Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegetable seed saving, 7 July 2006
I'm a novice gardener, and to save money on seeds wanted to learn more about saving my own. This book is excellent if you don't know where to start, the terminology used is simple, and for the more complex items such as diseases, there is a glossary.

The book covers saving seeds from: beetroot, spinach, beet, chard, broad bean, carrot, celery, celeriac, cucumber, french bean, leafy brassicas, leek, melon, lettuce, onion, parsnip, pea, pepper, chilli, radish, runner bean, spinach, squash (marrows, pumpinks and courgettes), tomato, turnip and swede.

Each bit tells a veg has a small section on growing, and then focuses on selection and saving and drying seeds. Each one also has a couple of heritage vegetables with a description mentioned.

There are a few photos and some drawn graphics. The only thing that would have been nice, is a few more indepth picture, but she explains pretty well.

I would definatly recommend this book, to any seed saver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well saved, sir, 19 Aug. 2009
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
I was desperate to find a book which could point me in the right direction for saving the seeds of as many of the veggies I grow each year - and this book is it.

I've already begun my mission to save myself a load of money for next year. The test will come when I try to grow my own from these seeds but I remain confident. Sue Strickland tells it how it is in a very straightforward manner. If anything, it can be a little repetitive if you try to read right through the chapters. However, for dipping in on a particular vegetable it is perfect. More importantly, perhaps, she has encouraged me to consider some of the rarer or less well-known varieties, so I suspect any savings I make on the traditional veg will be spent on a few of these rarer types. At least I can save these seeds for the following year.

If only we have a summer next year, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple and elegant, 26 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
an excellent book for any one intereted in seed saving, written for the UK using information gathered from the heretidge seed library at the henry dobleday reserch ascosiation (HDRA). includes information on growing, rouging, pollination and collection of a wide veriet6y of commonly grown vegetable species, as well as facintaing stories about specific verieties of heritidge vegetable such as ragged jack kale, johns purple carrots and pews special peas.
seed saving is easier than you could have imagined, start small and you may soon find it has becomes an ingaging and addictive hobby.

rosa bianca aubergines, brown soldger beans or gravedigger peas anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
Very informative, & interesting. Will help save money as well as save heritage seeds. And save special plants from seed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back garden seed saving, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
great book lots of useful tips a must for every gardener .helps you save your own seed for the next season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping your seeds, 18 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
Well presented, well laid out, useful guiding tips to maximise success.

A great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it arrived on time and in good condition. its a great idea and a great ..., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
.it arrived on time and in good condition. its a great idea and a great product. good quality and value for money. a good read and all you need to know. and I recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seed saving, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good layout and full of information for those wanting to save their own seed. Also explains the values and philosophy of seed saving .I highly recommend this book.
Ed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book,i love, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
great book,it goes thru a lot of vegtables grown in the uk and what to do and not to do when pollenating your plants to make seed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive (Paperback)
Excellent book with huge amount of detail and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive
Back Garden Seed Saving: Keeping Our Vegetable Heritage Alive by Sue Stickland (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2008)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews