Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully helpful and incredibly interesting
Byron has provided a very readable and also very useful guide. I like that it's written to help readers enjoy, rather than simply survive, ultra running. The inserts from other runners are a great way to present an array of viewpoints and good advice. The race plans are the first set I've seen that co-ordinate with my "less-is-more" training approach, which has boosted...
Published on 31 July 2011 by Dr K

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars useful resource for a beginner
Some very helpful tips and seems to cover all bases including minimalist running. Good advice about race and heat management that were important to me. Probably a bit too much trail orientated but that's not a surprise given where the book originates from.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Anthony Collier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully helpful and incredibly interesting, 31 July 2011
By 
Dr K (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
Byron has provided a very readable and also very useful guide. I like that it's written to help readers enjoy, rather than simply survive, ultra running. The inserts from other runners are a great way to present an array of viewpoints and good advice. The race plans are the first set I've seen that co-ordinate with my "less-is-more" training approach, which has boosted my confidence before my first attempt at 30+ miles.

But, given all of that, the most important section of the book to me is the chapter on crew support. I honestly hadn't given it much thought at all, since I can self-support for the distances I normally run. I expect many other newbies make insufficient crew preparation. So, thanks to Byron for pointing out the attention that needs to be paid to this critical part of ultra running!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to start running longer distances, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
I love this book! It provides a practical and easy to follow guide on how to run ultramarathons, whether it's 40 or 100 miles or beyond. It contains lots of good tips on how to train and fuel your body for running longer distances and how to prevent injury. It helped me achieve my goal of running longer distances and I constantly go back to it when I need a bit of advice or inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof of the pudding will be in the eating, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
Difficult to effectively review of a book on ultra-running so soon after purchase as it would mean following one of its 24 week training plans to their conclusion to really be able to judge it correctly.
That said, it's a thoroughly enjoyable read.
It assumes you already have a bit of running experience and doesn't waste time on stuff you should have already learnt before even considering ultra-running. Inspiring throughout, it offers good solid practical advice on all sorts of aspects specific to going further including weather conditions, support crew, choice of race etc. and even "Defecating in the Woods"(sic)!
Training plans offered for races up 50km(31miles), 40miles to 100km and 100miles and are all proposed in up to 50 miles a week or up to 70 miles a week versions.
As to criticism that it concentrates too heavily on trail running as opposed to road running I would say three things first most ultra events in the UK and Europe are mostly off-road, secondly if you're doing this kind of high-mileage then off-road is certainly physically safer for your joints etc. and thirdly there's simply a lot more to say about it than there is about the relatively straight forward practice of road running.
I bought this on the recommendation of friends who are experienced ultra runners and thank them wholeheartedly for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have., 18 May 2011
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
If your planning your first ultra or just want to learn more.This is the book, loads of info on distances from 50k to 100miles and some training plans.
Although geared more towards trail running it is still a great book,and covers all terrains.
A book that you'll always keep referring to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for anyone considering an Ultra Marathon, 24 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
This is an excellent book and a great reference for anyone considering an Ultra Marathon, I bought this as I've entered one for September 2012 when I'll be running from London to Brighton - Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Read this., 8 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
This is a great read. Or lots of great reads. Good value and well worth buying. Get it right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to all you could ever need to know before tackling an ultra marathon. It's precise & to the point, with the general information from the author - an experienced ultra-marathoner himself - interspersed with more detailed essays by other ultrarunners, medical professionals, etc. Training plans are included for races from 50k up to 100 miles & beyond.
Highly recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read :-), 25 May 2011
By 
CG Mangiagalli (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons (Paperback)
If you are a runner or someone wanting to run and possibly interested in ultramarathons, then you will probably enjoy this book. I certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice and tips, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm glad someone wrote a book on ultra running so i can compare my journey to ultra with the advice in this book. A lot of common sense but good tips for those long runs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good book, 10 Oct. 2013
After being recommended this book I truely think my search is over for the knowledge needed to prepare myself for my first Ultra. The book goes into the right amount of detail for a beginner and keeps it really simple and easy to follow. I would highly recommend this book over the more famous named Ultra books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons
Relentless Forward Progress: A Guide to Running Ultramarathons by Bryon Powell (Paperback - 29 April 2011)
£9.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews