Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can't read books on running and not read this one!
Very good, well written book that documents Gebreselassie's rise from poverty to superstardom. With an 'always-welcome-to-the-statistician' glossary of race details and history included, both Haile's career (not just as an athlete but also a would-be politician) and private life are more than adequately covered. For the athletics nut, there are also training tips and...
Published on 24 Feb 2008 by Hair Bear

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big fan of Gebreslassie but disappointed with this book
I was really looking forward to reading this book as I am a marathon runner and get great motivation from books such as this, I have read Paula Radcliffs book, (which I found excellent by the way) and several others of this nature. I was expecting to read more of Hailes story as regards growing up in Ethopia and his struggle to become on of the greatest runners in...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by L. Whelan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big fan of Gebreslassie but disappointed with this book, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to reading this book as I am a marathon runner and get great motivation from books such as this, I have read Paula Radcliffs book, (which I found excellent by the way) and several others of this nature. I was expecting to read more of Hailes story as regards growing up in Ethopia and his struggle to become on of the greatest runners in history, it did not go into much detail as regards his training which was again very disappointing, and I really thought it would give a more personal account of his big races. This could have been a great book, alas it did not do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can't read books on running and not read this one!, 24 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story (Paperback)
Very good, well written book that documents Gebreselassie's rise from poverty to superstardom. With an 'always-welcome-to-the-statistician' glossary of race details and history included, both Haile's career (not just as an athlete but also a would-be politician) and private life are more than adequately covered. For the athletics nut, there are also training tips and coverage of other athletes, such as Yifter and Jos Hermans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haile Gebreselassie story, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story (Paperback)
My daughter loves this . She says it is excellent and better than any other account of the great runner. This is for athletics fans or anyone who likes stories of people attaining their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissapointing, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story (Paperback)
I enjoy running. I enjoy reading.
A book about Haile Gebrselassie, undoubtedly one of the greatest distance runners of all time, should've been a great read, but I don't think the book did Haile justice at all. This book appears to have been written mainly from reviewing video material of Haile's races, not necessarily from several meetings with Haile to garner stories and information from him. I don't think this book gave a good insight into Haile's life, either before or during his running career. Very dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story (Paperback)
This book is just great. It tells the story of Haile's hard start in life, his determination to be the best and his unbelieveable wins in the face of adversity. The book is written very well, with descriptions of feelings, emotions, friendships, etc. Buy This Book!!! Its UNMISSABLE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story (Paperback)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story
The Greatest: The Haile Gebrselassie Story by Jim Denison (Paperback - 2007)
£10.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews