Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substandard Guns on the Border, 2 Sep 2009
This review is from: A Surfeit of Guns (Paperback)
Having read P.F. Chisholm previous book "famine of Horses" I was keen to try this offering. I was not dissapointed. She captures the atmosphere of the borders in that period of time when the rule of law was made by whoever was strongest at the time. The idea of profiting from the sale of cheap substandard guns and pocketing the money is plausible. The emnity between the Maxwells & Johnstones was well described an emnity which still exists in some places today. There are some Johnstones, known to me, in New Zealand who will still have nothing to do with a Maxwell. If you are interested in the Anglo-Scots border in the time when blackmail was rife and if the larder was empty the wife would present a meat dish to her husband with a pair of spurs on it as a hint to get reiving, this a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rattling good adventure, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wish to complain. How am I supposed to do the housework when people write such rollicking good adventures? The hours went by and I just had to read a bit more. Supper was going to be a casserole, it ended up being beefburger and chips! A really good bit of escapism swashbuckling and such great characters. Must go now as I have got the next book downloaded and can't waste time talking to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another blast from the past., 12 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another rip-roaring tale of skulduggery in the North of England of 1592. The law enforcers are sometimes the law breakers and when it comes to loyalty blood is thicker than everything. Sir Robert Carey is still the odd man out due to his privileged background (even his horse is too posh) but with the help of his sister and his second-in-command he always tackles problems head on. Quite an accomplishment when his men are constantly short of equipment and wages seem more hope than certainty. In 'A Surfeit of Guns' the Carlisle armoury is raided and our hero sets off to Scotland to find out who has them and how he, and the ever reliable Sergeant Dodd, can get them back before news of their theft reaches the Queen. The court of King James is just as dangerous as the borders and Sir Robert finds himself in need of an unlikely rescuer in order to survive. Patricia Finney has produced another winner which I heartily recommend. Needless to say, I have already started reading the next book in this thoroughly entertaining series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Oct 2013
Exciting, good period detail and interesting plot. Like able characters. Part of a series and I intend to read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical fiction, 10 July 2012
By 
jan (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Surfeit of Guns (Paperback)
A Surfeit of Guns by P F Chisholm, aka Patrician Finney, is the third in her series about Robert Carey, deputy warden of the west march of northern England in 1592, and was at least up to the superb standard of the previous two. I would recommend this novel to anyone who likes history, Cumbria, a good mystery or interesting characters. Or anyone else at all for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
By 
S. Alderliesten (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfeit of Guns: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery (Paperback)
love it! quick service, good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Surfett of guns, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all of the Sir Robert Mystery books i have found to be very entertaining and after reading one can't wait to get started on the next, A Surfeit of Guns is no exception a very entertaining book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goodies and Baddies!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good period novel with a nice balance of goodies and baddies that gets you on side with the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wish the author would write more in this series, this particular novel is one of the best in the Carey series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the third book in this series and each one seems to get better than the last.
Good characters and an interesting time (and place) in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surfeit of Guns: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery
Surfeit of Guns: A Sir Robert Carey Mystery by P. F. Chisholm (Paperback - 5 Sep 2000)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews