Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never read Shakespeare in the same way again!
Readers of P.F.Chisholm's earlier books about the West March Deputy Warden, Sir Robert Carey and his problems with the Border Reivers will expect a well written and exciting book which gives you a real feel for life on the borders in Elizabethan England. Here, the scene moves south as Sir Robert answers a summons from his father to return to London and sort out the...
Published on 29 Sep 1999 by Ms. Fiona E. Middlemist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Plague of Angels
I have really been enjoying P F Chisholm' s Robert Cary Mysteries but unfortunately not this one.
My oh my why has this author taken it upon herself to discredit William Shakespeare so, set in 1592 the author has him working as a servant and having the contents of a chamber pot being thrown over him and beaten up by other poet's really?
Records show that during...
Published 6 months ago by sharon turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never read Shakespeare in the same way again!, 29 Sep 1999
By 
Ms. Fiona E. Middlemist (Nothumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Plague of Angels (Paperback)
Readers of P.F.Chisholm's earlier books about the West March Deputy Warden, Sir Robert Carey and his problems with the Border Reivers will expect a well written and exciting book which gives you a real feel for life on the borders in Elizabethan England. Here, the scene moves south as Sir Robert answers a summons from his father to return to London and sort out the difficulties his elder brother has got himself into as an innocent party in a plot to discredit Lord Hunsdon. Henry Dodd, the down-to-earth land sergeant of Gilsland accompanies him, feeling like a fish out of water, but coping quite well with the strange southerners. Appearances by persons better know to students of English Literature, such as George Greene and Christopher Marlowe as spies and agents are interesting, while the portrayal of that love-sick snivelling hanger-on Shakespeare is quite an eye opener. P.F. Chisholm's strength lies in her ability to write a dialogue which is natural and not preciously "period" and she certainly seems to understand the mind of the borderer. I speak as a borderer myself, albeit from the East, not the West March. I would strongly recommend this book to lovers of both historical and mystery fiction. Even my brother, who normally only reads sci fi wants more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Political intrigue,poets ,playwrites and court., 7 Mar 2001
By 
This review is from: A Plague of Angels: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery (Paperback)
Sir Robert Carey and his enterage exchange the reivers of Carlisle for London. The book is well paced. The plot well weaved and brought together at the end. Dodds and Carey are an entertaining duo, with the majority of the narrative coming from Dodds viewpoint. London is brought to life with his observations of the absurdity and strangeness of politics compared to Carlise. But he begins to realise that some methods of "persuasion" are the same the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
By 
S. Alderliesten (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Plague of Angels: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery (Paperback)
love it! quick service, good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best I've read so far in this series. I was laughing out loud at times, especially at the scene in the inn playing cards with Kit Marlowe. Definitely read this book, it's fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Plague of Angels, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book as much as the others in the Sir Robert Carey series can't wait to read the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Plague of Angels, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really been enjoying P F Chisholm' s Robert Cary Mysteries but unfortunately not this one.
My oh my why has this author taken it upon herself to discredit William Shakespeare so, set in 1592 the author has him working as a servant and having the contents of a chamber pot being thrown over him and beaten up by other poet's really?
Records show that during this period Shakespeare was earning a living as an actor and playwright having several plays produced.
By 1594 he was a managing partner of the Lord Chamberlains men the leading company of players of their day writing and acting with them, in 1597 he had 15 of his 37 plays published and had purchased the second largest house in Stratford
By 1599 together with a partnership of company members he built the Globe theatre
It is true that Green called Shakespeare a upstart crow but most scholars believe that this was because William didn't have the university education that the other playwrights of time had.
His humble background makes his works more outstanding the very fact that he has added more words and phrases to the British language surely gives him the right not to be used in such a disrespectful manner.
Though I have not enjoyed this book (I have not been able to finish it) I have loved the others in the series and look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of books is excellent. It gives a real feel of the period and pulls you along at a good pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A plague of angels, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A most enjoyable story with some favourite characters. I have read other books by the same author and I am looking forward to reading others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabethan adventure., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Cumbrian Revier goes to London with one of Elizabeths courtiers. The cast is a fine one the Lord Chancellor, his sons, the Vice Chancellor, spies, Kit Marlowe and William Shakepeare. Quite a few people die, the mystery is solved, some blackmail goes on. Will try another one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Real people in interesting situations! A very enjoyable series with a solid basis in the history of the borders. Please write more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Plague of Angels: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery
A Plague of Angels: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery by P. F. Chisholm (Paperback - 1 Oct 2000)
£8.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews