Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad little book
If you want a book that gives a good overview and some constructional details then this is the book for you.
I was initially concerned that the book would only cover Mongolian Yurts, but was pleased to find that it also covers "bentwood" yurts from Turkestan (the Central Asian states that were once part of the USSR). As someone who has lived in and travelled...
Published on 31 Mar 2003 by Andy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too small
The book is just too small,the diagrams and text are just too small,it would be 10x better in the A4 format
Published 23 months ago by neil walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad little book, 31 Mar 2003
By 
Andy (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
If you want a book that gives a good overview and some constructional details then this is the book for you.
I was initially concerned that the book would only cover Mongolian Yurts, but was pleased to find that it also covers "bentwood" yurts from Turkestan (the Central Asian states that were once part of the USSR). As someone who has lived in and travelled extensively around Central Asia, I didn't find anything I disagreed with in the text. The plans are portrayed as easy which may be a bit optimistic for a beginner, and certainly some woodworking experience is necessary to construct the circular supports at the top of the Yurt.
Overall I would say that this is the best book on yurts that I have seen - but then how many are there to choose from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Yurt Handbook, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
I bought 2 books on yurts to cover all bases and this one is by far the most useful. It contains everything you'd need to know about yurts, yurt culture, history, structure, everything. It even has plans and drawings to guide the potential yurt maker through his first build.
Great little book that takes more than one read to totally take in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and fascinating, 6 Nov 2010
By 
Emma Cooper (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
Whether you're thinking of relocating to a yurt, or would like an unusual tent to spend your holidays in, or if you just like learning a bit more about very different cultures, then this is the book for you.

'The Complete Yurt Handbook' is a book of two halves. The first part 'The Yurt' looks at the history, geography and virtues of yurts. It then goes on to examine the different parts of a yurt structure. This is followed by a very interesting chapter on life in a Mongolian yert or ger. Here you'll learn about the Mongolian climate and the livestock nomadic Mongolians keep. There's a section on food and drink, including some recipes you can try for yourself. You are then told the rules of yurt etiquette, in case you're lucky enough to ever be invited inside. The final pages of part one look at the construction of a Mongolian ger and other types of yurts.

Part two 'Yurt Construction' is a practical guide to building your own yurt. It discusses the different types of yurt, with their advantages and disadvantages, so you can choose which type is right for you. It then walks you through the materials you'll need, before emnarking on frame construction. It also shows how to put together the canvas cover.

At the back of the book there are worked examples, which you can follow to build your own yurt if you're not comfortable designing your own. This is followed up by a glossary of Mongolian words, a large bibliography and the details of several yurt makers worldwide.

'The Complete Yurt Handbook' really lives up to its name - it's a fascinating book, and tells you everything you'll need to know to build and inhabit your own yurt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full and concise compendium, 27 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
Paul king's research, enthusiasm and extensive travelling in Mongolia has enabled him to write an authoritative book which covers the history and sociology of the Yurt. In addition, he gives clear and detailed instructions on how to buid your own yurt. A must for any yurt enthusiast and for anybody wanting information about this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Yurt Handbook by Paul King, 10 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
Great book....easy to follow guide on how to make and build a yurt. I made a 16 foot yurt with amazing results! and my friend is very happy with his yurt....this book is recommended for anyone wanting to make their own yurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Randy Repass "Radmacdddy" (Johnson, VT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
I built a yurt in the summer of 2012 and just picked this up on a whim after visiting the author's yurt site. I love it. Such a great resource. I'm building a very different style yurt now, bigger and totally different construction style, but am most inspired by the canvas section on sewing my cover. I'd love more info on how the felt walls are made for insulation, how it is done traditionally, as I have tons of access to wool, but don't quite know where to start.

Nevertheless, this is a great book to have by one's side and to learn about the traditional Mongolian way, if you are at all interested in yurts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than I thought...but a good read., 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
It was a gift for a friend...he loved it. He's now inspired to build a yurt himself :) All good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yurt handbook, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
I bought the Yurt handbook for my husband for our wedding anniversary as he had shown an interest. It is clear, detailed and full of pictures which is exactly what he wanted. It is unfussy and interesting and he is now following the instructions to make his own Yurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful diy manual, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
Useful and interesting. Shows just how easy construction is for the average diy builder when the construction is so clearly explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too small, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yurt Handbook (Paperback)
The book is just too small,the diagrams and text are just too small,it would be 10x better in the A4 format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Yurt Handbook
The Complete Yurt Handbook by Paul King (Paperback - 5 April 2001)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews