Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY JULIE JOHNSON
As a big fan of Julie Johnson - Zoe Anderson and Linda Chestnut - I just had to buy this book...and I was not dissapointed.

The pictures of sexy Julie Taylor took me back 18 years to the backstreet pubs of Walthamstow and Leytonstone.

I must of seen Julie and a few of the other girls featured in this BRILLIANT book - NAKED - more times than I have...
Published on 8 May 2007 by Nikki Daniels

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good In Parts
This book took me back to my mis-spent youth and later my early days as a stand-up comic in the pubs and clubs of East London.

I still see a few of the girls featured and do shows with some of the comics mentioned, people like Mark Brown, Peter Tibbs Jnr, Ian Flemming, Dick Beemer and Paul Wellings...but it is the pictures of the strippers and dancers that take...
Published on 24 May 2007 by Leeroy Winston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEXY JULIE JOHNSON, 8 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
As a big fan of Julie Johnson - Zoe Anderson and Linda Chestnut - I just had to buy this book...and I was not dissapointed.

The pictures of sexy Julie Taylor took me back 18 years to the backstreet pubs of Walthamstow and Leytonstone.

I must of seen Julie and a few of the other girls featured in this BRILLIANT book - NAKED - more times than I have seen my wife.

This book also contains interviews with stand-up comics like Derek Prevost - Mark Howe - Vinny Baldock - and I still laugh at their jokes just like I can still see JULIE TAYLOR wearing nohing but baby oil.

I just wish there was a DVD or Video to go with this naughty but funny book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lara, 14 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
The star of this book is Lara Clifton - at first you wonder what a nice girl is doing working as a stripper in grubby pubs...but when she explains you understand.

It is her choice - her hobby - and as history as proved - the first step on the ladder to fame and fortune.

A wonderful book from a lady who has used all her god given talents to get on in the world of showbiz.

This book is not just an historic document - it is also about the future of a soon to be mega movie star...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good In Parts, 24 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
This book took me back to my mis-spent youth and later my early days as a stand-up comic in the pubs and clubs of East London.

I still see a few of the girls featured and do shows with some of the comics mentioned, people like Mark Brown, Peter Tibbs Jnr, Ian Flemming, Dick Beemer and Paul Wellings...but it is the pictures of the strippers and dancers that take me on a trip down memory lane.

Lara Clifton was stunning, and is now a `proper` actress, Ginger Sally is a dog trainer, and Julie Taylor who was the best in the business for a while, all make this book value for money.

I would like to see a Part Two. Some of the performers have moved on to mainstream entertainment, others have not, it would make interesting reading.

Lara how about a follow up?

Julie Taylor moved from Pub lunchtimes to x-rated stags and then adult movies, she starred in Saturday Night Special, and Black In Blondes, but what about Cindy Jackson, Dee Dee and all the others?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Cold, 22 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
Some of the girls featured look more like boxers than sex symbols and you wonder why men would pay to watch them undress.

A few are stunning, Julie Taylor the blonde bomber who had a brief but amazing career is the best looking pub stripper I have ever seen, and not surprising that she quickly moved from Friday and Sunday lunchimes in The Sir John Franklin, just off the A13 to `Stag Shows` and porn movies...as cockney comic Micky Pugh recalls "She was a stunner and a very popular girl, if you know what I mean".

Another comic Leeroy Mambasa says "I was GAY before I met her and then one weekend in Brighton she converted me"

The rest of the strippers apart from Lara Clifton are not much to look at, how did the likes of Emma G and Ginger Sally earn a living from stripping off?

Not a great book, but with better editing and choice of pictures it could of been a best seller...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Tame, 28 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
A great idea but to be honest it is a bit dated,

The girls apart from a cople are NOT page three material and the comics are NOT ver PC or funny.

The worst comedian featured is PG Wellings and I cant believe that people paid money to watch these women undres.

Lara Clifton is stunning but the rest are just a collection of blonde bimbos who are more attractive with some clothes on rather than stark naked, and I think that says it all about the content of this book.

Quantity over quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy and Erotic, 12 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
The girls in this book are stunning and the trip back in time is a wonderful walk.

I can still remember all the strippers - Cindy - Sally - Julie ARE all in my memory - I can still hear the gags and the comis - i wish there was a video to go with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work of Art and Love, 6 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
A must have collection for fans of sleazy pub strippers and exotic club dancers. This brilliant book caters for all tastes.

The legendary Julie Johnson the Queen of the Sunday lunchtime circuit in pubs like The Sir John Franklin and White Lion represents the tacky end of the business - while Zoe Anderson shows off the classy side of pole dancing.

This book has got to be the best collection of naughty nudes ever assembled in the name of art.

It is erotic and sexy but it is also an historic document as sadly less and less pubs are putting on strip shows.

This book includes the views of strippers, punters, comics, publicans and fans of the noble art...but the last word must go to Julie Johnson - who is featured in various pictures and positions - from touring the bar in her black thong and bra - asking cusomers to put a pound coin in her pint glass - to having baby oil rubbed into her naked body by a couple of Bob Marley lookalikes - Julie says "Its great fun - and better than working in a supermarket"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Its Moments, 26 Dec 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
This book about East End strippers is GOOD but does not live up to the hype - there is a much better book about girls who strip waiting to be written - but having said that - this is still a pretty good effort.
It features two of the most `famous` strippers from the 1987 /88 period of East London pub strippers.
The blonde JULIE JACKSON and brunette Zoe Anderson - not only the sexiest strippers ever to appear at The Sir John Franklin on the A13 - but also the two who have gone onto better things.
JULIE starred in the cult movie `Saturday Night Specials` and ZOE became a bon-fide page three girl.
But the other girls featured - to be honest - give `strippers` a `bad name` - they are a pretty plain bunch to tell the truth - and the likes of Emma Grimson - well - mosty blokes would pay her to keep her clothes on.
There are some good stories about the pub comics - like Micky Pugh and Frankie Flame - who introduced a lot of the shows and compared the stag shows...but apart from the naked pictures of Julie Jackson and Zoe...the book was not as HOT as it could of been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hornchurch to Chelmsford, 2 Jun 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
From East London to Essex...from Hornchurch to Chelmsford I must of seen all the `girls` featured in this book...and see them perform at numerous stag shows with comics like Richard Beemer, Paul Wellings and `Old` Bill Flemming.

Some were nice, some were NAUGHTY, "hELLO" jULIE, bELINDA AND Ginger Sal...but NONE stole the spotlight from the author Lara Clifton.

I have been told that a DVD will soon be on sale to go with this book and I look forward to seeing it,

I am sure it will make a great follow-up to this book and the adult Italian version of Saturday Night Specials.

This book is not just erotic it is also a value for money social document and story of my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warm Stuff, 13 May 2007
This review is from: Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London (Hardcover)
I was a little dissapointed as the book is not that HOT and pretty tame compared to what goes on in pubs and clubs today.

Todays lap dancers and pole dancers are beautiful and look like Page Three girls...whereas the strippers in this book look more like housewives and `girls next door` - just doing it for fun or for the small amount of cash.

The comparison is todays footballers compared to soccer stars of the 70s - the same `job` but a million miles apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London
Baby Oil and Ice: Striptease in East London by Sarah Ainslie (Hardcover - 29 Aug 2002)
Used & New from: 8.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews