Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2010
I thought this book had everything. It showed how you have to put team over player how to get the team together by having a common enemy. There are stories of things that happened in Rinus Michels' career to associate to whatever aspect of team building he was talking about. It also had training drills, which I found difficult to understand due to the lack of diaframs (Though I felt it was the only downside to a great book). It also talks through tactics and the three fnuctions of a team. Very good book
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
This book is extremely detailed, hard work but a truly excellent detail.

Michels talks about virtually every aspect of building a team; technical, tactical, psychological and social. Any coach who wants to understand every aspect of building a team would benefit from reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
Hmm...so I bought this book after reading some positive reviews and was rather dissapointed. If anyone else had written this book then perhaps the euphoria would not have been present for the reviewers...

The book tends to drag on and a lot of it is Rinus reminicing of his managerial career and how well he did with his teams, but not so much on how or why things went wrong for him when he wasnt so succesful.

If you are looking to buy this book to make you a better coach and to help you build your team then DONT! Its better to use google to search for something specific. There is a LOT of litreature out there now and I wish I had done that instead of spending money on this book.

If you are looking to buy this book simply to study a great managers thoughts then go ahead as thats what I would recommend.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
great overview to a legend and his mindset
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
This book is a heavy read at times (worth using a notepad), but it is packed with useful info for the softer skills of coaching as well as giving us Michels' insights and experiences. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Shocking book. Very difficult to get into. More about coaching and a lack of information about his time as a coach. More a coaching manual than a biography.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
not what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Anything Michels says - whether you agree with it or not, is a point worth arguing! Some of the content is general c.sense, but he clearly explains the main issues. The man is a genius, just buy it and get inside one of the greatest ever manager's minds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)