Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, Mystery, And Pure Bloody Terror, 3 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
It's back ! The inspirational guide to the finest low to medium grade rock climbs in the United Kingdom has had a revamp - new size, new design, hundreds of new colour photo's - and it's better than ever. This is not a 'pocket' guide book, but a perfect source of inspiration.

If you're a 'Rock God', with the adhesive skills of Spiderman, the pliability of Stretch Armstrong and an interest only in the ultimate in death-tempting mega routes then this book is probably not for you. If however you are more of a connoisseur of traditional mountaineering routes then this book is a must have. It contains 80+ routes of pure atmosphere, each loaded with history, and described in detail by the accompanying essays and photographs.

Ken Wilson, the Author hopes to inspire climbers to get out and "experience some real adventure ..." away from the "anodyne lower grade bolt clipping ..." Adventure is the key word here. Whilst the grades may suggest that the climbs are 'easy', they should not be taken lightly - particularly if your climbing experience is limited to Sports, or Indoor wall climbing. If you want to experience the best of traditional rock climbing then you should visit Amazon, buy the book, be inspired, get climbing and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock 2007, 1 Jun. 2009
By 
J. M. Buckley "Paddy Buckley" (Lancaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
Classic Rock was first published in 1978 by Granada and is now long out of print (and fetching high prices on the US market). Its 252 black & white illustrations have now been replaced by 383 new photos, mostly in full colour, brilliantly laid out to enhance the text of the original 55 contributed essays, describing 80 of the best rock climbs (up to Hard Severe)in Great Britain. The format of the new edition is even larger and has increased in size from 256 pages to 296. Coffee tables are getting bigger and stronger. A delight from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 13 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
This is a great book, inspiring you to the furthest extremes of the country for memorable experience. Easy climbing - I'm not sure. Main Wall on a sunny Sunday, as good as climbing ever gets. Agags groove with it getting dark about as scary as I'll ever want. But all memorable, fantastic days in the hills, and ones I would never of had, and possibly a wife I would never have met, without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still an inspiration, 17 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
Finally bought a copy and what a great read. Fantastic history, great route descriptions and atmospheric pictures. We are now steadily working through the climbs and each one has been an adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Classic Climbs, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
R. Clapham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
My 1978 edition is well thumbed, so I thought it was time for me to get the new one. Still a brilliant book, and now brought up to date. It never fails to get me excited before a trip out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much a 'Classic' as the clmbs it contains...This book has no peers., 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
From a guy who has been climbing since 1980.

Rock climbing in the UK has evolved over the last 30 years to encompass indoor walls, bouldering and sports climbing...all separate disciplines of the basic gravity defying movements.
Many climbers fast track from indoor to outdoor without ever contemplating the history or simple guile of the climbers who went before...lest we forget.
This book lays out a path of testimony to several generations of pioneers and adventurers who did the ground work and laid the foundations of the modern sport. In most cases they did not have the luxury of modern safety equipment, dynamic ropes, sticky boots, guidebooks, mobile phones, gortex etc. If you think that because the routes in this book do not tally current E numbers, simply go retro. Buy a pair of big boots, a hemp rope, a tweed jacket, a few lengths of slings..take a rucksack full of food, head out to these routes and see what these people did... on par with the top climbers of today they created a sport of ultimate freedom, adventure, risk and achievement

Ken Wilson is now as much a part of these routes as the rock it's self.
This book has no peers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money., 28 Nov. 2012
By 
S. Duvivier (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
Great photographs and interesting text.
Excellent armchair climbers book.
Would have been nice to have had more of the old black and white pictures from the previous edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic collectors item!, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
Classic collectors item! A must have for any lover of climbing and the history of the sport / life style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
Brought as a present they liked it so they said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good!, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs (Hardcover)
A very well written & illustrated book. I liked it so much that I bought another copy for my climbing daughter!

Martin Ellwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs
Classic Rock: Great British Rock Climbs by Ken Wilson (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2007)
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews