Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, straightforward and well illustrated.
Having looked at a number of cycle repair manuals I liked this one the most. The layout of the book is clear and easy to follow. Instructions are very clearly explained and excellently illustrated with photographs and diagrams. It covers in plenty of detail everything I ever want to know about cycle repair and maintenance and is far easier to understand and work from...
Published on 26 Oct 2007 by S Fox

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A frustrating book
The basic content of this book is fine with a good level of detail. However, unless you're a complete novice, or just wish to get on with repairs, it is frustrating.

Too much valuable space is taken up by ancilliary infomation. For example pages 20 to 23 are virtualy full of text explaining all about screw-thread connections. But then on page 54 we're twice...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by M. Glen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, straightforward and well illustrated., 26 Oct 2007
By 
S Fox (South East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bicycle Repair: Maintenance and Repair of the Modern Bicycle (Paperback)
Having looked at a number of cycle repair manuals I liked this one the most. The layout of the book is clear and easy to follow. Instructions are very clearly explained and excellently illustrated with photographs and diagrams. It covers in plenty of detail everything I ever want to know about cycle repair and maintenance and is far easier to understand and work from than some other manuals e.g. the Haynes cycle manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A frustrating book, 4 Feb 2009
By 
M. Glen "kick the hooka" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bicycle Repair: Maintenance and Repair of the Modern Bicycle (Paperback)
The basic content of this book is fine with a good level of detail. However, unless you're a complete novice, or just wish to get on with repairs, it is frustrating.

Too much valuable space is taken up by ancilliary infomation. For example pages 20 to 23 are virtualy full of text explaining all about screw-thread connections. But then on page 54 we're twice told to leave certain jobs to a specialist because special tools are needed - I would like to know about this!

I don't like the layout; information and photos look crammed in. If it was less wordy, the presentation and layout could be much improved. Each page is in newspaper style columns (three columns). The text has just been allowed to flow from one column to the next and from one page to the next without thought. I find this makes it difficult to follow.

Nevertheless, it is clear the author has an excellent level of knowledge on the subject. And apart from my gripes above, full explanations for all manner of tasks are presented. And for us Brits, a plus - both U.S. and British terms (i.e. wrench/spanner etc.) are used where necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Formatting absolutely dreadful, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bicycle Repair (Kindle Edition)
Very disappointed with this, lots of really good information in the book but how it has been formatted to go onto the kindle is very very poor. The index at the front is all over the place, giving some page numbers in order then jumping (i.e. section page # 1-30 then jumping to page # 140-160 then on to page # 60!) Single sentences take up 3-4 lines and if a picture is involved can end up anywhere on 1-3 pages! Just a total jumble and annoying if trying to follow a category.

As I said it has some very interesting material in the book so I would suggest buying the paperback/hardcover rather than download the kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Tom (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bicycle Repair: Maintenance and Repair of the Modern Bicycle (Paperback)
Its ok but figures are not labelled and uninformative. Next time would get something a bit more thorough and better labelled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A PRESENT, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bicycle Repair: Maintenance and Repair of the Modern Bicycle (Paperback)
THIS BOOK WAS A GIFT FOR MY DAUGHTER SO I CANNOT COMMENT OTHER THAN TO SAY I AM SURE SHE WOULD HAVE SAID SOMETHING IF SHE DID NOT THINK IT WAS USEFUL

CAROL ROBERTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bicycle Repair: Maintenance and Repair of the Modern Bicycle
Bicycle Repair: Maintenance and Repair of the Modern Bicycle by Rob Van der Plas (Paperback - 21 Jun 2007)
16.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews