Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative
It is difficult to come across good information on the roles of women in the Dark Ages but this book gives plenty for the reader to chew on.
It is a specialised work but as general books on history tend to concentrate on politics and warfare this fills in a lot of the gaps for "everyday life" and dispells some of the myths that women were voiceless chattels of the...
Published on 28 Oct. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Editing wasn't great. However, I hadn't heard of the unnamed English woman from Procopius' work.
Published 4 months ago by Alison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative, 28 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
It is difficult to come across good information on the roles of women in the Dark Ages but this book gives plenty for the reader to chew on.
It is a specialised work but as general books on history tend to concentrate on politics and warfare this fills in a lot of the gaps for "everyday life" and dispells some of the myths that women were voiceless chattels of the husbands or lords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars focus on anglo saxon women, 23 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
i found this booklet invaluable for helping to flesh out the bones of anglo saxon women. i wish it were longer. it is a good read, well structured and accessible. kathleen herbert throws light upon the women of the dark ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and scholarly: a rare mix!, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Kevin P. Futers "Who's afraid of the Bill... (Northumbria, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
I read this in an afternoon and found it to be full of excellent case studies and well argued cases. There are footnotes and references throughout, as you would expect from an academic paper, but the tone and the flow of the text is engaging and the author's opinions are well expressed. The sample is rather selective and all of the women selected are positive role-models and are not necessarily exemplars of the two archetypes she has chosen to focus on.

I think a critique of the women in Anglo-Saxon literature might have been instructive; comparing historical examples to the models of the archetypes of the Good Queen and the Bad Queen, which are equally male viewpoints on what a woman should and should not do. The women whose lives she chronicles would then be seen against the light of expectation.

I would also like to think that a discussion of Women in Early English Society would also have covered what is shown from archaeology - how significant are the rare finds of female burials with partly male grave-goods? If this paper was presented together with a critique of the archaeological record on the same topic, it would have a good deal more value, especially if the two were followed by a strong conclusion of how the two different sources of evidence support / contrast each other.

I did very much enjoy the introduction which looked at the terminology for men and women in Old English; that the word "man" was not specifically male and that the English had a range of other words to use if distinction was required. To some extent English still uses this broad sense of the word man, especially in religion: I am sure none of the women who make up the majority of the congregation at my church feel that they are being excluded when the Creed says "for us men and for our salvation, He came down from heaven." Yet we get hung up on the word chairman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Women in history, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
J. A. Cockayne "Jennifer" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
I must admit, I could not put this book down. It is well written and tells the stories of great Englishwomen of the past. Contrary to the Romans and later English (post 1066), Women were respected by their menfolk and treated as people rather than decorative possessions. The Church has tried to infer that women did not exist in the medieval times, rarely mentioning their names, yet this book brings out their strength of character. A must read for those with interest in a balanced history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 18 Oct. 2008
By 
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
This is a fairly slim booklet, yet packed full of interesting stories and anecdotes about our Saxon ancestresses. I read this on a train trip down to London, and found myself wanting to do further research into the stories mentioned in the book. I particularly liked how the author does not over romanticise the stories or the women features in them, leaving the reader to draw her own conclusions from the tales.

Highly recommended for anyone studying the Saxons, or anyone studying women in history, myth or legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating little book, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
Easy to read in a few hours or a single sitting, but a mine of useful information about women in Anglo Saxon society, with some unexpected gems- like the origins of the word hloefdige- which was later used to refer to an extraordinary woman- Ethelflead 'Lady of the Mercians', She gets a lot of attention (well six or seven pages in a book this length does count as rather a lot). A worthwhile read about the role, rights and expectations of women in a fascinating period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read work for all interested in the Anglo-Saxon period, 26 April 2014
By 
Damon Lord (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
This is a short book, but do not let that put you off buying this. I read this in one sitting, and learned more from this extremely profound yet concise work than from a lot of other, larger, more general books focusing on the period. Full of examples, particularly highlighting the life and deeds of Aethelflaed of Mercia, I heartily recommend it as part of any English historian's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it., 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
For anyone interested in the subject of women in early English society this is a good read. I would recommend it, but not just as a bit of light reading, although it is quite thin I found it took me several attempts to finish the book as the style of writing wasn't the easiest to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
A really good read. I couldn't put it down. Well researched with a good bibliography and further reading. A great starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Alison (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society (Paperback)
Editing wasn't great. However, I hadn't heard of the unnamed English woman from Procopius' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society
Peace-Weavers and Shield-Maidens: Women in Early English Society by Kathleen Herbert (Paperback - Dec. 1997)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews