Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it was a chess piece, it would be a queen :)
IM J. Silman brings you a very nice book for beginners and intermediate players, written in clear and simple language. The diagrams in the book are good and clear, the typeface is easy to read and pleasant and the book's cover is very well designed. The contents of the book will not appeal to experienced players much, but you buy it to become a better player, so it's a...
Published on 12 Aug. 2001 by Luis Nuno Perdigao

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars entry level chess manual
I usually like Silman's books alot and on that basis I bought this book unseen. But I was disappointed: it's a book written for beginners and not for someone who has been playing for almost 40 years now (since 1972 of course). He's covering the whole pallet of the chessgame in 360 pages: 108 on the openings (woefully inadequate to get you started), 175 on the middlegame...
Published on 19 Mar. 2011 by Peter Wijnand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it was a chess piece, it would be a queen :), 12 Aug. 2001
By 
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
IM J. Silman brings you a very nice book for beginners and intermediate players, written in clear and simple language. The diagrams in the book are good and clear, the typeface is easy to read and pleasant and the book's cover is very well designed. The contents of the book will not appeal to experienced players much, but you buy it to become a better player, so it's a minor nag. :) The reading is very entertaining and the book covers all three parts of the game. The openings discusses the principles and ideas behind major opening themes, so it's not a reference. The middlegame teaches you strategy and valuable sacrifices to win. And the endgame section deals witn typical fights, such as rook vs. rook and pawn endgames. You'll also get tips regarding psychological aspects of the game and a nice index. Fun to read, very well designed, it will improve your play. I recommend it to younger players and intermediate players. Have fun at the board!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent chess writer, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
i came to chess late in life, and went from a 1200ELO to 2100+ in a few years. yes, i played a lot, but i give a lot of the credit to Jeremy Silman's books for getting quickly and easily to the heart of the things every player needs to know. it's just a pity that the boards reproduce too small to be readable in the Kindle version...i guess if you have the Kindle Fire, it may be okay. but i'd try a sample of any electronic version first.

this book is particularly good for giving a rough knowledge, summary and ideas behind the major openings, which avoids so many tournament blunders and lost time. this is my third copy (first one - given away in Cuba, second one in my London flat, third one with me), it's that invaluable. lower-rated players may will also find the rest of the book very helpful.

this, Nimzowich's 'My System' and GM Chris Ward's 'Simple Chess' were the three books which most helped me improve quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chess, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
G. Kumar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
bought it as a starter for my kids to get interested in chess.
They have learnt the basics and are using the book for further improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
Have returned to chess in later years and loving it. It's a bit like riding a bike for the basics although like the rest of life we need to keep developing and polishing. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the very best chess reference books for the club player. Essential for me and great to have it, now, on my Nexus 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars entry level chess manual, 19 Mar. 2011
By 
Peter Wijnand (Weesp, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
I usually like Silman's books alot and on that basis I bought this book unseen. But I was disappointed: it's a book written for beginners and not for someone who has been playing for almost 40 years now (since 1972 of course). He's covering the whole pallet of the chessgame in 360 pages: 108 on the openings (woefully inadequate to get you started), 175 on the middlegame and 50 on the endgame. Perhaps newbies will get something out of this; the desire to buy a more in-depth book on any of these subjects maybe. And if that is the case then this book might have been worth the money. May I recommend on the openings: FCO Fundamental Chess Openings by Paul van der Sterren. Leave the serious endgame tomes aside for the time being and get yourself the fun Endgame Tactics by Van Perlo. To get acquainted with middlegame positions buy books with more explanations then variations and replay the games of attacking players of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. S. Lombardo (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
Brilliant book and it came very quick right price also brilliant thank you ******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book in good condition for second hand, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
Interesting chess compilation. Book in good condition for second hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z (Paperback)
excelklent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z
COMPLETE BOOK OF CHESS: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z by Jeremy Silman (Paperback - 1 Oct. 1998)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews