Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now ..... !
I bought this as a stocking filler for my Niece this Xmas who is 8 as her Brother has Autism, ADHD and Learning Difficulties and whilst while all aspects of this book didn't relate exactly to my Nephew this was indeed a selling point as showed the differences and 'spectrum' of autism. Well written and my Sister said a lot of adults could learn from reading this book...
Published 6 months ago by Claire

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, better books out there!
I brought this hoping my daughter could take it to school and help the other children understand the condition.
However it reads poorly and actually doesnt explain things clearly at all, It's a shame becasue if every paragraph didn't start with brother/sister it may have been better but the consatnt use of brother/sister gets very very annoying.
Published on 12 May 2012 by NicolaA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, better books out there!, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
I brought this hoping my daughter could take it to school and help the other children understand the condition.
However it reads poorly and actually doesnt explain things clearly at all, It's a shame becasue if every paragraph didn't start with brother/sister it may have been better but the consatnt use of brother/sister gets very very annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for older children with a classically autistic sibling but...., 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
..... not for explaining the quirks of a sibling with Asperger's to a child under ten. I bought this book thinking it would be great for such a purpose but the tone, explanations and descriptions seem to relate to classic autism and explaining the problems it causes to a child aged (approx) 12-16. I must admit, I only really flicked through this book as it was apparent pretty quickly it was not what I was looking for. If you are in the position I have described as my take on who it is aimed for and what it covers, it would be a really useful book to have to hand. However, it did not seem to be appropriate for an insight into the world and logic of an AS child so I had no choice but to return it. Still seeking the elusive book with the right answers. For me, it wasn't this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars informative, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
This is a very good book for siblings. My 11 year old daughter found it to be very informative and it helped her understand her younger sister more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now ..... !, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
I bought this as a stocking filler for my Niece this Xmas who is 8 as her Brother has Autism, ADHD and Learning Difficulties and whilst while all aspects of this book didn't relate exactly to my Nephew this was indeed a selling point as showed the differences and 'spectrum' of autism. Well written and my Sister said a lot of adults could learn from reading this book that a 'autistic child' isn't being 'naughty' and as the title of this book says - everybody is different. Well priced and quick delivery of this book.
My Niece said when writing this review that other brothers and sisters would be able to understand more and it was very interesting ( so much so she read it in one go) - buy this book you will be pleased you did and then pass it onto to other people in your family and friends. Well done Fiona Bleach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Autism, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
Again this book helps you to understand some of the things that austistic children go through and to explain to them why it's happening to them...a great book I would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for siblings of children with ASD, as well as other family members, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
This is a great positive explanation of ASD, and a frank and detailed description of the various emotions siblings can have about their brother/sister with ASD. Extremely useful to read and discuss as a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great ideas, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different (Paperback)
This book is great, although my child is to young to read it gave me great ideas in how to explain why his slightly older sister behaves the way she does at times, (she has high functioning autism and he adores her copying everything she does), he is now through the ideas I've gained starting to understand he should not behave in certain ways (he is only 3 1/2 and taking it very well)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for.. perfect for grannies , friends etc too, 16 July 2011
By 
Mrs. E. Kitchin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book. I had bought ' Can I tell you about Asperger Syndrome?' too and I think this one is far better. It answers lots and lots of questions in a great way- detailed but never condescending and allows for a real understanding for why some people with ASD may be non verbal or why they may cover their ears with certain noises etc etc Absolutely invaluable and will be buying many more copies:) People who come spend time with my son will now understand all his little quirks and this can only lead to a better understanding and more patience. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book very helpful to 9 year old to allow her to understand he 6 year old brothers problem, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
This book was purchased for my 9 year old granddaughter to help her understand the issues her 6 year old brother has. As soon as she received it she sat down and read it cover to cover. From discussions she has had with other people it appears she has found this book very helpful. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not right for us, 21 Feb 2010
By 
AC Elliott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism (Paperback)
My ten year old daughter, whom it was meant for, did not like the style of this book. I found it fine, but it wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everybody is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters with Autism
3.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews