Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Book, 20 Feb. 2003
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
This book is very good for beginners who maybe starting a course in couselling. It teaches basic concepts and skills using a down to earth common sense approach. I found this book very useful prior to commencing my diploma course in professional counselling. Even if you are not planning on taking a course it is also helpful in developing listening skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to counselling, 21 May 2006
By 
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
I read this book by the late Pete Sanders while on an introductory counselling course. It is comprehensive and very easy to understand. It covers the basics of what you need to consider for an introduction to counselling. I particularly like the way the text explicitly poses questions and encourages readers to explore all the issues for themselves.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic excellent awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!love it buy it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 May 2008
By 
Melo-d (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
I have just started an introductory course in counselling and bought this book to underpin the course content. Well I think the author is amazing and the values that he presents in the book are the kind that I aspire to . The book can be read and should be read by anyone particularly those on counselling courses. If anyone reads this book and doesn't connect with it with regard to counselling I would question if they really have what it takes to pursue a counselling role. We are after all living in a multicultural world. This book is modern with a modern outlook, if only the author was still counselling and teaching!!!!! he has singlehandedly made me want to pursue counselling training further and get involved particularly if you get to meet people with the kind of values that he talks about. An Excellent forward thinking book with right on views. This is just the sort of thing we ought to be embracing in 2008. Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!10 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter book, 30 Nov. 2006
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
I found this very useful as a starting point. Easy to locate information and good brief summaries on the different models used. Also written in a style very easy to follow - not at all patronising. It gives good clear explanations too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pete Sanders First Steps in Counselling, 1 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
Fantastic in depth book, but written so basically that anyone can understand the first steps of counselling. I have been using it in conjunction with a college course and have found it highly useful. Like the many references to songs and quotations. Pete Sanders obviously a good sound round guy who understands the need of counselling and straight talking plain English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction, 14 Jun. 2009
By 
G. Hunter "Bank Man" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
As I am starting college soon on a Counselling course I wanted a book to start me off with some studying and this was the one, a good choice..
Ordering was easy and delivery well within the specified dates.First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Steps in Counselling, 26 Feb. 2009
By 
Kelly T. O'shea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those who are on an introductory course in Counselling. It provides you with the basic you need, and shows you how to take your career forward.
My boks was delivered very fast, as always! And is EXCELLENT value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first steps...., 14 Sept. 2004
By 
B. Skilling "briza30" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
I must congratulate the author of this book,
I've been a Police Officer for 13 years now,why couldn't I have this bloke as my sole buddy...hope my new change of career reflects his ambition to describe such a vast and complex world in which we live and how we should confront it...brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivers what it promises, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
R. N. Woolley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
This book does exactly what it says it does. As the subtitle puts it, it is a student's companion for basic introductory courses. So it is simple and understandable, but doesn't go deep, get complicated or have much on skills. It is very good on what counselling is and isn't, the origins of different approaches to counselling, and the different contexts in which it may be practised. It is a good sketch map of the territory, but you will want some detailed maps for particular areas as well. Because it is "basic", you are likely to keep coming back to it and find it useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so stuffy, 23 July 2008
This review is from: First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses (Paperback)
I really have a problem with author's who can't see past the tip of their nose, Pete Saunders I believe *can.* A lot of material is very clearly covered - gaining insight bilaterally into the potential of 'counselling' as a career or 'helper.' *Very* good explanations and comparisons of varying psycho-analytic methods.

Oh I so resent Freud for being so stuffy....(Tho there are 'glory moments' in Pete Saunders book, I suppose he's allowed...) ;o)
Very good on the whole, easy to read, thorough explanations and guidance in MANY areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Steps in Counselling: A Students' Companion for Basic Introductory Courses
Used & New from: £4.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews