Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on using eBay
This is by far the best book on eBay I've come across. I've been using eBay for some time and thought I knew everything, but this book is a mine of useful tips. The "Frauds, scams, deadbest bidders and vigilantes" chapter is especially good.
The book is not at all dry or academic. The author obviously has been using eBay for years and is not afraid to explain all the...
Published on 28 Jun. 2004 by Keith Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The eBay Book is good for absolute beginner
This book is very informative and offers some good tips and advice, particularly about PayPal. The only negative I can give is that the book has very few diagrams of what to look out for. I think books of this nature should have plenty of pictures to aid the novice, this book sadly didn't.
Published on 1 Dec. 2010 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on using eBay, 28 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
This is by far the best book on eBay I've come across. I've been using eBay for some time and thought I knew everything, but this book is a mine of useful tips. The "Frauds, scams, deadbest bidders and vigilantes" chapter is especially good.
The book is not at all dry or academic. The author obviously has been using eBay for years and is not afraid to explain all the mistakes he's made in the past. Every mistake he made is examined in the book with an analysis of what he did wrong. I liked this approach, as it brought the whole thing alive.
I am recommending this book to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most informative book I have seen in a long time, 18 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
As an eBay seller I bought this book (from eBay, sorry Amazon!) for a silver surfer relative who wanted to understand how to use eBay. As a seller I have managed pretty well so far but I have to say I haven't been able to put the book down - and this is coming from some-one who doesn't normally read! The book is written in a clear, concise and logical way and I have already found out things I never knew. Yes, as another reviewer pointed out, a lot of the information can be found on the eBay help pages but why trawl around for ages to find the answer to a question that can be found in this book almost instantly.
I was extremely impressed at how up-to-date the information is, in particular that relating to PayPal surcharging which a great deal of sellers either don't, or choose not to, know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written and entertaining user's manual for UK eBayers, 1 July 2004
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
I bought this book because among all the eBay titles it's the only one which is written by a UK author and which uses home-grown case studies. He covers the basics of eBay exceptionally well, with plenty of real-life examples, and personally I found it a lot easier learning the tricks of the trade from a book than randomly jumping around eBay's help pages.
In terms of who the book is aimed at - I'd say it is useful either for beginners, or for those who so far have only used eBay occasionally as a hobby and who want to take it to the next level. What you realise, as you work through Belban's examples, is that there is more to successful buying and selling than just biddng and listing. If you understand better how eBay works, you will get more out of it, and that's what this book has done for me.
All in all, I was very satisfied that I'd got useful information and advice at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful introduction to eBay, 19 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
Very helpful introduction to getting the most out of eBay, particularly from a UK viewpoint (tax implications etc).
The advice is clearly laid out and sensible in helping to avoid some of the pitfalls, such as frauds, scams etc.
The importance of using the feedback system wisely & how it works is explained well in part 2.
The author relates a lot of his own experiences & lessons learnt from using eBay.
The appendices include information on eBay's fees & surcharge policy, which should obviously be reviewed online.
Overall very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to eBay? You need this book, 2 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
I am new to eBay and found David Belbin's book to be outstanding. What more do you need than information which is comprehensive, concise, accurate and up to date? Unlike most books on the subject it is aimed at the UK user. Anyone who looks at eBay for the first time - even if an experienced computer user - and is daunted by what they find there will be helped and given confidence by this book. It has saved me hours and has quickly become my standard easy-to-access answers-to- everything reference. I am well on the way to eBay heaven. Brilliant. Thanks David Belbin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good explanation of online auctions, 30 July 2004
By 
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
eBay seems pretty easy to use when you first look at it, and I had sold a few items before buying this book. But what you realise when you read it is that there are loads of features and special rules which you might never come across if you relied on learning "on the job". For instance, I didn't realise that adding a second category to your item doubles the listing fees.
The author doesn't get heavily into things like hacking eBay, so if you want really detailed stuff like that you'd need to find something else, but for ordinary people who can cope with a little bit of technical detail but who really just want to master some sensible rules, it hits the spot. The best proof of that it that my copy has been nicked by my brother and he won't let me have it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read., 9 Mar. 2005
By 
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
This book will aid you from start to finish setting up, buying and selling on ebay. However, if you are already a member and are getting through the process alright, you should ignore this book.
This is effictevley 'eBay for dummies' but real dummies.
Sure it goes into great detail about fees and pricing, which some people may be vaguley interested in but theres nothing in this book that you can't find on the website itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last one for the UK, 3 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
I have noticed that there are lots of books about eBay floating around, but they are all american. At last some one has had the sense to do a UK based book.
It is full of great stuff and will help anyone to buy or sell on eBay. Well written and presented - it is better than most that have flooded the market recently, what makes it great is that its british!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars e Bay for UK, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
D. Brothwood (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
A great little book, I thought this well written book explained the whole ebay process in simple terms, and an added bonus was written for the UK market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The eBay Book is good for absolute beginner, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
Mike (The Front Room) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk (Paperback)
This book is very informative and offers some good tips and advice, particularly about PayPal. The only negative I can give is that the book has very few diagrams of what to look out for. I think books of this nature should have plenty of pictures to aid the novice, this book sadly didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The eBay Book: Essential tips for buying and selling on eBay.co.uk
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews