Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep on Running!
Having read `Running through the wall', `Feet in the Clouds' and `Ultra Marathon man', I searched Amazon for another running book and came across this one; `Running for my life' by Ray Zahab. Like the other books it was very difficult to put this down. The first thing which should be noted before buying this book is that it is not a pure running book as he didn't take...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by S. MCBEATH

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the Road Read
I bought this book with the expectation that I would find something to help motivate and drive me back to running. To a certain extent this book achieves this. It is is essence a simple story of transformation through exercise and the desire to change a life. It is also simply written, by a runner who is not at heart, an author. Once you accept that you are not going to...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by Savan1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep on Running!, 24 Jan 2009
By 
S. MCBEATH "Stmcb" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab (Paperback)
Having read `Running through the wall', `Feet in the Clouds' and `Ultra Marathon man', I searched Amazon for another running book and came across this one; `Running for my life' by Ray Zahab. Like the other books it was very difficult to put this down. The first thing which should be noted before buying this book is that it is not a pure running book as he didn't take up running till later in his life. Meaning that the first half the book focuses on his horse riding and bad habits. While the second half the book is about his astonishing running adventures. So it really should be called `Running for half my life and riding for the other half', just kidding. But don't let the riding part put you off as by telling the whole story it makes his running achievements seem even grander and shows how he always has this inner drive to do his best.

From the books I have read the obvious comparison would be to Dean Karnases who along many others for example Scott Jurek and Pam Reed have set many benchmarks within ultra running. I would definitely put Ray Zahab in the same bracket as these characters. This book takes you through his early encounters with ultra running from the Yukon Artic ultra to multi stage races from the Jungle marathon in Brazil to his many outings in the Dessert of Africa.

Although Ray has done remarkably well in many of the races he has completed in. You get the sense that running in theses races are more to him than simply doing well. It is about experiencing the different cultures, raising awareness and simply being in awe of the beautiful world we live in. With every turn of the page Ray's enthusiasm for running and for life will just leap out at you. It truly is an inspiring story and does what the purpose of a good running book should do; get you out the door and the realisation you can do it too!

I am now an avid follower of Ray's adventures with his highlight (not covered in this book) being running across the Sahara desert! He has also just this month completed the fastest trek to the South Pole using snow shoes and plans to do the same to the South Pole in 2010. A great book and I'm looking forward to his future adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the guy who ran the Sahara, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Ilgaz Kuruyazici "ilgazk" (istanbul / turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab (Paperback)
Ray Zahab is the guy who ran the Sahara with two other ultra-runners. This book is the story of the process, how he started to run and became an ultra-runner. Even if you think to start to running or already have years under your belt, this book can encourage you to run "longer". It sounds weird and crazy to run 100's of miles and kilometers, even for runners, but give yourself a chance and read his story. His story is a good proof that ultra-running is more than a sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the Road Read, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab (Paperback)
I bought this book with the expectation that I would find something to help motivate and drive me back to running. To a certain extent this book achieves this. It is is essence a simple story of transformation through exercise and the desire to change a life. It is also simply written, by a runner who is not at heart, an author. Once you accept that you are not going to get wrapped up in the craft of the writing, and accept it for what it is, then you will have an enjoyable enough read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who has completed the MdS and Yukon Arctic Ultra, this charmingly naively written book perfectly captures so many of the feelings and emotions generated from the experience of ultra-running that I have felt. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable account but not enough insight, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab (Paperback)
I agree with one of the other reviews,that the first problem is the author is not a good writer, so just coming across as a load of facts, does not make a book. Needed better editing and more insight on why the transformation and so a lot of detail could be filled in . But otherwise a readable account of ultra running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quick and inspirational read, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab (Paperback)
After seeing the amazing Running the Sahara documentary I straight away wanted to learn more about the runners. Ray Zahab appears to be a positive and determined person and it was interesting to learn that he started running quite late in his life and was a chainsmoker etc. Like Ray the book is positive and inspiring. The minus side is that Ray is a runner, not a writer. So at times the narrative is quite naive. The descriptions of various ultramarathons and challenges are great, but it would've been nice to learn deeper for example about training and recovery in the middle of a ultra run. But anyways this book is a must-read for everyone who is looking for a inspiration to run!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational and laymens acount of the road of life, 3 July 2010
By 
An Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab (Paperback)
This book takes a little time to get to the running however, this is neccessary to demonstraight how running has saved this man from wandering around a life of no direction. Written in such a way, you feel like a close friend is opening up to you, telling you things you never new. All the time in the early parts Ray hits nerves that i'm sure most people can connect with and understand reguarding a lack of passion or fullfilment in their daily lifes.

Once the running starts, its one amazing adventure after another. Ray exposes the need and want to do somthing in life....the wanted need to excel. This is not a man, happy to trudge lifes road.He wants to own his life and reap the rewards of hard work.

An excellent read, very easy going and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running for My Life: On the Extreme Road with Adventure Runner Ray Zahab
8.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews