Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-organised, clear text, yummy recipes
The book is divided into 6 sections: large cakes and loaves, small cakes, biscuits, tray bakes, no-bake cakes and savoury baking - making it easy to find exactly what you are looking for. Recipes are easy to follow and well laid out. Vegan versions of all your favourites are there eg muffins, malt loaf, shortbread, flapjacks, but there's also a multitude of inspiring,...
Published on 20 Mar 2001

versus
7 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check that fat!
The most common ingredient in this book is "vegan margarine", and all the recipes give you a product which is uncomfortably high in fat.

In addition, you need to check your fat very carefully. Most margarines, including margarines made entirely from vegetable oil, contain partly hydrogenated oils. That's trans fat, the very last thing you should be eating.
Published on 15 Nov 2007 by P. S. Braterman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-organised, clear text, yummy recipes, 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) (Paperback)
The book is divided into 6 sections: large cakes and loaves, small cakes, biscuits, tray bakes, no-bake cakes and savoury baking - making it easy to find exactly what you are looking for. Recipes are easy to follow and well laid out. Vegan versions of all your favourites are there eg muffins, malt loaf, shortbread, flapjacks, but there's also a multitude of inspiring, unusual recipes too eg parsnip and banana slice or orange, alfalfa and cardomon cookies. The recipes I have tried turned out perfectly first time. You'll find something in this book that you'll love even if you're not a vegan - there's nothing in this book that I don't fancy making. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) (Paperback)
Great recipe book i bought this for my partner who's vegan . But the recipes are so nice i eat them too . Although a lot of Vegas margerin is used so don't count the calories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems really good, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) (Paperback)
I've only made one cake from it so far, but I like the recipes, the ingredients used are not too weird, and it's an appealing, pragmatic book (without coffee table appeal, no photos, but I didn't want or expect that). As a UK-centric book, the ingredients are given in mg and we don't need those US-centric measuring cups, so ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) (Paperback)
1) All the recipes have clearly been tested and tasted, and they are totally superb.
2) As per the title, this is a book on baking, with cakes etc, it's not a low fat cookbook, and i firmly believe that a little of what a vegan fancies does them good, so if you are having a cake, you want a good one! and this book helps you deliver the goods.
3) Yes the cover is not the best, and the book cheaply produced, but it's the recipes that make a good book, not a lot of fluffy images and recipes that do not work. This lady knows what she is talking about.
4) Go for it, it's a great vegan baking book! Every chef i have employed found this to be a fantastic publication, and having also used it to bake from myself, i can also say, its good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice recipes, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Eileen E (North Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) (Paperback)
I really enjoy using this book. The recipes are easy to follow using ingredients that are easy to find. A clearly written cook book that any Vegan could use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check that fat!, 15 Nov 2007
By 
P. S. Braterman "Chemistry Professor" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) (Paperback)
The most common ingredient in this book is "vegan margarine", and all the recipes give you a product which is uncomfortably high in fat.

In addition, you need to check your fat very carefully. Most margarines, including margarines made entirely from vegetable oil, contain partly hydrogenated oils. That's trans fat, the very last thing you should be eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook)
Vegan Baking (Vegan Cookbook) by Linda Majzlik (Paperback - 21 Sep 2000)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews