Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all outdoor fans, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
Anyone who is into the outdoors or anthropology should read this book. Hearne is the master of understatement and as Ray Mears has suggested, should be a household name, (in my opinion, eclipsing Scott). He truly is the definition of a tough outdoors-man, his frank descriptions making me realise what a soft modern I really am! His style of writing is surprisingly accessible, given how long ago it was written and by a man educated by active service in the Royal Navy, not in a modern university. A brilliant text and an inspiration. The anthropological angle is fascinating, giving arguably the best in sight into Northern Indian culture and perhaps clues to our own aboriginal past. In addition, there are some gems of Bushcraft to find to as Hearne describes Canadian Indian Bushcraft techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing "Journey to the Northern Ocean": The Adventures of Samuel Hearne., 19 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
After watching Ray Mears', "The Northern Wilderness", I wanted to know more about Samuel Hearne. I wasn't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillent read, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
this book is full of a true adventers travels ,what he saw ,did ,experienced,brillent read ,i couldent wait to turn the pages to see what happened next .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray!!!!, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
When Ray Mears 'Northern Wilderness' came on TV there was suddenly a world shortage of Samuel Hearnes' classic.
Luckily it quickly became available again so that I could get a copy.

I was not dissapointed and can see why so many like minded people rate this work highly.

Good on Ray Mears for giving Samuel Hearne more publicity.
Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any bushcraft enthusiast, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
This is a must have for any bushcraft enthusiast. Samuel Hearne is a legend when it comes to European explorers, and I would recommend this book for anyone who considers themselves to be interested in exploration, bushcraft, wilderness survival and cultures of North American natives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
Hi if you are into History and Northern Indians then get this book which is very informative
hope you enjoy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great Service, 21 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book I have been trying to get hold of since before Christmas. I was delighted to find it in stock at last but unfortunately the first one Amazon sent was lost in the post. They were very quick to replace it and sent a brand new copy instead of the lost second-hand one. Excellent service as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My husband loved it, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
I bought it for my husband who really enjoyed it. He read it in conjunction with Ian Kent Billotho books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Havent read it yet but its in very good nick, 13 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
It took over 3 weeks to come but i didn't mind as i am still reading another book lol though they did send another copy when i told them it hadn't arrived so i'm not sure if this is the replacement as it came in a matter of days after reporting the missing 1st copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived at second attempt, 22 April 2013
By 
Ms. Tracey J. Oakley (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection) (Paperback)
Haven't had a chance to read the book yet but looks as good as I was hoping. Glad it got here eventually
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey to the Northern Ocean: The Adventures of Samuel Hearne (Classics West Collection)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews