Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant manual on pressure point control fighting
this is a book for people interested in humane fighting. I'm interested in all types of martial arts, humane or otherwise, so this was a necessary addition to my collection. It really is a quality work, and is skillfully written, presented and contains a huge wealth of information on self defense from a wide cross section of self defense situations. Obviously at it's...
Published on 26 Sep 2005 by Mr. S. A. Stewart

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sceptic!
This a book I'm uncertain about.
I have read it cover to cover - but unlike most other martial arts books - it leaves me rather uncertain wether I have been fed a load of BS - or if this really works.

The tesis is that you can win over an attacker by hitting, pressing or rubbing(!) specific pressure points on the attackers body.
As accupunture and...
Published on 13 April 2010 by J. Jürs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant manual on pressure point control fighting, 26 Sep 2005
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
this is a book for people interested in humane fighting. I'm interested in all types of martial arts, humane or otherwise, so this was a necessary addition to my collection. It really is a quality work, and is skillfully written, presented and contains a huge wealth of information on self defense from a wide cross section of self defense situations. Obviously at it's heart is a knowledge of pressure points that can be utilised in order to prevail against a violent situation. What amazed me is that a lot of techniques are designed to be used in combinations of pressure points, which when attacked in sequence add up for even greater suffering for the opponent. There are even pressure points to atack specifically for people under the influence of alcohol etc... It really is a quality work and I highly reccomend it to anyone with an interest in prevailing in self defense, but without the obligatory broken and crumpled body at your feet. They'll defintely feel the pain, but will least live to regret their mistake. A lot of very interesting concepts are included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sceptic!, 13 April 2010
By 
J. Jürs "Henrik Jürs" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
This a book I'm uncertain about.
I have read it cover to cover - but unlike most other martial arts books - it leaves me rather uncertain wether I have been fed a load of BS - or if this really works.

The tesis is that you can win over an attacker by hitting, pressing or rubbing(!) specific pressure points on the attackers body.
As accupunture and shiatsu is allready know and accepted sciences - there is no doubt in my mind that certain pressure points can either cause immense pain or even knock you unconsious.

My scepsis comes from wether you can actually use it in combat - the pressure points are pretty small and you have to be very accurate to find them. Can this be done while under the pressure of fighting??

The books hold a fine selections of techniques and applications and the keyword is "humane" - the book is written for police officers, nurses, social workers and other who can expect treads - but dont want to harm the attacker unnessecary.
In theis context some of the techniques will surely work fine - BUT - the most reliable techniques seams to be the ones where you attack the joints of the attackers fingers, wrist and elbows - not the ones where you use pressure points.

As I meet my amount of annoying and treadening people in my line of work - I'll try to train some of the techniques - but mostly the joint manipulating ones.

Pros:
- good layout
- fine selction of different techniques
- easy to read text

Cons:
- does this work - I'll not bet my life on it
- a lot of filler stuff like meet and greet pix with all kinds of MA people
- the book is missing a complete chart over all the pressure points - making it hard to find the pressure points in a wider context
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This guy is a joke. Beware of this book!!!, 23 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
Keep your money in your pockets and avoid this sham of a book. It is dismal and one step short of suicide. I have trained in martial arts for over twenty years and never in all those years have I come across such rubbish as this. George Dillman has been labeled a con artist by many and rightly so (He is also the guy responsible for the newest load of B.S. How to knock a man out without touching him using the power of chi) this says it all for me. He does not care about the martial arts or the students he teaches this rubbish to, he only cares about one thing and that is money. Avoid this book as you are only helping to line this con man's pockets. Self defense is fast, furious, and sometimes unexpected and knowing how to fight can mean the difference between life and death in a real street fight. There are plenty more well written well presented books out there that are useful if you want to add few new techniques to your arsenal but the only thing this book will do is get you killed. Do you honestly think this pressure point stuff is going to save your life when you are being threatened by a knife weilding assailant? I don't think so. Self defense is violent, bloody and an attack can happen in the blink of an eye and knowing how to fight can mean the difference between living and dying on the streets. Leave the hocus pocus to Harry Potter.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typical Over the Top Yank Rubbish, 24 May 2010
By 
Rhino (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
After reading several positive reviews regarding this book I awaited its arrival with baited breath. However, saying, 'What a let down' would be an understatement. Avoid this book like the plague, unless you wish to do a long stretch of Bird at a prison near you. How do you justify thrusting your fingers deep into someones eyes for gripping your wrist. The American author has not written this book for the British market or took into account the UK Law regarding Reasonable Force. Blinding someone is not reasonable in these circumstances and you will go down for a very long time if you do it. He does not realise or care that in the UK what you do to defend yourself or another must be Reasonable, Necessary and proportionate in the circumstances. I am a self defence trainer with years of experience delivering Use of Force training to police and military alike and I was totally shocked by this rubbish. It's not just rubbish, it's dangerous rubbish that will put you in the dock. Avoid this book like the plague, I've slung my copy in the bin. Total rubbish!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for a pressure-point novice, 26 May 2008
By 
T. Prizeman "Tim P" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
Being new to pressure points (but not martial arts) this is the first book I have bought on the subject. It is clear, plenty of photos and clear explanation.

There's probably stuff in it for the expert too - but I'm not in a position to judge. Certainly well worth buying if you aren't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars humane pressure self defence, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Graham Dyball (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book ,Geoage Dillman really knows his art and the human body inside out for annybody out wanting to get a book on self defence which is easy to follow and understand then this is it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
Best buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How can people believe this nonsense?, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Brian Sheeran "Brian S" (Warrington, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
I find it depressing that people can believe this nonsense. Fighting is ugly, hard and nasty. Magic touches along the lines of the Vulcan Death Grip only work on those who want them to work. And someone wanting to play football with your head outside the local chip shop on a saturday night is not going to be one of those.... Please don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Application of pressure points for self-defence, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
About thirty seven years ago when I was a young boy learning judo I saved up my pocket money after reading an ad in the back of a karate magazine and sent a postal order payment to the USA. My order was for a chart of the human body illustrating pressure points. I have maintained an interest in pressure points over the years. So I was interested to learn what Dillman had to say when I came across this book. I don't have the experience to comment on the effectiveness of some of Dillman's kyusho-jitsu techniques. The book does however, illustrate where several of the pressure points are on the human body and also some useful restraining holds. This does not mean that they are easy to apply. Also keep in mind Dillman's advice on mindset in Chapter One: "If you hold back for fear of injuring your attacker, you will be the one injured. If you are afraid that your technique won't work, then it won't. But if you are willing to start gouging eyes and biting off noses to defend yourself if necessary, then you can use humane tactics successfully." The book is co-written by pastor Chris Thomas. Read the book for interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the business, 26 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Humane Pressure Point Self-Defense: Dillman Pressure Point Method for Law Enforcement, Medical Personnel, Business Professionals, Men and Women (Paperback)
The book in well Written and the dialogue is well set out it goes hand in hand with anyone interested in martial arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews