Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating pre-New Testament writings...
This has been gathering dust on my shelf for a few years now, and I've only just got round to reading it. The five books of 1st Enoch range from the utterly fascinating to sure-fire cures for insomnia.

Written between the old and new testaments, it gives a fascinating insight into what some Jewish groups believed at that time (for example, several editions of...
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by J. Scott

versus
78 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History of the angels
A good formerly heretical work, that details the SECOND FALL of the angels, and early human pre-history from a biblical perspective. the work at points includes parralels where differences have arrisen between two available translations.
The book has the journey of enoch through the heavens a truely epic view of heaven not often found in scripture, and also details...
Published on 14 Jun 2003 by melioth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating pre-New Testament writings..., 25 Oct 2007
By 
J. Scott "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has been gathering dust on my shelf for a few years now, and I've only just got round to reading it. The five books of 1st Enoch range from the utterly fascinating to sure-fire cures for insomnia.

Written between the old and new testaments, it gives a fascinating insight into what some Jewish groups believed at that time (for example, several editions of Enoch were found among the Dead Sea Scrolls.)

Anyone with an interest in the New Testament could learn a lot by reading Enoch. Attitudes of people in the gospels have clearly been coloured by the content and even vocabulary of Enoch. And, of course, it's even quoted in Jude and 2 Peter. Parts of it are so startlingly similar to the book of Revelation that it must surely have provided a visual vocabulary for the writer of that book.

For the background and relevance of Enoch, I *highly* recommend "Exploring Jewish Literature of the Second Temple Period" by Larry R Helyer. It provides a great survey of a wide range of this and other books, from the 'Testament of Moses' to Josephus, and from the Dead Sea scrolls to Philo - and much more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for those who look for actual truth in the scriptures., 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Book of Enoch does supply a little more light to the scriptures; and especially in the very ancient period, concerning the fallen Angels (the Sons of God) and the Nephilim, but it is far from complete or perfect...but then what is? Recommended.for all that are looking for actual truth, rather than just for the security and comfort, that a hand me down religion can give to them that need it, The Book of Enoch fills a gap and could be very useful to the truth seeker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for All Bible Students, 29 May 2010
By 
Dave Kinsella "Jesus First" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just got this book yesterday, but I can't put it down. This book is full of Messianic prophecy that predates Christ by thousands of years. Jude in his inspired epistle says that the book was written by Enoch himself. If you are a believer of the inspired Word, then this should cause you to sit up and think. It also explains the origin of the demons, and it's not what you've always been taught. The early church all accepted this view of the origin of the demons. I won't spoil it for you. You'll have to buy the book. Here's a hint: We Bible believing Christians accept the worldwide flood of Noah as literal, we then see many flood legends around the world in the collective memories of many people groups. We also see many legends around the world in the collective memories of many people groups in regards to Nephilim. In various mythological tales from Rome and Greece, we read of the god's coming down and having relations with women and bearing demi-gods. The early Christians were aware of these stories and of their true origins. They also knew what demons really were, and what Peter meant in his second epistle when he said that the angels that had sinned were sent to Tartarus (hell in the KJV). All this and more is made clearer by reading the book of Enoch. This book has many verses that are almost the same as those found in Scripture. I have been writing them down in the book as I come across them. Many are from the book of Revelations. Some are from the Gospels and some are from the Epistles. This gives me the distinct impression that the writers of the NT were aware of and in agreement with the Book of Enoch. Here are a few examples: 1 Enoch 50:2 On the day of affliction on which evil shall have been treasured up against the sinners. Romans 2:5 But after thy hardness and impenitent heart treasurest up unto thyself wrath against the day of wrath and revelation of the righteous judgment of God. 1 Enoch 51:1b ...Sheol shall give back that which it has received, and hell shall give back that which it owes. Rev 20:13 And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them 1 Enoch 63:6 (speaking of the unrepentant rulers of the earth) And light has vanished from before us, and darkness is our dwelling place for ever and ever. Jude 13 (speaking of false prophets) ...to whom is reserved the blackness of darkness for ever. Jude also speaks in this verse of the "wandering stars". 1 Enoch speaks of the stars also. I could go on and on with the Biblical references and perhaps I will add to this review over time. It just seems to obvious to me that the Biblical writers were reading and using this book. The only downside is that parts of the book may be lost, and other parts added to it over the millenia. It seems that although this book was inspired it was not God's good pleasure to keep it wholly intact. I feel that this book should be regarded as very important, and I personally regard it as at least a deuterocanonical book. That is, at least of secondary importance after the 66-73 books of the universally accepted books. In saying that though, this book is accepted as canonical by the Ethiopic church, which has at its foundation one the Apostles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills in some of the missing links :0), 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is referred to in the book of Jude (in the bible) and I thought it was worth a look, it certainly is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much neglected key to a better understanding., 12 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Book of Enoch (Paperback)
This impressive translation is a true masterpieceand worthy of the uttermost attention. Any book that had the Church "Fathers" as spooked as this one did demands to be read. Unlike the mostly ridiculous Gnosic gospels also excluded from the Bible, this ancient Jewish text carries a divine authority that demands it be taken seriously. The very fact that the prophecies of Enoch were fulfilled to the letter in the timeframes suggested, should be reason enough for Christans to want to study it. The prophecy concerning the judgement of a wicked generation, seventy generations from Enoch (Christ's contemporary generation according to the gospel of Luke) found a devastating fulfillment in the fiery destruction of Jerusalem in AD 70, exactly as Christ predicted would befall his own generation!The majority of Christians may not accept Enoch as scripture but clearly Christ and his disciples did and I'm sure that Christ would agree that the majority are rarely, if ever right. Why not read these texts for yourself and make up your own mind what you believe? Maybe, as more and more Christians explore the Jewish roots of their faith, true Christianity will be restored and the foundations of "Churchianity" will be trampled into the dust where they belong! A truly compelling read and I very much urge you to try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History of the angels, 14 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Book of Enoch (Paperback)
A good formerly heretical work, that details the SECOND FALL of the angels, and early human pre-history from a biblical perspective. the work at points includes parralels where differences have arrisen between two available translations.
The book has the journey of enoch through the heavens a truely epic view of heaven not often found in scripture, and also details the workings of cosmology to primitive humans. The main attraction for me was the details of the angelic nature and society something only breifly delt with at best if at all. The only other strong direct references would be in Ezekiel, Daniel and Isaiah. Good for an theologian or personw ishing to expand there spiritual understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less confusing than I thought!, 7 Jan 2014
By 
M. GILL "Mind Crash" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Enoch (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure why, but I need to check my sources as I was led to believe this book (Enoch) had been "lost". I'm researching both The Bible and a bit of Enochian Magick, so I was pleasantly suprised to find this available on the Kindle for less than 1pound sterling! I was even more suprised to find myself unable to put it down. The introduction is fascinating and incredibly detailed. Some of the content is a little dull and repetitive, though to be fair this is made clear from the outset. If you are going down these particular paths of research, then I would recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was always intrigued by "The Book of Enoch" having seen it briefly quoted and mentioned in enigmatically in some Bible footnotes. I decided I would see for myself what it contained. The main "plot" of the book may already be known, the focus is on the supposed times of the pre-flood patriarch Enoch, who, according to Genesis, did not die a natural death but was "taken" by God. A brief verse in Genesis 6:1-2 is expanded to explain how fallen angels left the heavenly abode and mated with human women, thus be-getting "Nephilim"- who would lead humanity to the corruption that moved God to flood the world. Much detail is given about the names of the various angels and the forbidden knowledge which they taught, curiously enough, The Satan isn't mentioned, but a group called "the satans" are, also the serpent which tempted Eve is named as the fallen angel Gadreel. This demonstrates that the dualism present in later Judaism has not yet fully developed.The later Jewish apocalyptic writer (or group of writers and later editors) perhaps wrote this in response to curiosity about the enigmatic character of Enoch - although I tend to want to believe it was based on genuine mystical revelation. It was common in Old Testament and New Testament times for authors to go under the pseudonym of a great and revered figure- this wasn't always seen as deceptive and the writers would do it with good intentions.
It has to be said that the book was never considered part of the Jewish canon, some prominent later Jewish rabbis were appalled at the notion of angels mating with women, so the idea has to be seen as an interpretation by perhaps a minority group rather than being an accepted general Jewish belief.
However, the early Christians were a different matter. The book was highly regarded for its messianic prophecies and the frequent use of the term "Son of Man". I found these chapters very fascinating and can see why the early Christians saw their Christ in the portraits of the "Righteous One". Indeed, the New Testament Epistle of Jude quotes from Enoch, leading some Christians to call for it to be re-evaluated in modern times, although there are arguments for and against its inclusion in the Christian canon.
I would say that the least engaging chapter for me, was the astronomical one, only because it seems very obscure, but it is quite short. The text is in the style of the "Authorised Version" of the Bible, being originally translated in 1893, but it is a regarded translation nonetheless. Also there is an absence of an index or table of contents, which would have been better if included, but the text is divided into sub-headings.
Overall, a fascinating read for those interested in extra-Biblical books, the influences which shaped early Christianity and those who are interested in mystical texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone who reads the New Testament, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book of Enoch (Paperback)
"My son," said Ramandu to Caspian in <i>The Voyage of the Dawn Treader</i>, "it is not for you, a son of Adam, to know what faults a star can commit." Perhaps Caspian could not know, but you will, if you read this book: the criminal star must have risen at the wrong time (p. 45). <i>The Book of Enoch</i> is full of criminal stars, lusty angels and wonderful astronomy. It was written before the birth of Christ, by a devout Jew who was determined to demonstrate the superiority of Judaism over all the pagan religions which then dominated his world. The result is an extraordinary mixture of visions, dogmatic assertion and glorious mythology. Here we are informed that the year is 364 days long (p. 98); clearly it can't be 365.25 days long as the pagans say, because that's a pagan belief. The writer is emphatic that only Jews can be saved; everyone else is damned for eternity. More optimistically, it is here that we find the first use of the title 'the Son of Man' to refer to the coming Messiah, and it is clear that it refers to one who is a child of humanity, not a divine being as the pagans might claim. <i>The Book of Enoch</i>. was a well-known religious text among Jews in the first century AD, and there are many references to it in the writings of first-century Christian Jews in the New Testament. Apart from the use of the term 'Son of Man', we find reference in 2 Peter 2 v. 4 to the 'angels who sinned' who are confined to the dark pits of hell - these are the villains of <i>Enoch</i>, the Watchers who were set to watch over the people of Earth but watched the women far too closely and ended up leading themselves and all humanity astray. And when Paul says in 1 Corinthians 11 v. 10 that a woman must cover her head out of fear of the angels, he doesn't mean Gabriel and co.: no, he means the evil, lustful Watchers who will carry her off if she doesn't keep her hair covered. Hey! I'll get rid of that hat. But as the Christian Church developed, it occurred to the Church Fathers that they could hardly go on recommending a text which declared that all non-Jews are damned - as that would mean that most Christians are damned too. Whoops! So <i>Enoch</i> was quietly set aside, and now hardly any Christians have heard of it - or if they have, they assume that it's Out Of Bounds to good Christians. No! All Christians should read this book. All students of the New Testament should read it. Every woman who has been lectured at in church and told she must cover her head 'from fear of the angels' should read it. Any woman who's been gravely informed that Jesus is 'Son of Man' because women don't exist in the eyes of God should read it. It's a gloriously liberating book. It's wild, it's weird, it's wonderful - but don't take it all as gospel truth, will you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And fascinating reading for anyone else..., 11 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book of Enoch (Paperback)
I would simply like to endorse everything written by the previous reviewer. I came across this text by accident while gathering research for a project which at first bore very little connection with its themes. It took hold of my imagination, and soon became pivotal. And there it sits, quietly overlooked, burning ferociously. A dramatic eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Enoch
The Book of Enoch by R.H. Charles (Unknown Binding - Nov 1998)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews