Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to play properly
When you start playing it's surprising that you need to work on several areas that aren't related: how to keep accurate time, independence and stick control (i.e. playing accurately at speed in various patterns)before you get to the stuff that shows you how to play like Buddy, Art, Bonzo or Joey. Keeping time needs some work with the metronome early on but then improves...
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by Paul Oakes

versus
0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is my book?
I ordered this book but it never arrived. Customer service rang me and I couldn't understand anything they said, their english was so bad. Via email, they lied to me and reassured me that it would arrive in another week, and then in another week, and another. They supplied links to escalation and complaint pages that did not work. In the end they resorted to blaming...
Published on 12 Jun 2010 by Niall Mc Caffrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to play properly, 16 Dec 2010
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
When you start playing it's surprising that you need to work on several areas that aren't related: how to keep accurate time, independence and stick control (i.e. playing accurately at speed in various patterns)before you get to the stuff that shows you how to play like Buddy, Art, Bonzo or Joey. Keeping time needs some work with the metronome early on but then improves as a by-product of your other practice, so although it's the most essential part of drumming it needs least practice until you start playing in odd metres and compound time signatures. There's a million independence books out there, get a big one with a score size you can read comfortably and not too much text. Then get this.

It's a staggeringly dull book - original grey cover (I think it looks great), and pages of snare drum patterns.The first 3 pages just have a series of 2 bar eigth-note patterns without accents (you want accents? Buy his next book!)with various sticking patterns. Seems easy, then you realise how much you have to learn, grasshopper. Get through these at a good tempo and you can play the snare a bit.After that the patterns look at triplets (and switching from staight eighths into triplets), roll combinations and so on for 46 horrible pages. This is not a lot of fun to do, and it's always tempting to try a Play along with Coldplay book instead (even duller I suspect), but just play a short section every day, even on a pad while watching the telly with a click in one ear.There's no need to finish the book, but it will quickly show you your limits, and get you to play with speed and accuracy like Neil and Art.

If you want to go further, Stone's Accents and Rebounds book is tough, Joe Morello's Master Studies is a more balanced approach, Ted Reed's Syncopation is great (and absurdly cheap),Buddy Rich apparenrly wrote some book about this stuff, Alan Dawson's Complete Drummer's Vocabularly is a continuation while Tommy Igoe's Great Hands DVD is a much more user-friendly starting point. As I said at the start, this is a vital field of practice and Stone's book is fantastic at showing you what you need to be able to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A staple part of my drumming library, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Christopher J. Tuckley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
I bought this quite a few years ago on the recommendation of my drum teacher back then and it's without doubt the most useful drum book I've ever used. This book, a practice pad and a pair of sticks will keep you busy for weeks. The layout of it is just line after line of different rudiments and they recommend you complete them 20 times at a reasonable tempo before moving onto the next. One word of warning is that you do have to have a basic grasp of how to read music, but its not that tricky, just knowing how long each note lasts will get you through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be the first book you buy for drums, 28 Oct 2009
By 
D. Rowthorn (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
Stick Control does what any good book in the field should do: it has a positive effect on every style you play. While this is true of many books on drumming, none have saturated the drumming culture so totally as this. Ask any professional drummer what exercises they use to practice and 95% will either be using this book or will have used it at some point. The first page alone, when properly mastered, will elevate any dummers ability to control their sound and express themselves more freely. That is after all the point of drumming and what defines good drummers: the lack of barriers between their ideas and their playing.

By working through these absolute fundamentals, the student will erode major barriers to their self-expression and be able to do what they want without worrying whether their hands can keep up. The exercises require discipline, hard-work and time. That is the reality of art and the reward for following this book is a more mature and unrestricted relationship with the intrument we all love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
This is one of the great books that every drummer should have and use, regardless of style (the others being Ted Reed's Syncopation and Jim Chapin's Advanced Techniques Vol 1 and a good rudimental book such as Gene Krupa's). I can't recommend this highly enough. Practice, especially with a metronone, will give you much greater control of your instrument.
My all time favourite drummer, Big Sid Catlett, was a student of the author. But drummers in any style would benefit greatly from these exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best, and most important drum book ever written, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
I bought this book on the advice of a friend, and I'm amazed at how much better at drums i've become. If you follow the simple instructions at the start, i.e playing the exercises loud and soft, fast and slow, you will find an incredible increase in the level of control you have of your instrument. It's an absolutley essential book for any drummer, from beginners to professionals. If you only ever buy one drum book, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boring cover....brilliant book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 1 July 2010
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
This book has been in print since 1935 but it is still essential to percussionists/drummers today. If you read the drumming press this book gets mentioned by the world's greatest players on a very regular basis. Stick Control has improved the standard of my pupil's playing skills (and of course mine too) very quickly.If done properly, the book shows up any technical errors that you may have; to have even timing, volume and tone your grip has to be spot on. Fab book - don't get put off by the cover; it's old so you can forgive its tired look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great with the right teacher, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
This is one of those books that every drummer should have. More than that every drummer should use. I for one am guilty of buying a book and not working through much of it before moving on to the next book.
This is a great book to work through with a teacher that way the teacher can show how many different ways each exercise can be played rather than just playing whats on the page and thinking that's that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book is the drummer's bible, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
This book is the drummer's bible. A book that every drummer should study! Although this was written years ago, continues to be topical. This book is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there anything better?, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
Possibly the best book for any drummer ever. Just take a look at the inside cover to see the vast amount of the worlds best who recommend this book. It does take time to get into it and a heck of a lot of time to do but its never ending. If you finish it then you can just go straight back to the beginning and do it all again. Top Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Control, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. John R. Ireland "jri2272" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Control (Perfect Paperback)
This one book along with the DVD 'Essential Rudiments' by Jim KilPatrick is all any drummer needs to completely master the art of rudimentary drumming. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stick Control
Stick Control by George Lawrence Stone (Perfect Paperback - 22 May 2009)
8.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews