Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really useful guide
Having both a hybrid and a road bike i needed a book for general maintenance that would cover the essentials for both types. This book does that. It covers the steps for various brakes, wheels and gear adjustment as well as other stuff like a bottom bracket and even adjusting a seat post.

What you can't see on the internet is the size of this book - it's only...
Published on 22 Feb 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too concise for a beginner
This book is probably ok for someone who already has some skill at bicycle repair. I couldn't understand even the simplest instructions as I do not know the terms, and they were not sufficeintly indexed to cross-reference.
Published 18 months ago by ms s ionesca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really useful guide, 22 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
Having both a hybrid and a road bike i needed a book for general maintenance that would cover the essentials for both types. This book does that. It covers the steps for various brakes, wheels and gear adjustment as well as other stuff like a bottom bracket and even adjusting a seat post.

What you can't see on the internet is the size of this book - it's only about 12cm tall and so is a real pocket size which could be easily fitted in a pannier if you tour or commute.

The pages of the book which i was particuarly looking for were the maintenance schedules - weekly, monthly and yearly. Each shows what you should do in simple steps to keep your bike running well.

Highly recommended, particularly for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, a handy format, and short enough to encourage experimentation., 10 July 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathan Headland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
This is a good, hand-holding guide which will encourage me to do more hands-on work on my bikes. The sections on wheel truing alone are well worth reading.

The author has taken trouble to write in a way which is helpful for non-Usonian mechanics too -- he clearly has wide experience with European bikes and parts.

I'd have liked more exploded diagrams of complex parts, but I appreciate the cost of good-quality technical illustration is too high for this price range.

Minor irritation: The author constantly refers to the rear-wheel's sprockets as "cogs", which is mechanically inaccurate. Cogs mesh with other cogs; sprockets work with a chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for..., 21 May 2011
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
Nice, simple, well illustrated no nonsense little book to give you a bit more confidence in dealing with problems and looking after your bike....just what I was looking for! Now... to get that bike out from the back of the garage....... !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bicycle repair manual, 22 April 2010
By 
J. Goodlake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
This book is good for basic repairs but tells you to go to expert for more complicated repairs - we hoped it would cover these. (but title does say simple repairs so it does what it says)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too concise for a beginner, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
This book is probably ok for someone who already has some skill at bicycle repair. I couldn't understand even the simplest instructions as I do not know the terms, and they were not sufficeintly indexed to cross-reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 3 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
This book did exactly what I wanted. I haven't used a bike much for forty years and wanted to be reminded about the basics, eg what a tyre lever is and how you use it. This deals with bike maintenance at that sort of level. I thought it very clearly written and presented, and comprehensive, covering all aspects of the bike systematically. For example, it covers three kinds of lighting and how to make a dynamo work better, how to remove wheels easily (even the rear one), how to maintain suspension systems if you have any, the important safety items such as steering and brakes and so on.

It makes a point of identifying what you can do yourself and what you need to take to the bike shop. And is so clear about how to do it yourself that if you feel it beyond you and a bike shop is better, you can take a informed decision.

I would say if you're a bike enthusiast already, this won't tell you much you don't know, and you'll be irritated by the detail. But if you're in need of the real basics, I'd say this was excellent. However,on the basis of customer comments, I also bought Sidwell's Bike Repair Manual expecting a basics book, but found it beyond my needs and understanding - good (I thought) for enthusiasts. So calibration's a problem; take my pre-existing knowledge as a dead cat bounce off ground level.

Hope you make the right decision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kind of pocket syllabus with all neccessary information, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
This is a quite small book, but contains a lot of useful information. The exposition is compact, but thought-out and contains all the essential points, so you do not have to waste your time to get the idea. It is like a pocket syllabus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great portable bible, 28 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife to have with her on her mad trips, and it fits the bill perfectly. Small and light enough to carry with you, but seems to cover all the bases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Husband and son love it, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
Husband loves it and son loves it. We are (nearly) mobile again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ideal size, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy (Paperback)
Bought this book without really checking out the size so was a bit surprised when it arrived and was pocket size however this has proved to be a stroke of luck and has been very useful would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy
Simple Bicycle Repair: Fixing Your Bike Made Easy by Rob Van der Plas (Paperback - 30 Sep 2004)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews