Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a Jedi at poi in to time with this fabulous book, 3 Jun 2003
By 
guy k bellingham (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
Quite simply, this book does exactly what it says on the tin.
Its an encycolpaedia of poi tricks and tips covering everything from starting out to putting together proffessional routines.
The drawings are easy to learn from and the authors expertise in both knowledge of moves and how to teach really shines through.
It is both entertaining and informative and is a pleasure to learn from!
It simply is the poi swingers bible, no one who is interested in poi should be without this book.
I can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to poi spinning, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
I bought a copy of this fantastic book when I first began to learn the basics of poi spinning. With it, I went from a malcoordinated tangled mess to impressing friends and random passers spinning fire around my head within a matter of weeks.
The book covers a huge range of moves and tricks, each of which are explained clearly and concisely with a number of step-by-step instructions accompanied by detailed pictures of each stage. The book's scope isn't just limited to tricks either, it also covers choreography, fire spinning, style and best of all, ways to avoid hitting yourself.
Anyone who has an interest in poi spinning should get a copy of this book. Whether you're just starting out or having been spinning for years, there's something here for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zero to Hero in a matter of hours!, 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
This is quite simply THE must have bible of poi spinning. In just a few days my repertoire of tricks and turns went through the roof. This book is written by someone with a lot of skill and a great teaching method. Packed with diagrams, it really does make poi spinning the amazing art it is for anyone who reads it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and only poi spinning book you need!, 11 Oct 2005
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book about a year ago when I was stuck for inspiration and I haven't looked back since. I advise everyone I help with learning poi to buy the book, as it really is the best advice you can get.
This book has taken me all the way from beginner to advance level, and is still useful to refer to even now. It contains the best advice of all, and that is to not become learning move after move orientated, but to practice moving/dancing with the poi, and practicing your transisions and planes.
It breaks each move down into very easy steps, that everyone can understand, including the absolute beginner, and places them with clear diagrams, showing where each poi should be in relation to your body.
This is an incredably accesable book, and essential on every poi-spinners shelf. It is very useful to have if you teach poi to others as you can learn how to explain the breakdown of moves from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POI spinning wonder!, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
A marvelous book for begginers as well as advaced level poisters! I've learnt many new moves from this book with its EASY TO UNDERSTAND illustrations and instructions!
It's divided into 3 main sections - beginners, intermediate and advanced and also covers alot of dos and don't with handy tips on creating your own unique moves and choreography.
Just pick up your Poi, grab this book and you'll be enjoying the wonders of poi in no time! really! If I can understand it - anyone can!
definitely a must get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POI SPINNING, 23 April 2003
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
This book is simply amazing, really useful for both beginners as well as advanced poisters! It's VERY easy to follow as there are simple 'easy to understand' illustrations.
The book is divided into 3 sections - Begginers, Intermediate and Advanced. It also gives tips and ideas on creating new moves, choreography and many handy dos and don'ts.
I don't think you'll be able to find a better POI spinning book than this! Pick this book up - grab a pair of POI and you'll be enjoying poi spinning in no time at all! I got this book last month and have learnt many moves from it and it still amazes me!
Definitely a MUST GET!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 25 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
This book is great for beginners and intermediates.... I bought it for a freind who lives to far away to be able to get onto Michal Khans courses in London, and he's learning quick (its far easier than trying to explain how to do a trick over the phone!!) The illustrations are really clear, and you'll pick up new tricks very quickly.
Great Book :o) Go and buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ace book for beginners, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Miss Katie Fielding (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
This is great book for beginners to the world of poi especially if, like me, you don't have anyone to teach you new moves or technique. The book starts off with simple moves and correct technique, the explanations are clear and the diagrams are very helpful. It progresses on to more difficult moves and ways of linking them. The progression of the book feels natural and at no point did I feel that the next step was too difficult, although I did gain a few bruises along the way! I found it useful to stand in front of a large mirror when doing behind the back moves which the book doesn't mention, but that's my only gripe with it. The authors are amazing poisters and natural teachers, very well done. I can't recommend this book enough, every new poister should own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
Oh yeah. The bible. Get one. Easy to follow. If only the spinning was as quick to pick up....! Practise practise practise... Oh bum. Its raining. Back to breaking the house again then I guess.
Definitely get one of these if you are a beginner and dont know a proficient poi-er to help you. BIG help.
Happy poi-ing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simple instructions and easy to follow, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide (Paperback)
I started doing this a while ago but I picked it up again recently and I'm pleased to say I'm doing quite well going through the different tricks. It's worth spending some time getting used to the basics such as where your poi are when they are spinning as this will mean less body hitting later on. That was where I went wrong first time around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide
Poi Spinning: A Jam-packed Guide by Lucy Jane Batchelor (Paperback - 5 Dec 2002)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews