Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read,
This book only works if you read from the beginning to the end. Jumping around is like going from step 1 to 21 of a very complex maths equation without looking at the steps in between. It wouldn't make any sense, especially given that Fr Rose's conclusions, especially about the Pentecostal movement, are not likely to be well received by non-Orthodox (I'm not Orthodox...
Published on 1 Jun 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected.
This text will be interesting to practising orthodox Christians as it attempts to validate and reinforce the orthodox Christian point of view. Less interesting for the more casual enquirer about orthodoxy.
Published 15 months ago by Avontoun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read,, 1 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future (Paperback)
This book only works if you read from the beginning to the end. Jumping around is like going from step 1 to 21 of a very complex maths equation without looking at the steps in between. It wouldn't make any sense, especially given that Fr Rose's conclusions, especially about the Pentecostal movement, are not likely to be well received by non-Orthodox (I'm not Orthodox myself at the moment, but I'm very likely to convert given what I've read here and in Kallistos Ware's works).
The logic can't really be faulted. Not by me, anyway. But unless you've already got a working knowledge of Orthodoxy and its history, it's likely to seem silly, pedantic, and possibly slightly hysterical to you. If you know the history and dogmas of Orthodoxy, however, it'll make a lot more sense, I think.
Either way, fascinating book. Buy it, enjoy it, pass the Word.
God bless,
Mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sober read, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future (Paperback)
Seraphim rose was an Orthodox monk living in California. He translated many Russian classics of spirituality and was a profoundly wise and respected man. He did sometimes overstep the mark theologicvally such as in his writings about the tol houses, however, this book is excellent.
In The Religion of The Fututre he made a number of observations about how pluralism is merging various spiritual traditions together under the guise of respect/love/ecumenism and modernity. He rightly warns of the dangers of this kind of thinking and gives some fascinating examples and stories to back up his arguments. I have read this book half a dozen times over the years and bought copies for many friends. If you haven't yet read it I strongly recommend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable polemic against the tools of the antichrist, 13 Nov 2007
By 
C. Baylis "The Master of Reality" (The Ionosphere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future (Paperback)
There are two people who will transform your understanding of the world today: Yuri Bezmenov and Seraphim Rose. The first, Yuri Bezmenov, was a KGB defector who specialised in ideological subversion and was so disgusted with the Soviet system and ideology that he escaped to the west and began campaigning against Communism.

The second person is Friar Seraphim Rose. In this book, 'Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future', Rose analyses the seemingly disparate movements such as Hare Krishna, Pentecostalism, Wicca, Zen Buddhism, UFO's and the school of "transcendental meditation" promoted by an Indian called Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, a man who was also investigated by the aforementioned Yuri Bezmenov as part of the KGBs brainwashing and subversion program. All these movements in common denigrate the word of Christ, promote mediumism, spiritism, "channelling" and pagan idolatry. Seraphim Rose identifies these movements as satanically inspired and growing in their influence owing to their promotion as "healthy" secular lifestyle accessories. All these movements are part of a wider spiritual phenomenon to create a one world religion in preparation for the coming of the antichrist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future (Paperback)
This is a great book, and as a young convert to Orthodoxy it was important for me to understand as much as I could about other "denominations" and beliefs that are held.

This is the kind of book you read many times over because its contents is very relevant.

Yours In Christ,
Tamara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future (Paperback)
This text will be interesting to practising orthodox Christians as it attempts to validate and reinforce the orthodox Christian point of view. Less interesting for the more casual enquirer about orthodoxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for any Christian who wants to strengthen their believes, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Vincent Ng - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future (Paperback)
I was recommended to this book, by a so called "orthodox christain", after having an intensive debate on youtube. I've asked him a series of question which he says, "your answer can be found in this book."

I certainly could not find the answers to those questions I've asked him. What I've found instead is how a priest assult on other religons based on his very limited knowledge (or from his prejudice view) in attempt to construct valid arguements.

For example: on Page 38 - 43 the priest were trying to metaphor Yoga and Zen meditation with taking drugs... he might be right... but failed to understand drugs can harm people but can also be used to save people. So while he's saying Yoga and Zen meditation tries to dis-rationalise people. He also makes an attempt to dis-rationalise people.

To my limited knowledge, I see Zen meditation as a training to increase people's concentration. It is done by calming your mind like in saying "take it easy"

Well, there's no absoulte answer when it comes to religions. Like I said in the title, if you were a Christian, I'm sure you will buy the points in this book rather then criticize them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future
Orthodoxy and the Religion of the Future by Seraphim Rose (Paperback - 1 Jan 1996)
£6.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews