Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great...but getting old
This is THE book for stock market traders, but the crash of 2008 suddenly makes it look very old, having most of the examples from 2003 and 2004 doesn't help the book feel topical, even if the content is still generally relevant. I'd have given it five stars in 2006 or 2007, it's now down to four stars, and it'll be three stars in 2010 if it isn't refreshed. A classic...
Published on 11 Jan 2009 by Fergus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by it's cover
Referring to this book as a bible implies to everyone that this is something is essential and something everyone must own.
It isn't. This book is far too detailed and pretty useless and not worth knowing for 99% of the ordinary individuals who occasionally trade.
Published 9 months ago by D D Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great...but getting old, 11 Jan 2009
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
This is THE book for stock market traders, but the crash of 2008 suddenly makes it look very old, having most of the examples from 2003 and 2004 doesn't help the book feel topical, even if the content is still generally relevant. I'd have given it five stars in 2006 or 2007, it's now down to four stars, and it'll be three stars in 2010 if it isn't refreshed. A classic like this really deserves an update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No LSE trader should be without this ..., 25 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
Such a top book. I've had it since it was hot off the press in '05, and I came back to the Amazon site to see if there was a new edition out yet. I refer to it very regularly - and then always find myself spending more time reacquainting myself with other areas (like the Takeover process and his fantastic notes on arbing). I really hope that we do get an update soon though - a book like this dates quite quickly, and four years on it would be really useful to get some fresh material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to its name, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Colin Reed (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
A well conceived,well written serious work. This is a book that will tell you how the UK Equities market works >'97 when it was deregulated, and SETS was brought in. It is a manual to have close by. Claims from other reviewers that its outdated miss the point. It is only some of the stocks that are used as examples that are outdated. The underlying principles\mechanics of the UK Equity market explained here are unchanged. Kudos to Connelly for a serious work. Were all financial books this well researched and written. As a CFD trader using DMA I will keep this 'Bible' close by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by it's cover, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Referring to this book as a bible implies to everyone that this is something is essential and something everyone must own.
It isn't. This book is far too detailed and pretty useless and not worth knowing for 99% of the ordinary individuals who occasionally trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
definitely not for complete beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An education, well worth a read., 26 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. A. R. Rudge (UK. Midlands.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book because it explained the mechanics of the stock market and it's operators. It clearly demonstrated that it's not always best to deal on-line, but to phone your broker, something that has proved very useful to me.

This book also educated me in the ways of level 2 and in particular, the auction process on SETS. It also explained why i can't always get the price i want and the deals that can be done via your broker. A whole new world to me.

This book won't show you how to find the next 10 bagger or any go into stock selection at all, but it will teach you how the stock market works and some of the mistakes that are made, which can provide opportunities in their own right, IF you understand how it works.
I've read my copy many times and still reference it, i didn't find it outdated at all, it provided me with valuable education rather than vague nonsense, i'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
perfect quick delivery and great stocking filler for boyfriend for christmas. slightly outdated now but info for background is always a plus. easy and accessible for starter trader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
this is too long and really needs to get to the point rather than whittle on unnessarily, many thanks fdgr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Equity Trading book I've read, 11 July 2012
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
I am an equity and bond market professional. This is the best book I've read on how the UK equity market trades, accompanied by many BBERG screenshots and real examples. It's like sitting on the desk with the author for a day. Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tip top read, 9 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market (Paperback)
A trader that can read and write!
I found this book really useful, and very practical for anyone wishing to trade 'P.A.' . Good summary on how to short term traders hope to make money on newsflow...and why it doesn't always work. The bit on Lloyd's share price going from £8 to £2.90 also brought back some painful memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The UK Trader's Bible: The Complete Guide to Trading the UK Stock Market
£25.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews