Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I found this book very helpful. After reading, I not only felt that I had a fairly solid understanding of the eightfold path but also that I came away with many practical ideas about how to start applying the teachings to my life. As with most of Sangharakshita's work, the emphasis is mostly on how to allow Buddhism to transform our lives in its entirety as opposed to...
Published 1 month ago by R. Allan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware; not really a book
I was really excited about studying in my mitra group the noble eightfold path, and thought this book was going to cover it. Unfortunately no.

It is not a book, but rather a transcript of the great one's words; as if the words that fall from his mouth are like nectar dripping, and need to be preserved exactly so.

This is considered 'essential' study...
Published 1 month ago by Pretty Polly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Jun 2014
By 
R. Allan "Flax" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhist Wisdom for Today) (Paperback)
I found this book very helpful. After reading, I not only felt that I had a fairly solid understanding of the eightfold path but also that I came away with many practical ideas about how to start applying the teachings to my life. As with most of Sangharakshita's work, the emphasis is mostly on how to allow Buddhism to transform our lives in its entirety as opposed to just providing scholarly knowledge. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really great book, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhist Wisdom for Today) (Paperback)
This book clearly introduces the Buddha's Nobel Eightfold Path, and puts it into perspective for us in the modern world. The book is very well written, very easy to read and gives clear guidance on how to follow the Path. Whether you are just curious about Buddhism or a committed Buddhist this is definitely a key book to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this, 29 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhist Wisdom for Today) (Paperback)
Another nice offering from the prolific Sangharakshita. Nicely written and a good deeper insight into Lord Buddha's ancient teaching of the noble path to enlightenment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhist Wisdom for Today) (Paperback)
Gives easy to understand explanation of the eightfold path for those from a non Buddhist background and also highlights the problems for Buddhists trying to follow the path today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice exposition of the noble eightfold path. Very useful analysis of language use when describing the different aspects of the path in modern society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, restful and quietly inspiring, 17 Aug 2011
By 
Jester on Amazon "Jester" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A wonderful exposition of what Buddhism should be. Lightly written and quietly joyful. Kulananda also has a great voice for reading aloud (somewhat akin to Terence Stamp in tone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware; not really a book, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really excited about studying in my mitra group the noble eightfold path, and thought this book was going to cover it. Unfortunately no.

It is not a book, but rather a transcript of the great one's words; as if the words that fall from his mouth are like nectar dripping, and need to be preserved exactly so.

This is considered 'essential' study material?! His interpretation of the eightfold path is idiosyncratic at times (e.g. perfect instead of right, does not make sense), and you get everything he said during the course of the lectures, jokes about old ladies and the mentally sick, I kid you not.

Do yourself a favour and get yourself a copy of the pali canon, it will explain to you much more clearly than Sangharakshita ever could/will, in a language which is refined and beautiful, and stays to the point.

Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhist Wisdom for Today)
The Buddha's Noble Eightfold Path (Buddhist Wisdom for Today) by Sangharakshita (Paperback - 1 Sep 2007)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews