Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid guide to breathtaking walk!
This is an absolute must-have for beginners and experienced hikers alike: the guide gives detailed and sufficient information on what to expect on this splendid walk, but does not go into irrelevant issues. The directions are easy to follow, even for the less experienced hikers amongst us. The summary at the beginning of the book provides a clear overview of what to find...
Published on 10 Sep 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for background info and planning, map not great
This book has some great background on geology and history, and very useful planning information (such as what services are available where). Unfortunately the map lets it down - it is not very detailed and sometimes sacrifices accuracy for appearance - on several occasions we expected a campsite to come up a couple hours before it did because some landmark or campsite...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid guide to breathtaking walk!, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This is an absolute must-have for beginners and experienced hikers alike: the guide gives detailed and sufficient information on what to expect on this splendid walk, but does not go into irrelevant issues. The directions are easy to follow, even for the less experienced hikers amongst us. The summary at the beginning of the book provides a clear overview of what to find and where. It tells you how to prepare, and gives practical intelligence on the route itself, starting each day with a summary of the distance, terrain, grade, where to find food and drink and possible side-trips. The book's format is designed to make it easy to use while walking, as the paper is entirely water- and food-proof, and the spiral binding means no pages falling out nor indecipherable road names due to folding. There is a map on the first page that shows an overview of the route day-by-day, telling exactly where to find the detailed information on the bit you're looking for. The last page is a very detailed map, in one piece, so you won't have to have to fiddle around trying to see which road on one map continues where on the next. The background information on the route is smartly brought under in separate sections so you don't have to skip whole pieces while trying to find your way, but can easily look information up when you're ready for it. The habitats and wildlife section is great! For West Highland Wayfarers, this guide is essential, and the beautiful pictures make it a precious souvenir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a little gem, 21 Jun 2012
This review is from: The West Highland Way (Rucksack Readers) (Spiral-bound)
An extremely comprehensive and practical guide - its small size, ringbound format and drop-down maps make it very easy to use whilst walking. Pleasing design integrates text with photographs, but never at the expense of legibility. An immense amount of well-organized information, covering all aspects of the West Highland Way, has been concisely fitted into its small dimensions. The drop-down maps were undamaged by my test of 10 minutes continuous exposure to rain, so I would be very confident using them in wet conditions. I really like this well-considered and thoughtfully designed guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 May 2009
By 
M. Armstrong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great information, helped me on my great walk on the west high land way. thanks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for background info and planning, map not great, 10 Oct 2008
This book has some great background on geology and history, and very useful planning information (such as what services are available where). Unfortunately the map lets it down - it is not very detailed and sometimes sacrifices accuracy for appearance - on several occasions we expected a campsite to come up a couple hours before it did because some landmark or campsite logo was a positioned a mile or two out. That said this is a small criticism, the map is only intended to be indicative - there is never any doubt about navigation as the Way is so well signposted. If I did it again I'd also buy a proper map to help with working out where you are and what time you'll arrive etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and practical guide, 11 Nov 2001
The Rucksack Reader format is extremely practical, concise and clear, and the waterproof paper essential for walking in the unpredictable Scottish climate!
The text is easy to read and the photographs are beautiful.
I would recommend this book to anyone either walking the Way in full or enjoying it piecemeal as a Sunday ramble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Accessible Guide, 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: The West Highland Way (Rucksack Readers) (Spiral-bound)
I've used this book several times, walking different parts of the Way in recent years and have found it consistently practical and helpful. The waterproof design has kept it in good shape which means I can now share it with some relatively inexperienced younger walkers. I feel confident that the step by step sections will ensure they reach each destination without getting lost. For them, the 'notes for novices' section is particularly welcome (my parental advice might not be taken so seriously) and the sections on history, habitats and wildlife etc. offer accessible and interesting bite-sized information to help them make the most of the experience. Hopefully, one might add another review on his/her return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of West Highland Way, 5 Jun 2003
By 
Ian Birkett (Gateshead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently purchased a copy of the second edition West Highland Way to replace a loaned copy of the first edition. The first thing noticed is how much better the appearance of the second edition is. It has a hard wearing, glossy look and feel. (Although both editions are waterproof, the second looks as though it could stand a good soaking without coming to any harm).
Although many of the photographs from the first edition have been used again in the second, the overall layout and presentation feels more professional. The text has also been given a good overhaul and updated where appropriate, and even has limited information on the first stage of the Great Glen Way, should you feel inclined to continue walking from Fort William.
Possibly the biggest single change that will appeal to European purchasers is that all distances are now shown in miles AND kilometres.
There is now a lot more contact details and web site addresses of other organisations who can help you plan and book your walk.
Overall, I thought it would be difficult to improve on the existing edition. The second however has manged to do just this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take the weight out of walking the Way, 7 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This book is ideal for information junkies like me. When walking the West Highland Way in the past I have been laden with substantial guides and voluminous maps. This spiral bound book with its ingenious drop down map will both guide you on your way as well as providing fascinating tidbits of information on history, geology and wildlife.
Dont be put off by the rather lurid cover photograph which looks more like the Sahara than the Highlands. Inside there are plenty more illustrating the wonders of this exhilarating walk throughout the year.
If you're thinking of walking the Way this book provides a most practical companion with its waterproof pages as well as an attractive souvenir. It's clear and well written and as the name of the series suggests - fits neatly into your rucksac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars up to date, 12 Jan 2004
By 
D Chippendale (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Have recently done whw using this guide.
Book is tough enough to survive 8 days in rucksack.
Information is acurate and up to date, but would suggest new walkers check amount of up and down on each leg.
Some days are more strenuous than they appear from the guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in some ways. Bad in others, 13 Aug 2003
While this book is pretty good for a basic map and gives a lot of information about certain things (luggage couriers, highly detailed [albeit mostly unnecessary] guide to the walking) it is woefully inadequate in other respects. For example there is very little to suggest any difference between Kinlochleven and Altna Feadh. On the map they are marked identically and there is no text on either. Kinlochleven is a relatively large town with multiple YHs, pubs, a chip shop etc. Altna Feadh is a car park.
We went and ended up doing little sections here and there and for this the book was next to useless. If you stick rigidly to your plan and stop at places that are detailed in the book you will be fine.
Having said that I have no idea what the other guidebooks are like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The West Highland Way (Rucksack Readers)
The West Highland Way (Rucksack Readers) by Jacquetta Megarry (Spiral-bound - 14 Feb 2011)
7.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews