Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No objections here..
The Ace Attorney series on the Nintendo DS has been a favourite of mine since the arrival of the first game, up there with the Zeldas and the Super Marios of this world. The sheer range of colourful characters is one of the many reasons why I regard the series so highly. For anyone who also loves these characters, this book is a must.

The cover has an embossed...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by Nick

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks a bit of depth
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:24 Mins
If you're owned other art books published by Udon Entertainment, you'll find the construction of this book similar. This time, the cover comes with a nice texture feel. Inside, it includes art from Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney and Apollo Justice: Ace Attorney.

In-game character art forms the bulk of the art and there are a few splash...
Published on 10 Feb 2010 by Parka


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks a bit of depth, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
Length:: 0:24 Mins

If you're owned other art books published by Udon Entertainment, you'll find the construction of this book similar. This time, the cover comes with a nice texture feel. Inside, it includes art from Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney and Apollo Justice: Ace Attorney.

In-game character art forms the bulk of the art and there are a few splash art pages. The cast of characters is huge and the variety of character design is really good. There are lots of character poses including a full body illustration. The expressions are lots of fun.

The art is typical manga style but you already know that from the game. I thought the art from Apollo Justice is slightly better, the line work is more confident, quality more consistent with top manga character designers. Maybe that's what they call improvement over time.

Absent from the book are the concept sketches. There are barely any, except for the few from Apollo Justice. Commentary from the designer Kuzuya Nuri can be found only on the few pages of splash art with the rest of the books with the characters just feature a single paragraph character description. As a result, the book lacks a bit of depth.

I would recommend this book for the fans only.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No objections here.., 23 Jan 2010
By 
Nick (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
The Ace Attorney series on the Nintendo DS has been a favourite of mine since the arrival of the first game, up there with the Zeldas and the Super Marios of this world. The sheer range of colourful characters is one of the many reasons why I regard the series so highly. For anyone who also loves these characters, this book is a must.

The cover has an embossed finish to it, with the main images and logos on the front and back being glossy; this impressed me from the very start and made me think of the time and care that has gone into the making of the book. Inside you see various full-page artwork used for promotional purposes and also images that were featured on the box and manual of the three Phoenix Wright titles. Apollo Justice fans shouldn't worry; the fourth installment (though the third to be released in Europe, oddly) is featured heavily towards the end of this 240 page book.

The section on specific characters takes up the bulk of the book, and rightly so. Each and every character has at least one full page to their name, though the more major characters can have up to 6. All of the character variations are given suitable airtime too (e.g. Young Edgeworth, Mia being channelled by Maya and Pearl). Most of the characters' animations are shown here, and you can really get a feel for the expressiveness and personality of these creations. A personal favourite is Maya's angry face :)

There are short descriptions for each character, and also some insight into the creation of selected pieces of artwork by the character designer Kazuya Nuri. The print quality throughout is excellent, the character designs bursting with colour and making me want to take out each page and use them as posters (this would ruin the book, unfortunately).

I cannot recommend this book enough. For anyone who is interested in the Ace Attorney series, or even just character-based contemporary art, it is an excellent, beautifully-crafted read that deserves your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
I've only taken it out of the box about 3 times, it's so gorgeous and one of my favourite things I've ever bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a fan you should get this, 2 May 2012
By 
A. Ward (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
As a self-confessed Ace Attorney fangirl I had to get this. The art is a treat to look at and far more detailed than in the game. I would have liked to have seen initial character drafts in the book (I have seen them online but the book would have been so much better with them in), but you do get full page artwork of some of the more minor characters along with short descriptions. Also featured is artwork from the Apollo Justice game, which was a pleasant surprise when I received it (as I had just finished the game).

If you're a fan of this series then this is worth getting as a souvenir. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, great art, no objections..., 1 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. B. Lee "bmumble" (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of the game series and for me, it was the combination of gameplay, music, story and visuals that really grabbed me. Capcom have some great artists working for them and the art of Ace Attorney is just brilliant too. Jam-packed with all the art from the 4 Ace Attorney games (sorry, no Ace Attorney Investigations, the book's much older than that...).
If you liked the art of the game series, or just like Phoenix Wright and all associated characters (like I do) then you'll love this book! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I like it", 18 May 2010
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
It could have been more, though; the section for Apollo Justice is perfect, with lots of info by the guy behind the artworks... the section for the first three AA games, however, doesn't have prototype artworks of characters like you can find in the Japanese versions of "The Art of AA", "only" official artworks and sprites in high definition.

It's still a must buy for every fan, I listed the negative things... but all the rest are positive ones, thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 3 April 2010
By 
Daniel Bishop (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (Paperback)
A fantastic book that shows all the characters of the Phoenix Wright series. Gives detailed drawings of every main and side character with all their poses and stances. Can't recommend enough for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney
The Art of Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney by Capcom (Paperback - 26 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: 138.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews