Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manual for beginners and informal bondage enthusiasts
If you're looking for a book of erotic photography, then this isn't for you. Midouri's book is a how-to guide to bondage, heavily tilted towards the Japanese style, but utilises techniques that are easy to build on.
The first 30 or so pages are given over to a little history, coupled with an insight in to what both doms and subs get out of the experience; and this...
Published on 2 April 2002 by Michelle Knight

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
This book isn't bad, but it doesn't live up to the reputation of its author, Midori. The instructions aren't always as clear as you'd like and the illustrations are drawn, rather than actual photographs, which might help some understand how each knot should be tied a little better, but, for me, makes it harder to tell if each knot is propperly tied, as the drawings are...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by Pedro Polónio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manual for beginners and informal bondage enthusiasts, 2 April 2002
By 
Michelle Knight (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
If you're looking for a book of erotic photography, then this isn't for you. Midouri's book is a how-to guide to bondage, heavily tilted towards the Japanese style, but utilises techniques that are easy to build on.
The first 30 or so pages are given over to a little history, coupled with an insight in to what both doms and subs get out of the experience; and this sets the scene for the rope instruction which follows.
This book is definately planted in the real world - the here and now - and it's squarely aimed at the beginners who want to learn, or the informal bondage enthusiasts who are looking to formalise their experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for beginners, 21 Nov 2006
By 
D. Peters (MYO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
What a great book. I've always been interested in, and enjoyed, restraint. I have been lucky enough to find a partner of a similar mind, who finds the more esoteric and philosophical ideas of rope bondage, over simple velcro ties, exciting and interesting.

I spent some time looking into which book may suit us best and plumped for this one. I made an inspired choice, if I do say so myself. If you are in the same position as us then I won't hesitate to recommend this book to you. I look forward to a sequel covering more advanced ties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Practical Guide to Japanese Bondage, 24 Jan 2004
By 
D. E. Harley "& B.J Harley" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
This isn't the best erotic picture book but I found the instructions for Japanese bondage well written and easy to follow with good line drawings showing 'how to'.
As some one in the trade much of it was a little too basic for me but for a beginner I often reccommend this book when selling my bondage rope.
Aychee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 21 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
As being fairly new to this, what a stunning book, some easy, most complicated, but superbly put together.
Wonderfull pictures & clear instructions, great for anyone wanting to spend time learning this wonderfull art form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., 5 Aug 2009
By 
Pedro Polónio (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
This book isn't bad, but it doesn't live up to the reputation of its author, Midori. The instructions aren't always as clear as you'd like and the illustrations are drawn, rather than actual photographs, which might help some understand how each knot should be tied a little better, but, for me, makes it harder to tell if each knot is propperly tied, as the drawings are more schematic than representative. Only one picture of each rig is provided, and I wouldn't call any of those great either. In its defence, the book does provide a lot of information on the background of Japanese Bondage and its historic relevance, if that's what you'd like, but, as a Bondage for sex book, it pales in comparison to its peers. I don't recommend this book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shibari bondage art., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
A good book on the subject .gives an insite into the artform.Well illustrated and written by someone who knows what they are writing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good instruction book, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Mrs. J. Proctor (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
A useful book with lots of illustrations and step by step instructions. It isn't perfect. Sometimes, you can't work out what knots are used from the drawings, but with patience you can usually get there.

There are probably around half a dozen page size colour photos in the book - this is not a book for people looking for bondage photos.

As I wasn't buying the book for the photos, I was perfectly happy with this, and enjoyed the photos particularly as they had an assortment of models of different builds, ages and genders. They feel like real people - and I prefer that. There's a couple of the photos that have a really lovely emotional feel to them.

I would have found the book easier to use if each tie had said clearly how much rope was needed. Some do, and some don't.

Overall, it's a good book that does a few ties in depth, rather than skimming over a large number briefly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the hand sketches are useful but it would have been far easier to understand ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
Basic, the hand sketches are useful but it would have been far easier to understand if there had been photos instead, rather than looking at basic sketches and general descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage (Paperback)
We love it since the first to the last page.
It contains very good and detailed pictures that inspire us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage
The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage by Midori (Paperback - 1 Nov 2001)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews