Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A parallel purpose
I first heard of this book from an audio cd. Seminar leader David DeAngelo, demonstrated how to use Mind Lines to shatter limiting beliefs, and strengthen inner game, and how it worked for him.

Later an nlp student asked me to install the idea from this book, EXTERNAL BEHAVIOR = INTERNAL STATE. He waxed so lyrically about Michael Hall and Mindlines, I...
Published on 8 Aug 2009 by L. Power

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly there
Doesn't really pin down the subject.
Lots of NLP-like talk but not much essence.
I was left with the impression that the two authors don't fully master the domain.

Best is to get a 'slight-of-mouth' book from the source
Published on 17 July 2009 by J. Alan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A parallel purpose, 8 Aug 2009
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds (Paperback)
I first heard of this book from an audio cd. Seminar leader David DeAngelo, demonstrated how to use Mind Lines to shatter limiting beliefs, and strengthen inner game, and how it worked for him.

Later an nlp student asked me to install the idea from this book, EXTERNAL BEHAVIOR = INTERNAL STATE. He waxed so lyrically about Michael Hall and Mindlines, I determined to read it.

Ostensibly it's about the art of reframing conversations using the 26 techniques in this book.

What happens though, as you read, and apply the Mind-lines to yourself, you come up with new ones and you may notice your own mind starts to open up, you look at things in new ways, and you can find inspiring answers, and shifts in perception.

Here is an example with reframes:

"Your being late means you don't care." External behavior (lateness)= Internal State (don't care).

Reflect back: Have you ever been late for something, and did it mean you didn't care?

Counter example: If I was on time would that prove that I did care?

Contrast: Just because someone is on time doesn't mean they care. Just because somenone's late doesn't mean they don't care.

Meta Model, Chunking down: How specifically, does my being late mean I don't care?

Mind Reading: How do you know I don't care? Are you able to read my mind?

Authority frame: According to who? Where is it written that lateness means not caring?

Value: What's more important, my being here, or my being late?

Allness: What would it be like if everyone was always late? Would it mean that no one cares, ever?

You do need to have good rapport with some reframes. And there are 18 more than this. The patterns I have used most to change my own thoughts have been negation, future pacing and metaphor patterns. More recently, I am using chunking up questions.

If you're like me, you'll discover yourself coming up with your own reframes for common situations, whether it be in career, personal relationships, dealing with children, or dealing with difficult or uncooperative people, and as you do you will realise the rewards of reexamining these situations. The more you open up to the opportunities these reframes present, the more opportunities open up.

I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really takes sleight of mouth to another level, 24 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds (Paperback)
An excellent companion to the work of Roberts Dilts and Sleight of Mouth. It takes it on by looking at external actions and the internal states that it creates. Takes a bit of time to read and is more of a manual of reframing however some excellent gems in here. Magic if you are prepared to put in the time. I loved the frame they put around things that are "complex". Its true that your mind opens when the frame changes. Wish we could make this easy to learn for everyone and the world and your world would change, wouldn't it? That has to be is the bigger ambition for NLP. Mind lines is a skill to master over time and worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read this sooner, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds (Paperback)
Terrific, thought provoking in the extreme, a useful, practical guide to getting the best out of change work - if you're NLP trained and haven't read it - read it now. Dive deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference work, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Stuart Hamilton "Stufactor" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds (Paperback)
This book is 5 stars as a reference work. However you would be better off starting off with something easier to get you up and running. I would recommend Doug O'briens audio (sleight of mouth Its called), you can find it via google

The book itself can feel like hard work as its very dense. But it is very comprehensive and makes for a good reference book once you have a basic understanding of the patterns. Also I would recommend Dilts Sleight of Mouth book.

One of the best things about the book is it teaches you the importance of deframing the belief first, that makes reframing much easier, as the logical flaws become more obvious.

I recommend that you start by writing down your own limiting beliefs in a word document. Create a template with all the patterns listed and a space to write out the reframe. After you have done several you will start to become skilled with the patterns and over time you can go back and edit the document as you become better. You will start to notice results both in terms of improvement in your own thinking patterns and your reframing skills. Its a really wonderful experience when you feel a paradigm shift on a negative thinking pattern that has troubled you for years.

This stuff really brings NLP to life and makes it practical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly there, 17 July 2009
By 
J. Alan "JohnA" (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds (Paperback)
Doesn't really pin down the subject.
Lots of NLP-like talk but not much essence.
I was left with the impression that the two authors don't fully master the domain.

Best is to get a 'slight-of-mouth' book from the source
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds
Mind-Lines: Lines for Changing Minds by Bob G. Bodenhomer (Paperback - July 2002)
20.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews