Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential book of pottery identification
Unless you're an expert, identifying pottery finds in archaeology can be very difficult indeed, once you get beyond four or five basic types. I bought this book because I was having trouble identifying some finds without expert help, and I must say it's been useful. There is no internet resource that has enough information and pictures to enable proper identification, and...
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by D. M. Farmbrough

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful to an extent
As an archaeologist, I found this book quite useful for aiding the general identification of the most common forms of Roman and Medieval pottery and it does make references to some regional wares as well. However, the major disadvantage is that although it has some, there are nowhere near enough colour photographs of the fabric of the pottery to make it reliable for the...
Published on 5 July 2009 by Queen of the mud


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential book of pottery identification, 28 Jan 2010
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
Unless you're an expert, identifying pottery finds in archaeology can be very difficult indeed, once you get beyond four or five basic types. I bought this book because I was having trouble identifying some finds without expert help, and I must say it's been useful. There is no internet resource that has enough information and pictures to enable proper identification, and no currently published book has enough information. The book is well-written, excellently photographed, and fits my needs perfectly.

I do not know whether professional archaeologists would need such a book, but it is very good for amateurs and local historical societies who need to know why that piece of pottery found in the churchyard is glazed only on one side, or where that shard with the green glaze can have originate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful to an extent, 5 July 2009
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
As an archaeologist, I found this book quite useful for aiding the general identification of the most common forms of Roman and Medieval pottery and it does make references to some regional wares as well. However, the major disadvantage is that although it has some, there are nowhere near enough colour photographs of the fabric of the pottery to make it reliable for the non expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book for beginners only., 18 Nov 2008
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
I found this book a bit basic. There are too many sketches and nowhere enough decent photos of actual sherds, especially from the Prehistoric period that I'm most interested in. Little discussion of the different types and fabrics - the puzzle of grass tempered ware for instance is skated right over. Alex Gibsons book - "Prehistoric Pottery of Britain and Ireland" - that I also bought is much more satisfying (and cheaper too!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable book to own, 11 Jun 2008
By 
P. Hallett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
For me, this book has been invaluable and has helped me to identify several sherds I have found over the years. Its well illustrated and the author is obviously very knowledgeable on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to Pottery in Britain, 26 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
This is a great book for the amateur and professional enthusiast. The illustrations and photographs are an excellent source of reference, and the author clearly shows their passion through historical references and contexts. This book takes you through the history and method of pottery making over a 6000 year period, and helps you to identify you pottery 'finds'. I have been looking for a book like this for a long time and highly recommend it to all with the habit of looking at the ground and wondering how old is that bit of muddy pot and who might have used it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds, 22 Oct 2007
By 
G. Brisdion - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
Somewhat disappointed with this book. I was hoping for more of a reference material but found it shallow and lacking in detail. Also a number of the photographs were slightly out of focus. Definately not a book for a serious student or field worker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars garden bits, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
This makes a good, readable read if you're into pot sherds. I found tons in my garden but this book just didn't give enough information to be able to identify much. In the end i still had to go to an expert at the portable antiquities scheme to have it identified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. D. Grey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
It's difficult to find practical reference books on this subject so this one is very welcome. Good illustrations and very readable explanations of the types of pottery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
Very informative for the novice. The information is at the right level for the non professional and the illustrations are most helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Book, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds (Paperback)
The Book is OK but a little basic for one who is involved with Archaeology and Finds research and management
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds
Pottery in Britain 4000BC to AD1900: A Guide to Identifying Potsherds by Jennifer Laing (Paperback - 18 April 2003)
12.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews