Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
David Swenson's Practice Manual is my yoga practice bible.The text provides a good introduction to this style and covers all the essential traditions of Ashtanga in a readable way which is accessible for all. The photographs are inspirational, whilst his modifications of the postures are excellent to keep the motivation going along the way! This is a really beautiful book...
Published on 26 Nov 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic on Asthanga
Svenson is probably the most known modern Asthanga teacher who lives in the West - he is an institution for this style of yoga. His book, therefore is a great source of learning and inspiration, Explains the basic, intermediate and advanced asanas and sequences. Good pictures, clear organization of the book, plus it is published in the form of a ''ring-binder'' spine, so...
Published 3 months ago by Hanna


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
David Swenson's Practice Manual is my yoga practice bible.The text provides a good introduction to this style and covers all the essential traditions of Ashtanga in a readable way which is accessible for all. The photographs are inspirational, whilst his modifications of the postures are excellent to keep the motivation going along the way! This is a really beautiful book which is the best practical guide I have in my two and a half years of practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please bear in mind the following, 6 April 2005
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
Having bought this book, I will say that it is everything that one could hope for from an instruction manual: informative, lucid and encouraging for the beginner, with plenty of 'easier' options included .
However, I personally find that learning only from a book can be a little dry and uninspiring, and until you can remember the routine you will have to keep resorting back to the page, which can become tiresome when you just want to get on and stretch. And with this in mind, I would like to point out that if you search on the web, you can find David Swenson's DVDs to accompany this book, which will allow you to see everything in the book executed perfectly. Please also remember, whilst Ashtanga-style yoga is very rewarding, it is also challenging; although you can, of course, freely use the postures in this book to put together your own more relaxed Hatha-style workout, if you feel like it. Good luck and good health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good aid to practising Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, 23 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
I am currently learning and practising Astanga Yoga. This book is a great aid for practice at home between the taught class that i attend each week. The book gives me the ability to practice at home safely and make sure i am working towards the correct positions. The book is spiral bound so it sits flat on the floor. David Swenson also provides may different alternatives for those of us are new to the practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ashtanga Practice Manual, 9 Mar 2004
By 
Ian Davis "orangeredman" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
This is an excellent book. The photos and text are easy to follow. The modifications are well explained and demonstrated. The ringbinding makes it perfect to put at the end of the mat. It covers primary and secondary series, as well as 15, 30 and 45 minute short practices. I have a bookshelf full of yoga books, but there's not a days dust on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very user-friendly - particularly useful for beginners., 9 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
The great thing about David Swenson's book is that it is true to the pure form of Astanga Vinyasa Yoga, allowing for certain points of style. Most books go for the "power yoga" option, which is really a sort of spin-off from Astanga Vinyasa, and this can lead to discrepancies and omissions in the forms and series of postures. David is also very tolerant in his approach which I think works well for beginners (up to a point) since this is a very demanding practice and it would be easy to be put off. As long as it is understood that the book is not a substitute for a teacher, this shouldn't be a problem. Alternatives are provided in all situations where a practitioner might have difficulty. As well as the physical practice there is a lot of very informative background information which helps to put the whole practice of Astanga Vinyasa Yoga into context. And of course the spiral binding means the book can lie open which makes it easy to use during practice. An excellent book which I would recommend very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashtanga Yoga by David Swenson, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
This is an excellent guide for people learning Ashtanga yoga for the first time. David Swenson explains in clear simple language how to get into the asanas (poses) and how to ease movement and hold the asana using the breath. He also points out common errors and provides some simple modifications to use if you are not quite up to getting into the asana. He also explains a little about the philosophy and frequently refers to point of the practise, which is not to just doing asanas but entering into the spirit of it all. Very helpful. I would however recommend using it to supplement attending classes, rather than replacing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashtanga Yoga... very well presented book, 30 May 2004
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
This was my first book on Yoga - As a martial artist, I wanted to incorporate some Yoga to increase my flexilbility, through a more relaxed routine!!
This book is a hardback and is in binder format, which means you can turn the page easily as you work through your Yoga...
It gives you an introduction to the roots of Ashtanga Yoga & the philosphy behind it, which can help in keeping your mind focused on how to perform your postures.
the pictures of the postures are illustrated at different levels of flexibility - so you can try the more advanced ones as you progress..
The instructions are clear and easy to follow....
Overall I would definately recommend this book to anyone, whether you're new to yoga, or you teach it..
This book continues to help me improve my flexibility (and state of mind), and I use it as part of my exercise regime on a regular basis.
EXCELLENT VALUE...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but having read others..., 8 Nov 2009
By 
C. Holden "charlieh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
This was my first introduction into Ashtanga yoga, and it is a great book. However, there were a few poses that i found hard and thought my flexibility was really bad until i read Ashtanga Yoga: Practice and Philosophy by Gregor Maehle. Gregor actually explains how to get into the poses rather than just saying put your foot there which was the help i needed and now have no problem with those poses like ardha baddha padmottanasana. To me theses books go hand in hand and recommend both to everyone interested in Ashtanga yoga, good luck with your practise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Ashtanga book out there, 25 April 2002
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
This book is particularly helpful for both beginners and advanced students. For the not so advanced students there are a number of variations to poses that one can try before you get more flexible and strong. It is definitely one to have if you do want to practice outside of class and even self learn. The explanations on vinyasa's how one should get in and out of them is particularly useful as there are several you can try. The short form series included is also great for those who are timed pressed!! A good buy NAMASTE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for self practice, 29 Dec 2005
This review is from: Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual (Spiral-bound)
This book was recommended to me by my yoga teacher. Very clear instructions with great photographs to illustrate each pose mean that this book tells you everything you need to know.
The back of the book includes short form practices for those who are pressed for time and also has the standing and seated exercises on two page spreads which is ideal as an aide memoir when doing your practice.
My only criticism is that David Swanson is so brilliant at everything it makes me feel very inadequate when comparing my positions to the "correct" ones he performs.
I researched very widely before buying and looked at loads of yoga books. This is undoubtedly the one I would recommend to anyone wanting to do Ashtanga self-practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual
Ashtanga Yoga - The Practice Manual by David Swenson (Spiral-bound - 1 Sep 2007)
19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews