Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2003
Set along the Scots/English border during the late sixteenth century, this story is loaded with action. Sir Robert Carey is a cousin of Queen Elizabeth and the new Deputy Warden of the West March, a very rough part of England where family feuds are important and Carey is an outsider with no land and few men to rally for support in battle. His one asset locally is his sister, Philadelphia, who is married to the influential Lord Scrope. Carey also gets much needed help from Sergeant Henry Dodd. The sergeant has a knack for showing up just in time. Together they make a formidable duo. Carey has birth, influence and the Queen's favor. Dodd has a good solid tower, land at lease and kin who will follow him.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2004
Set along the Scots/English border during the late sixteenth century, this story is loaded with action. Sir Robert Carey is a cousin of Queen Elizabeth and the new Deputy Warden of the West March, a very rough part of England where family feuds are important and Carey is an outsider with no land and few men to rally for support in a battle. His one asset locally is his sister, Philadelphia, who is married to the influential Lord Scrope.
Carey is making enemies rapidly, but trouble really starts when Jemmy Atkinson is found murdered in an alley and Carey's servant Barnabus, as a result, is thrown into the dungeon by Sir Richard Lowther who believes that Barnabus was told to commit the crime by Carey.When Carey returns from patrol he has to sort through numerous possibilities and a colorful cast of suspects to get at the truth.
Carey gets much needed help from Sergeant Henry Dodd. The sergeant has a knack for showing up just in time. Together they make a formidable duo. Carey has birth, influence and the Queen's favor. Dodd has a good solid tower, land at lease and kin who will follow him.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
The second in the series is more traditionally detective style and features some of the dilemmas of Elizabethan times if you were a woman - and also, if like Sir Robert Carey, you were in love with somebody else's wife. I wrote this under a pen-name and if I'm honest, this was a difficult one to write because plotting a proper detective story is jolly hard work!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
Set along the Scots/English border during the late sixteenth century, this story is loaded with action.Sir Robert Carey is a cousin of Queen Elizabeth and the new Deputy Warden of the West March, a very rough part of England where family feuds are important and Carey is an outsider with no land and few men to rally for support in battle. His one asset locally is his sister, Philadelphia, who is married to the influential Lord Scrope. Carey also gets much needed help from Sergeant Henry Dodd. The sergeant has a knack for showing up just in time. Together they make a formidable duo. Carey has birth, influence and the Queen's favor. Dodd has a solid tower, land at lease and kin who will follow him.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
Our roguish heroes are well out of their comfort zone still in London, and our respected author portrays Shakespeare and Marlowe in a very unexpected (unlikely) way. We meet Sir Robert's illustrious mother....well that explains his running away from home! Do I detect a touch of Blackadder here....remember Bob? Oh I enjoyed the madcap romp even if it was very far fetched. There were some more sensible moments when the conditions in London at the time were described, showing the product of real research.. I keep checking to see if the next instalment is out and I do hope they are safely back up in the Border country this time. If we are not careful the good old Dodd will get to like washing and wearing nice posh clothes. Heaven forbid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
I read and enjoyed A famine of horses but cannot get into A season of Knives maybe there is only so much one can do with a main character such as Sir Robert Carey, it is liken to reading the same book twice but with a slightly different band of villains. I also know the history of this famous man so maybe that does not help. I am nearly half way through but have given up, I shall of course try again probably next year when I have forgotten some of his first book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
This author transports you to Scotland far from the country you know today. It was dirty and scary, and you were really lucky to get a fair hearing if you were accused of any sort of crime because of the way justice was dispensed (ie if you paid up, you got away with it). This is only the second book I've read by this author, the other being A Famine of Horses, which I think I enjoyed more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Once again and enthralling mystery for Sir Robert to solve. Apart from the attractive Sir Robert himself I'm enjoying getting to know his sister Philadelphia, her dithery husband Lord Scrope, the dour Dodd and I'm willing Robert and Elizabeth to get together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
A truly excellent book. superbly written with a plot to keep you interested throughout. The second book is so much better because the characters are familiar and Chisholm develops them with clarity and interest. I can't wait to read the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
A very good series if you like historical novels. Based on a real person, gives a good flavour of Elizibethan England and written in an easy, often humorous manner. Easy to read and very enjoyable if you like this genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse