Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleasures of Paris
Books like this should not be allowed, but I'm glad they are. Indulge yourself at least once a day whilst in Paris. Arranged by arrondissements (the areas of Paris), this book is your guide to all that is satisfying in Paris! Delicious pastries, cakes and tea rooms. This informative book should be in every suitcase heading for the world's loveliest capital city...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by K. Platt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No maps
This book if for someone who already knows their way around Paris. There are no maps in it so you have no idea how far a patisserie is from your location. The reviews of places have no ratings meaning you have to read each review in its entirety to know wether the author thinks it is a worthwhile place or not. I found it very difficult to use and not worth the money...
Published 19 months ago by C. Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleasures of Paris, 16 Mar 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
Books like this should not be allowed, but I'm glad they are. Indulge yourself at least once a day whilst in Paris. Arranged by arrondissements (the areas of Paris), this book is your guide to all that is satisfying in Paris! Delicious pastries, cakes and tea rooms. This informative book should be in every suitcase heading for the world's loveliest capital city. Informative, with addresses, telephone numbers, opening hours and Metro stops, this book is a delight. Easy to carry around, pocket-sized pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No maps, 19 Mar 2013
By 
C. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
This book if for someone who already knows their way around Paris. There are no maps in it so you have no idea how far a patisserie is from your location. The reviews of places have no ratings meaning you have to read each review in its entirety to know wether the author thinks it is a worthwhile place or not. I found it very difficult to use and not worth the money. There are so many good patisseries in Paris and so many that aren't in the book. Also the book is out of date on current locations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 15 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
Very pretty book, but smaller than anticipated. It's filled with lovely photographs that make me want to jump on a plane to Paris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book hope to finally get to use it!, 2 May 2010
By 
J. Harvey (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
Bought this book for our first trip to Paris and poured over it every night for weeks with my mouth watering. Then the volcano in Iceland decided to put a stop to our trip so haven't actually used it practically yet but we used it to select the location of our hotel just so we could be near certain Patisseries that specialised in our favourites! For the price and what we wanted it was worth it but look forward to checking out their reviews for ourselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a SERIOUS revision., 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
I'm writing this review as someone who has just returned from Paris and has actually tried to use this book as the basis for some foodie days out, as opposed to some of the other reviewers who have only judged the book on its appearance, not on its usefulness or accuracy.

I was very disappointed with it. I will itemise some of the problems below:

Page 145: Le Bac a Glace no longer serves the exotic range of icecreams mentioned in the book. They have a standard selection of about 8 icescreams and 8 sorbets, the same range and quality you find in most good icecream shops in Paris.

Page 95: Ruchers du Roy's branch on Rue du Cherche-Midi no longer exists.

Page 147: Boulangerie PP Colas is nothing special, and there are many bigger (and better) boulangeries and patisseries in the area.

The book is in need of a serious revision/update. I had made a list of about 6 places to visit, and the first 3 we visited were the ones mentioned above. After those disappointments, I couldn't be bothered checking out the other places on my list as I had no confidence that they would either exist or be as good as they were when the book was written.

It may be worth checking out any potential places you want to visit online (if possible) to avoid disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
Good quality just what I was looking for and will be well used I am sure. I will have to watch my waistline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yummy, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
small book but bursting with very interesting information on the various patisseries etc in Paris. With mouth-watering pictures that will make you want to go and try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patisseries of Paris, 28 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More (Paperback)
Smaller in size than anticipated but much thicker. Pictures and information on places to eat or just visit is very good and certainly worth using to plan a visit to Paris's patisseries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pātisseries Of Paris: Chocolatiers, Tea Salons, Ice Cream Parlors and More
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews