Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Knitting Enthusiasts, 11 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
Of all the books, patterns etc I have bought this has got to be the most comprehensive instructional book to date. Dedicated to Shetland lace, it examines the history of lace knitting, along with knitting techniques, and the wonderful projects. The patterns are in chart form, which at first sight can be off-putting. But I found the intricacy of the pattern was made far easier working from a chart rather than from the more traditional written patterns. Also featured within the book is a design library. Detailing numerous patterns and advice so the reader can adapt and design their own lace work. Price wise it is a little higher than usual, but this is not a read once put in the corner book. Its an HEIRLOOM book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you'll ever need, 9 Jan 2004
By 
Helen M. Wyld "clockwatcher" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
This is the definitive book on Shetland knitted lace. Any enthusiastic knitter will refer to it constantly for its comprehensive lace patterns. There are also complete projects.
Be warned - the patterns are presented as charts, rather than written. Do not be put off by this, they are straightforward to follow, but older knitters may not be used to charted patterns.
This is a pricey book, but well worth it. There is also a great website associated with this book [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably aimed at experts, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
I teach knitting and work as an editor. There is no doubt that the author is the prime exponent presently in the shetland knitting field. Sharon Miller has worked very hard on this project but she would have been well served by better editorial support from the publisher. The charts are good but the step-by-step photos could be supplemented by clearer ones in a revised edition. The mistakes which have crept in are corrected on the author's website.
The projects are beautiful and have lost none of their traditional qualities in her interpretations. The price reflects the technical nature of the subject matter and the immense amount of work that has gone into it, so I feel I can thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in shetland knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reference book on heirloom knitting!, 31 July 2002
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
It's such a wonderful (big) book on heirloom knitting!! The lace designs for centres, borders and edges are numerous and are all excellent. The information concerning alternative methods for knitting shetland shawls, stoles and scarves is great. The projects included are beautiful(!). This book is really exceptional...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on a dying craft!, 3 May 2009
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
I got this book directly from the author! I can't recomment it highly enough. There is is bit of history to lace knitting and guidlines to get you started. Although the patterns are presented as charts, once you get the hang of it, it is straightforward. I managed to knit a shawl in 1ply cobweb yarn. It took many months and was a real challenge but worth it. Some projects are much easier and I have attempted some in different yarn weights including Aran. The effects are amazing.
It is worthy of any expereinced crafters bookshelf and even for beginners who want to move onto something a little more complex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heirloom knitting, 21 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
This is the best book I have bought on lace knitting, just beating Victorian Lace Today, but only just, and that is because most of its charts are large enough to read without having to enlarge them. This is the first time I have been able to get to grips with using a chart and this has made me willing to try them elsewhere.

Whilst Victorian Lace today has lots of designs all worked out for you, Heirloom Knitting as well as having a few of those also has a lot of patterns for centres, edgings, and borders for shetland lace shawls that you can use in designs of your own, in fact there is a section on design in the book.

There is also a how to section at the beginning about the things you need to know to get started. The book is more suited to someone who can knit as it is really a collection of shetland lace knitting patterns, but the author has a grading system on the patterns, which may prove helpful to less experienced knitters.

I am at present knitting a stole using an outer lace pattern from Victorian Lace Today with a pattern from Heirloom Knitting as its centre and can't wait to finish it and see it after blocking, the yarn I am using is 70% baby alpaca 20% silk and 10% cashmere from Fyberspates as I thought these patterns deserved a beautiful yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best knitting book in my library, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
Being a keen knitter, I'm often disappointed by knitting books. So many knitting books and magazines seem to be more focused on looking pretty than being helpful. They seem full of inspiring ideas but there instructions are unclear and mistakes are alarmingly common. This book isn't full of large, glossy coloured photos but the designs are impeccable. The charts are clear and easy to follow, the advice is actually useful and I've never found myself confused. The patterns range from relatively simple to gloriously intricate. There's also great advice on how to adapt your own patterns or to make subtle changes to suit your own tastes - as a creative person I really appreciate the versatility this allows me.

I expect many many hours of productive enjoyment.

A couple of pieces of advice for people who do purchase it:
1) Practicing the more complicated patterns before embarking on big projects will save time and tears. I learnt this the hard way. Once I became familiar enough to "read" the knitting I was doing I made far fewer mistakes and spotted it more quickly when I did. Before this I often wouldn't spot a mistake until 4 rows later and would have to undo 30 minutes of work to correct it.
2) If, like me, you prefer stocking stitch to garter stitch as the base pattern you can you less flexible yarn like cotton to compensate for the fragility of delicate lace knitting (i.e. garter is sturdier than stst but cotton is sturdier than wool).

Happy knitting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in life., 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
This is a most useful book if you are interested in lace or are already a lace knitter. This book by Sharon Miller is both a Stitchonary, a history lesson, a treat for the eyes and a pattern book. As an expert knitter of all things lace i have found this book a valuable resource and highly recommend it to anyone thinking about trying to make lace.
It includes advice on "how to" and details how a piece is knitted. Although the book is intended for someone who already can knit, even a novice new to knitting would manage to make something. The patterns include lace baby jackets, shawls and handkerchief edgings. But the real value is the wealth of edgings, all overs and advice give in pattern form. This book really is worth the money, and i believe that no lace knitter should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heirloom Knitting, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
I found it an interesting beautiful book and well written easy to understand.........but i must admit when i first got it flipped through pages...which you would but THEN wanted to go right to the beginning and not miss a thing....BRILLANT.....and good price through AMAZON.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heirloom Knitting (Paperback)
Brilliant book for anybody who loves lace and has some knitting experience. All the patterns are charted, the photos are beautiful, the explanations perfect and there is a whole section on designing your own shawl. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heirloom Knitting
Heirloom Knitting by Sharon Miller (Paperback - 18 May 2002)
Used & New from: £292.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews