business sector which they have strangled to death with Soviet levels of red tape, regulations and bureaucracy. Over taxation, under investment, public and personal over indebtedness and tens of billions of pounds of central and local government waste. Bearing in mind what was to happen within months of Coleman finishing this book, Chapter 6 "The Imprudent Chancellor and the Worst Budget Deficit in Western Europe" makes some spookily prescient points.

Sadly, what makes this book essential reading for anyone who wants to know how the country got into its present mess and what makes Coleman's case so difficult to dispute, is that many of the things he predicts will happen actually did happen and within just months of the book being published. If you take into account Brown's time as Prime Minister his legacy becomes even worse than it was at the time Coleman wrote this book. Under Brown's Labour government we have seen the national debt double [and forecast to double again to £1.4 trillion by 2014/15], the budget deficit go through the roof [to the point where the government is now borrowing one pound of every four pounds it spends] and Brown personally engineering what must be the largest transfer of wealth from poor to rich in British history when he bailed out the banks. Thirteen years of Brownonomics has also saddled Britain with the widest gap between rich and poor since the Second World War. As Coleman says of the New Labour government..."If they had deliberately set out to destroy the country they could not have made a better job of things".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal overview, 27 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
It amazed me for several years that Brown had a reputation for competence as a Chancellor (as PM his true abilities have shone like a beacon!). Certainly a very selfish, spineless, arrogant, inhuman, kleptomaniacal "statist" bully who in my opinion has NEVER done the right thing for his country, only what is politically expedient to promote himself. eg selling our gold reserves at the lowest possible price, so he appeared to be a good European. Sackable offence. One of many that an incompetent opposition and the press let him get away with.

You will correctly guess that with this background opinion that I enjoyed the book. There were more revelations of incompetence on a grand scale throughout, and the book is an easy read. Great. The implications for the UK though are, frankly, scary.

However, the book does state it is definitive and objective. Hmmm. Think instead that its a bit of a welcome rant. If you like in-depth intellectual analysis you will be disappointed. It is also lacking in supportive, investigative facts. This may though have made the book dull and a lot less appealing.

Nevertheless, anything that reveals to a wider audience what a mess we are in, and why, is welcome. Finding solutions is another matter. As an easy read it is ideal as an overview, and it gave me a lot more incidences & detail than I was previously aware of. It should in fact be used by opposition parties to formulate their battle plans. Why ANYONE in the Norwich by-election last week voted for Labour is beyond me, so I believe the book deserves to be compulsory reading for the electorate before they are allowed to vote!

In short, an enjoyable (but ultimately depressing for any responsible member of the tax-paying community)read if you dislike the target, Brown, and a good outline of some major issues that politicians will need to urgently resolve before the country is financially bankrupt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 23 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
A hundred years from now, when historians look back to establish who broke Britain, this will be the text that gives them all the answers. A step by step account of how Glorious Gordon did it. Buy one for your descendants so they understand where it all went wrong and why they are still paying for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A devastating critique, 3 May 2008
By 
Peter Hirsch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
If you want to know the damage that the Moron has done to the economy of Britain, this is the book you should read. A page turner filled with factually backed accusations. The effect of Gordon Brown's actions on the finances of his country, its institutions and its Constitution are all examined and picked apart. There is little here for your comfort but much for your ammunition pouch. No wonder this book is being sold at a premium - £25 per copy as opposed to the publisher's price £9.95 each and £25 for 10! Only towards the end of the book does the momentum fall off: the writer tires of his subject, and with such a subject, this should surprise no one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shining a light into the darker recesses of Mr Clown's record, 28 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
At last, an easily digestible, straightforward exposition of all that is Gordon Brown. Why, you will ask, has no-one in the media charted the cataclysmic damage caused by this dour control freak in a way that makes clear what has happened? You won't get it on the state sympathetic BBC, and you won't hear it talked about in the Westminster Village. None of the matters discussed can be genuinely rebutted because they're all true. Read it and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 11 Oct. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
Oh, that there weren't more people who had the passion that Vernon Coleman showed when writing this book. He leaves Gordon Brown without a name (rightly so, in my opinion).
Vern meticulously and systematically demolishes the New Labour mantra/lie that Gordon Brown was the best Chancellor that we've had in recent memory.
From the bleeding of the masses for taxes to the bloating of the civil service paid for by those taxes (to enlist and keep loyal New Labour voters), to the selling off of half of the UK's gold reserve at rock bottom prices (and pre-announcing this, thereby depressing prices beforehand), to the shocking injustice of means testing, and much more; the list goes on. A must read.
My only criticism is that the sources used for the book aren't referenced and so at times it seems like a rant (but with good reason).
However, this book also inadvertently shows Tony (the liar) Blair's recent assertion that he kept Gordon Brown as Chancellor, as he thought that Gordon would do more damage as a backbencher, as laughable. Brown couldn't have done more damage to the UK if he tried. What was clear to me about Brown from this book was that he was a dyed-in-the-wool socialist, tax and spend and damn the consequences. On the grounds of this book Brown should be tried for Treason. He makes the bankers seem like choirboys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gordon is an even bigger moron than you could possibly imagine, 12 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
If you think Gordon Brown is a bad man, you are right, however, I'm afraid he's a thousand times worse than you could have ever possibly imagined and more so.

I've known for a long time this Labour government is truly awful and that Gordon Brown is a terrible Prime Minister and was a dreadful Chancellor, but even I didn't quite realise how much damage this man has done to Britain before I read this book.

This book makes uncomfortable reading, as the penny drops how much damage Gordon Brown has done to this country, which I hate to say, I don't think can ever be reversed. That said, it is heartening to know there is such a well researched book available that exposes this arrogant and dangerous man for the contemptible lying crook he is. Buy it now, before Brown has them all burned and you sent off to the Gulag for thought crime. I'm not joking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blame share, 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Simon Batt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
What a frightening book. But we mustn't forget that while most of these "crimes" were being committed Tony Blair was Prime Minister and therefore ultimately responsible.(If the EU really want him they are welcome as long as we can keep our distance)
I think the worst two were the gold sale at the lowest possible price and the destruction of a pension system which was the envy of the world. Not to forget the enormous debt which was run up when we should have been accumulating reserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No punches pulled, 9 Sept. 2009
By 
Peter Gordon (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
I have read and re-read the review of M Woodman and still cannot understand the point being made by him/her or whether he is actually criticising the premise of the book.

As far as I can tell from a long memory of British politics, Mr [Dr] Coleman has hit every nail on the head of the disaster known as Gordon Brown.

I have had to read the book in short bursts because the truth of what the author states is so clear makes me feel very angry and powerless [don't mention the general election]. Much as Margaret Thatcher was hated by the left nobody could have ever written an analysis of her tenure in such stark terms.

I hope that the books author sent several editions to No.10 in the hope that Mr Brown would sue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not convinced entirely objective, 6 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gordon is a Moron: The Definitive and Objective Analysis of Gordon Brown's Decade as Chancellor of the Exchequer (Paperback)
Good but quite slim book, although to call it objective is probably stretching the truth a bit- Vernon Coleman has an obvious dislike for "Gordon the Moron"- but hey, who can blame Dr Coleman for that?
What this book does do is explain in rather simple but thorough detail the alleged incompetence of the labour government and Gordon Brown in particular. It is particularly strong on Brown's social engineering policies and his building of the gold plated pension backed army of civil servants- Dr Coleman states many of these civil servants also vote labour.
Also Dr Coleman attacks what he sees as Brown's pro Scottish policies, highlighting how Gordon's compatriots enjoy free prescriptions, free old age care, and if they want to send their kids to English universities that is free too- also paid for by the taxpayer.
The book will depress you in that it highlights how we simply cannot afford Gordon Brown's extravagant spending policies and social benefits regime, and how the country is basically bust.
Vernon Coleman is no fool- highlighted by the fact that this book was published in 2007 (written 2006?) and it is amazing how so many of the things he predicted would happen have come true. Credit crunch anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews