Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!
Lovely collection of 34 biscuit recipes.

Abernathy Biscuits
Almond Shortbread Biscuits
Ayrshire Shortbread
Blackburn Cracknells
Bosworth Jumbles
Butter Drops
Buttermere Biscuits
Butterscotch Biscuits
Cheddar Cheese Straws
Chocolate Coconut Fingers
Coconut Cookies
Cornish Ginger Fairings
Cressing...
Published on 31 Dec. 2008 by Carol-Ann Hodgson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange little book
This book is rather small and a bit of a let down. It's very thin and pocket sized with only about a dozen recipes. You are probably better off surfing the net for biscuit recipes if you are after a collection of recipes. Save your money and look for your recipes elsewhere.
Published on 14 Mar. 2013 by B. G. Dore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!, 31 Dec. 2008
By 
Carol-Ann Hodgson (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
Lovely collection of 34 biscuit recipes.

Abernathy Biscuits
Almond Shortbread Biscuits
Ayrshire Shortbread
Blackburn Cracknells
Bosworth Jumbles
Butter Drops
Buttermere Biscuits
Butterscotch Biscuits
Cheddar Cheese Straws
Chocolate Coconut Fingers
Coconut Cookies
Cornish Ginger Fairings
Cressing Biscuits
Devon Clotted Cream Biscuits
Digestive Biscuits
Dorset Fair Gingerbreads
Easter Biscuits
Essex Shortcakes
Garibaldi Biscuits
Gingerbread Men
Honey Fruit Biscuits
Ladies Fingers
Lancashire Nuts
Oat Biscuits
Oaty Crumbles
Picnic Slices
Rout Biscuits
Shrewsbury Biscuits
Stanhope Firelighters
Suffolk Rusks
Uplands Biscuits
Wafers
Wakes Cakes
Wareham Bears

No photos of any finished dish, so not one for cooks that require photos for guidence/inspiration.

There are a few recipes in this book that are duplicated in others of this range, but overall a nice collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Biscuit Recipes, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
S. Baldwin "dragonsue" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
Since getting this book I have been slowly working my way through the recipes, much to the delight of my husband.
The recipes are basic, but tried and trusted, and work every time.
The book is small, so doesn't clutter up my bookshelf, and unlike a lot of cookbooks where you have just one recipe you go back to again and again, this is jam packed full of our favourites and is used on a very regular basis.
If you are new to home baking, or looking for some 'new to you recipes', I would recommend this book, as it is jam packed with traditional recipes. It's price won't break the bank, and the recipes will fill the cookie jar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bake your local biscuits, 10 Dec. 2009
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
I love these little recipe booklets with their illustrations not of food but of countryside views, mostly details of paintings and sketches by accomplished artists. This one has a Mill theme, with windmills and watermills showing how it was done long before the dreaded windfarms arrived. But of course the recipes are excellent too - thirty-four of them, including Abernethy Biscuits, Ayrshire Shortbread, Blackburn Cracknells, Bosworth Jumbles, Buttermere Biscuits, Cornish Ginger Fairings, Devon Clotted Cream Biscuits, Dorset Fair Gingerbreads, Essex Shortcakes, Lancashire Nuts, Shrewsbury Biscuits, Stanhope Firelighters, Suffolk Rusks, Wakes Cakes and Wareham Bears. The nice thing about biscuit-making is that you can bake a dozen or more within half an hour, using relatively few ingredients, and be guaranteed a delicious result which everyone seems to enjoy, judging by the speed at which they disappear. Because the booklets in these series are so neat and small they fit easily onto any kitchen shelf, making them very easy to use at short notice. The weights and measures are avoirdupois, but there is a metric conversion table inside the back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming little book, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
Biscuits are, in essence, a rather simple affair. A savoury snack, perhaps with a hint of sweetness according to taste, which in more recent times have began to be rather overcomplicated due to the infusion of decorating elements, flavours and fillings. Nothing wrong with that, of course, but sometimes one can hark back with fond memories to the more traditional, innocent air.
This little book is just one small part of rather large collection of charming little books at very affordable prices that manage to provide a wide range of recipes mixed up with a charming, retrospective look back to former times in England.
Traditional favourites whose name, if not their taste, may be familiar to people with an interest in matters English, include Devon clotted cream biscuits, butterscotch biscuits, ginger biscuits, shortbread and wafers are joined by more exotically named items such as Ladies Fingers, Stanhope Firelighters and Suffolk Rusks.
The recipes are simply written and easy to follow. No pictures to discover what the final result should look like, so you either have to be fairly confident about your abilities, not give a damn as long as they are tasty or do a Google search and see what you find. But I think adding colour pictures might somehow spoil these charming little books. And anyway, the cost of the ingredients is more than likely going to be higher than the cost of the book itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and satisfying, 17 Feb. 2012
By 
Doc Barbara (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
This attractive little book is one of a series all of which are very good value. I am a convert to the making of biscuits as they are quick to do: as soon as you have washed up after the cooking these delicious home-made treats are ready. They are so different from shop-bought and so varied. Most biscuits freeze successfully. I have made several of the ones in this booklet and all have been excellent. The names are a joy - send for a copy and enjoy reading and eating. Who could resist a Stanhope Firelighter?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely little book, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
Elliemay (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
This is a little gem of a book. Plenty of biscuit recipes and all so easy - just my type of cook book :).

The pictures are very quaint and the book is well worth the price.In fact, I am buying some more for my friends, I'm sure they will love the little book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Traditional Recipes From the Kitchen, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
L. Villa "book hog" (Southampton, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
I really appreciate these traditional recipes used by bakers from all over England. The very nice thing about them are they are not so very sweet and are fairly easy to make. The biscuits produced have great textures and flavor. They are not just for special occasions but for the everyday treat you indulge in with that cup of milk, coffee, or tea. I can honestly say that a few of these recipes will be part of giveaways to friends and neighbors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
Even though this book looks small, don't be deceived, its full of great recipes and ideas. Excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Biscuits -recipes good, but..., 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. D. V. Hatfield (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
There are some good recipes here, from the past. On the plus side the book is cheap, beautifully laid out, with lots of beautiful realist art pictures. The recipes on the whole are easy to follow and you will get a taste of foods that were enjoyed by earlier generations. Several issues to consider: measurements are imperial, and you will need to use your own instinct and experience to get the most out of this book as some of the guidance and measurements are a little vague and assume you know what you are doing (probably not the best book for a novice).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars baking, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback)
This product is exactly as discribed. It is easy to follow the instructions. Not big and cumbersome which for me is a bonus. Would recomend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Favourite Biscuit Recipes
Favourite Biscuit Recipes (Paperback - Dec. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews