Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!
Lovely collection of 34 Sweets and toffee recipes.

Acid Drops
Angus Toffee
Barley Sugar
Bonfire Toffee
Brechin Tablet
Bulls-eyes
Butterscotch
Caramels
Chocolate Caramels
Chocolate Nut Fudge
Chocolate Rum Truffles
Cinder Toffee
Claggum
Coconut Ice
Creamy Vanilla Fudge
Edinburgh Rock...
Published on 12 Oct. 2009 by Carol-Ann Hodgson

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing instructions
I just tried to make the nougat from this book and it went completely wrong. I put this down to part of the recipe being missing. I've since looked for other nougat recipes on-line and they all say to beat the egg whites, which the recipe in this book mentions nothing about. Another complaint about this book is that the instructions in the recipes are not put out in...
Published on 20 Dec. 2009 by Ms. A. Hammond


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
Carol-Ann Hodgson (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
Lovely collection of 34 Sweets and toffee recipes.

Acid Drops
Angus Toffee
Barley Sugar
Bonfire Toffee
Brechin Tablet
Bulls-eyes
Butterscotch
Caramels
Chocolate Caramels
Chocolate Nut Fudge
Chocolate Rum Truffles
Cinder Toffee
Claggum
Coconut Ice
Creamy Vanilla Fudge
Edinburgh Rock
Everton Toffees
Glasgow Toffee
Honey Fudge
Humbugs
Golden Toffee
Kendal Mint Cake
Lollipops
Marshmallows
Mealie Candy
Nougat
Nut Brittle
Panocha
Peppermint Creams
Real Fruit Jellies
Scots Tablet
Sherbet
Toffee Apples
Turkish Delight

No photos of any finished dish, so not one for cooks that require photos for guidence/inspiration.

There are a few recipes in this book that are duplicated in others of this range, but overall a nice collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Simple, easy, traditional recipes, 6 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
What a gem of a little book. recipes for all the British classics in easy to follow format. Ingredients generally very easy to source, method suitable even if you don't have a thermometer, nice little intro to each recipe telling it's history.
A nice little book that is a great addition to any confectioners collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate nut fudge to die for!, 15 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
An excellent book full of some old-time favourites. The recipe for Chocolate Nut Fudge was so easy that my 11 year old niece was able to make it with minimal supervision. I have not tried all the recipes yet but if they are half as good as the fudge I'm in for some real treats!.. it is well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite sweets and toffee, 2 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
This book is great. Shame there are no pictures but I have tried several of the recipes so far and they have all worked quite well although i have lowered some of the boiling points for a more refined result i.e. chocolate caramels should be chewy i thought so I took them off at the soft ball instead of hard. All in all a good basis book as most of these kinds of sweets need practice and a personal touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet tooth, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. Amanda Russell "A.Russell" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
This is a lovely trational homemade sweets and toffee book, it has great family favourites in it and is very easy to follow with recipies and step by step intructions, I would recommend this book to anyone who has a sweet tooth or who likes to cook for someone who has! such a bargain price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Success, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Asquith "JoanA" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
Favourite Sweets and Toffees: Traditional Home-made Confectionery (Favourite recipes series) A delightful little book. Lovely pictures throughout but not of sweets. The recipes are easy to follow and ingredients easy to obtain. The ideal book to begin with and, whilst you could manage without one, a sugar thermometer makes things even easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Sweets and Toffees: Traditional Home-made Confectionery, 2 May 2010
By 
J. Walter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
Excellant purchase,well worth the money. There are some lovely old recipes and most are easy to do. Would definately recommend, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 31 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
This smaller than A5 size neat little book is brilliant! It doesn't have one single duff recipe, and there are 35 of them altogether; that's not bad going. It's tiny enough to tuck in your handbag when you go to the supermarket so you know what ingredients you want to buy, it has an easy to find recipe index at the front and a metric conversion chart at the back together with a full list of the entire series, and believe me, you'll need it because you'll be wanting to buy more of these. By the time I'd read to the end of this book I was grinning from ear to ear in anticipation of the fun I was going to have in the kitchen and then of course in the sharing and eating. My grand kids are going to love me. I personally wasn't bothered that there isn't a picture for each recipe, my childhood memories remain perfectly intact and I can see everything in my minds eye. This is an absolute 'MUST' for your cookery book collection and let's face it, for the price you really can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely old sweets and toffee, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
Love this! Recipes include Bulleyes sweets, Humbugs, sherbert and Scottish tablet which I love!

A cheap little addition to your cookery books which has loads of old-fashioned recipes!

great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant buy, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites) (Paperback)
This is a great buy for all those who like to make sweets and toffees, especially the old fashioned varieties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Favourite Sweets and Toffee Recipes: Traditional Home-Made Confectionery (Salmon Favourites)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews