Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
9
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 June 2012
This is a classic foudation for 19th century European occultism, both in England and on the continent. Levi's influence is strongest in his description of the conjuration of the elements, and the Tarot. Modern day occultists still argue about just how to interpret Levi on the latter point: generally, continental occultists tend to take his attributions literally, whilst those from English-speaking occultists tend to assume he was only being suggestive.

Levi wrote in a romantic / florid style for 19th century audiences. He has been unfairly accused of being turgid and verbose, but we must remember that in this volume he is being seen through the filter of A E Waite's translation. This is my main criticism of the book - Waite's editorial comments make him (Waite) sound like a bit of a prick at times.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
'Transcendental Magic: Its Doctrine and Ritual' by Eliphas Levi and edited by Arthur Edward Waite (creator of the Rider Waite Tarot deck), was the very first book on ritual magic I purchased when I was 15 years old. I have read it a number of times over the years and it has to be one of the most influential and well written books I have ever read on magic. Eliphas Levi shares his ideas on the doctrine and practice of magic with quite colorful and flowery language.

This book would appeal to those who are interested in traditional solomonic grimoire magic, rather than the modern variations of New Age / Wiccan or psychological magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Listen To Levi, disregard Waite. Waite thought he was being clever picking out bits of Levi's thought, Crowley (the more accomplished and knowledgeable magus) on the otherhand attested to Levi's knowledge and understood WHY Levi left certain things mixed up, for the student to decipher. Crowley also proved the link between Cabbala and Tarot which Waite remains so painfully ignorant of.

Waite's comments are unhelpful, confusing and often baneful and I advise people who read this excellent work to completly disregard most of if not all of them based on your own intuition.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
A great book of introduction to occult science that has awakened a keen interest in a subject new to my thinking and explains the logic and analogy of the discipline which is nothing like I had previously thought the subject to be .A most highly recommended book that will clear up a lot of misconceptions about a subject very much misunderstood by many ..it will blow atheism out of the imagination for those who grasp it's words.the print is good without defects as opposed to other prints .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Not happy to get a supposed brand new book with a message in pen in the front page of the book saying god is real he loves you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
this very good read a must for the collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Been looking for this book by Eliphas Levi for a while and it was available at a very reasonable price Bravo !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Terrible layout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
He Lost His Way
May Those Who Engage In This Stop.
Eternal Hell Awaits Them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)