Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'advanced' skills boxing book
This is a very good book that teaches you things you should be doing in the gym but probably aren't. When was the last time you worked on cadence or rhythm/ broken rhythm drills?

Touch or skill driven sparring over two guys trying to knock each others heads off? There are chapters on feinting,drawing,pivoting, drills for clinch work.

I've used this...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Eve

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No quality
I wish I hadn't bought this book to be honest. If you interested in photo art buy it then but if u concern about your boxing skills... it has nothing to do with it. No clear explanations no strategies only photos photos photos... and... it all for southpaws :) Absolute crap. Even photos very hard to understand because all motions caught in the middle of action no clear...
Published on 17 May 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'advanced' skills boxing book, 1 April 2009
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
This is a very good book that teaches you things you should be doing in the gym but probably aren't. When was the last time you worked on cadence or rhythm/ broken rhythm drills?

Touch or skill driven sparring over two guys trying to knock each others heads off? There are chapters on feinting,drawing,pivoting, drills for clinch work.

I've used this book many times to supplement my training and have noticed the benefits from it. I wish more gyms used these techniques and the standards of boxing in the UK would improve.

The photos are clear, you may struggle if you are hard of understanding...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of work, 1 Oct. 2008
By 
S. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
This is a superb book. As long as you have a modicum intelligence you will find this book very useful. You need to go through every step with a partner and everything works (don't be an armchair athlete!). Put some boxing gloves on and practice what it tells you to do!. I can not praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boxing mastery, 19 July 2009
By 
Gary Paterson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
An amazing no nonsence approach to learning skills, i love mark hatmakers approach to writing books where it is more instructional photos and from different angles too, which gives you a better understanding of the drills being performed.

because of his style i went on to buy at least another 5 of his books and never dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book but could be better!, 28 April 2009
By 
buddhi (london, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
I am an amateur boxer and I bought this book a few weeks ago to improve my knowledge of the sweet science. The authors are very knowledgeable and this book is full of interesting facts and tips about techniques and stategy. Everything is clearly explained, with well-defined topics for each chapter.
However, conditioning is not covered in this book. There is no examples of possible workouts or anything like that. Also, the pictures are of a poor quality and the boxers illustrate the techniques southpaw, which is not very useful for the majority of the boxers (eg orthodox guard).
Overall, it is a good book, aimed at experienced boxers or coaches, but it could be better done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cracking little book- essential for any serious fighter, 26 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
Think this is a great book, ok pictures are of southpaws, but to me that's no problem. We should all practise switch hitting anyway and also learn things from a southpaw's perspective. Hands are labelled "lead" and "rear", anyway, so not much confusion there. Packed full of handy information- not only tells you how to do it, but also why you should do it and what might happen if you don't, which is just as important. For such a small book, it's crammed full of useful tips and technical info. going into footwork, stances, guards, drills, combinations, defence tactics and much, much more, as well as different fighting styles. This book is a little goldmine of information and no serious fighter should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out, sound information, 12 Dec. 2005
By 
Greg Banner (Jersey , United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
The book is very well laid out, easy to understand and to anyone who has boxed even a little before, it can be a great help. The book involves techniques which every fighter should know but maybe only knows a little of, or just needs to refresh his/er memory and practice a little. Overall a good book, worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of if not the best book on boxing on the market, 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
This is an excellant and very complete book on boxing. It's nice to see combinations that consist of more than just the standard jab,cross and hook routines that you find in countless other titles on the market. I've been boxing for many years and i was still able to take alot away from this book. Plus it's easy to understand format and explanation has helped me in teaching the craft to others in a clear concise way. Definitely one for the martial arts library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
Hatmaker has made a great book of boxing with good photos. I am just a fitness boxer practicing once a week with a good instructor, but this book helped to make my techniques better. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
Excellent book. It is well structured and well written. It contains good and specific photos. Highly recomended also for the begginers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No quality, 17 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science (Paperback)
I wish I hadn't bought this book to be honest. If you interested in photo art buy it then but if u concern about your boxing skills... it has nothing to do with it. No clear explanations no strategies only photos photos photos... and... it all for southpaws :) Absolute crap. Even photos very hard to understand because all motions caught in the middle of action no clear start point no clear ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boxing Mastery: Advanced Technique, Tactics, and Strategies from the Sweet Science
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews